We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem”
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #21 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Gem”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

Beautiful updated hotel within 15 minutes of sights. The rooms were wonderful, comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast was outstanding with a wide variety of food choices.....even with champagne (a nice touch). The U bahn is close by too. I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel. Free wireless in the rooms and a computer in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kta99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear kta99!

Thank you for your positive posting.

We are happy to read that you very much enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your nice compliments for the hotel itself, the rooms and the breakfast offer.

Vienna is worth a visit at each time of the year, so we hope to welcome you back soon.

In the meanwhile, we remain,

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    755
    366
    72
    17
    7
See reviews for
179
522
126
179
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ashkelon, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We had great time spending a weekend at Hotel Stefanie. The staff were very nice, polite and very helpful . Since we were observant jews, they offered us kosher breakfast each day delivered to our room with no nextra fee. The room was relatively small and no great view through the window,but it was comfortable and clean . Location is very good : close to the train and old city . We recommed this hotel very much . We will return to this hotel next time in Vienna. The only problem is high fee for parking 20 Euro a day!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eli1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 19 July 2011
Dear eli1949!

Thank you for your review.

We are delighted to learn about your experience at our Hotel Stefanie and thank you for your compliments and recommendation.

Your critic regarding the garage price has been noticed. Please note, that our car park is under video surveillance and in close proximity to the center of town.

We hope you will soon be visiting us again and look forward to your next booking.

With kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Our travel agent (World Travel - don't ever use them for vacation travel) booked us in the wrong Hotel Stephanie, our booking being in Bad Voeslau rather than Vienna. We were on an extended trip starting in Prague going to Vienna, Salzburg and Berlin so all trains and hotels were booked in advance. When we got to the Vienna Stephanie we had no reservations and a large covention had taken virtually all the rooms in Vienna. The Conciegre Andreas Spadt found us a single room for the night (roll out bed but it had a roof) and then then next day got us into a "proper" room for our stay. He was most gracious, professional and accomodating including sending a bottle of bubbly to us to calm our frayed nerves over the situation. The hotel itself is in a good location for the old town, is recently refurnished and has very nice decor. Service was impecable and the meals we had there were very good. Highly recommend the hotel and Andreas. Ed & Paula Andrews from West Chester, PA

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afacinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 June 2011
Dear afacinc!

Thank you very much for posting your adventure on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that despite to the mistake made by your travel agent, you were able to enjoy your Vienna holidays and thanks to Mr. Andreas Spadt, you finally became the possibility to stay in our Hotel Stefanie.

Your compliments are much appreciated and your lines have already been passed to the direction and to Mr. Spadt personally.

We hope, that you will come back to Vienna soon; it would be a great pleasure to have you staying with us again.

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dietikon, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2011

We found this hotel in our cycling trip to Vienna. It is centrally located, very easy to reach by bicycle from the Donnaukanal. Walking distance from the main touristic attractions.
The hotel is nicely decorated with beautiful classic furniture: not fancy, but classic- such that one feels comfortable. The rooms are spacious, comfortable, and while it faced only to a backyard, we appreciated the quite.
It was my birthday, and the the hotel surprised me in the evening with a nice bottle of champagne and bowl of strawberries. A very nice gesture, I thought.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acunag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear acunag,

With pleasure we read about your holidays and your experience at the Hotel Stefanie.

We are glad that you choose to stay with us on your bike tour and also celebrate your birthday in our beautiful city.

We thank you for your compliments and hope to count you soon again to our guests.

With sunny regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wescosville, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
824 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 286 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2011

The hotel is real great place to stay. The staff is attentive, friendly and helpful. It is convenient to public transportation and just across the bridge from the Ring and other old town and shopping areas. The rooms are spacious, clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast buffet is exceptional and eating outside in the patio is a great way to start your day.

Room Tip: The rooms are all good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tank1050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear tank1050!

Thank you for reviewing your stay at our Hotel Stefanie. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your holidays and appreciate your compliments. Thank you.

Regarding our breakfast offer: not only you can enjoy the breakfast at the cosy courtyard, we also offer the possibility to have breakfast, until September 25th 2011: every Saturday and Sunday from 6.30 a.m. throughout 2:00 p.m. for late risers! For a relaxed start of the weekend.

Looking forward to your next visit, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

Stayed four nights in May 2011. Booked this hotel based upon Tripadvisor reviews. The hotel exceeded our expectations. The room was much larger and more spacious than we expected, particularly for Europe where rooms tend to be fairly small, and the furnishings were extremely comfortable. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the city centre and the subway system . We only ate breakfast at the hotel. The buffet selection was excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyctravellingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear pyctravellingman!

Thank you very much for your positive review.

We are delighted to read that your expectations have been exceeded and that you would stay with us again.

We hope you will soon come back to Vienna and wish you, in the meanwhile, a nice summer.

with best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

with so many grand hotels on the "ring" it was strickly through reviews that we took the chance and stayed further away. truthfully it was not far from anything except throngs of tourists and busy shopping areas. transporation including the hop on/off bus only one block walk, and you will find Vienna is a very large city beyond the Stephenplatz. We were lucky the tour bus took us to the famous ferris wheel, the UN area and the belvedere museum otherwise. the hotel itself was beautiful, the breakfast buffet amazing, the staff very helpful. the only un-perfect part was the trash pickup trucks that start too early. maybe a room not on the street would be better, but we wouldnt have changed rooms because of it.

Room Tip: triple room good size, maybe off street is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geeLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Dear geeLongIsalnd_NY!

We are very pleased to learn about your experience at our Hotel Stefanie and are happy that you enjoyed your Vienna holidays and took the chance to discover our beautiful city.

Our hotel is situated on Taborstrasse and Schwedenplatz Square with its excellent connections to public transport (subway and tramway) is only three minutes walking away.

We thank you for your compliments for the hotel itself, the breakfast offer and the staff and look forward to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 361 in Vienna
1,304 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 361 in Vienna
1,649 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,301 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Vienna
#19 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing