We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An old elegant hotel in an excellent location with basic rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Israel
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“An old elegant hotel in an excellent location with basic rooms”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were recommended this lovely hotel. The hotel is located just outside the first district of Vienna but is so close that it takes only a few minutes of walking to reach all the tourist sites within the first district. The location is also brilliant as you are only a couple of minutes from a train station and lots of tram routes. We managed to get ourselves everywhere by foot and public transport with ease. The hotel itself is designed in the old, elegant European style.... the reception area is very elegant and the dining room is large and pretty. However the bedrooms are small and a little out-dated... I was a little disappointed also by the small bathroom. I don't particularly like showers within bathtubs and so this was a minus for me. The doublebed is actually two single mattresses pushed together but the matresses were comfortable and we slept well. Just one thing to think about, is that the hotel is located next to a gorgeous church that has a bell that chimes all the time (although not at night). This was nice for us but could be problematic if you want to sleep in the mornings... the bell chimes quite loudly. The people in the reception were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was fantastic. A huge array of food to choose from which kept us going for most of the day. I would recommend this hotel but I think it is a little expensive for what it offers....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Gozza1963,

Thank you for informing us and the TripAdvisor community about your experience.

We noticed your remark regarding the room size and kindly inform you that our Hotel Stefanie offers different categories that also vary in size. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, at the time of your next booking. We will be pleased to advise you in order to find the fitting solution.

We hope to welcome you back in future and remain,

with best regards to Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    670
    340
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
154
470
118
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is very centrally located for walking in Vienna. The front desk staff were very efficient, friendly, and helpful. We stayed for a day prior to our Danube cruise and the staff assisted with transportation to the port and stowed our bags after we checked out and before we left for the cruise. The décor is lovely, and the breakfast was great. The only caution I can make is that the bathtub (with shower) is very deep, so young children and older folks with balance issues might need assistance getting in and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colettelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear colettelea,

Thank you for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor and giving us important feedback.

We are happy that you had a nice stay at our Hotel Stefanie and thank you for your nice compliments.

With pleasure we inform you that we also offer rooms just with shower, so you don’t have to enter first the bathtub. Don’t hesitate to contact us at the time of your next booking, we will be pleased to advise you in order to find the fitting solution.

In the meantime, we remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is very attractively decorated throughout and very clean. The reception staff, chamber maids and the barman, in paricular, are excellent. The service is prompt and the advice offered by the reception was "spot-on."

Furthermore, the hotel is very coveniently located, the buffet breakfast and a la carte dinner were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will not look further than this value for money **** star hotel on our return to Vienna.

Room Tip: choose room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Daniel B,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are delighted to learn about your great experience and are happy that you fully enjoyed your holidays.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back in future and look forward to your next reservation.

In the meantime, we remain

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Recently took advantage of a special offer for 3 days bed and breakfast, alone evening meal including their gastrointestinal special spliced at 46 euros, 2 three day travel cars worth 20 euros each and coffee and cake at Demel Coffee House in centre software of Vienna. Hotel well placed only 200 yards from Danube Canal and trams 1 and 2 that follow circular route around city. Be warned they both end up at a terminus rather follow a circular route. Took the long boat trip on the Danube Canal to the Danube - not a lot to see apart from endless graffiti. The journey also included over 40 minutes ascending and descending two locks (20 minutes each). Those choosing the shorter trip were dumped half way round and told where the nearest underground station was! A minor criticism of this otherwise excellent 4 star hotel was that the bathroom contained only two liquid soap dispensers (no soap or shampoo) that were difficult to operate and out of reach if having a bath. Went to the nearby supermarket and bought a bar of soap for 87 cents!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaumonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear beaumonst,

Thank you for your interesting feedback and the many suggestions for further Vienna travellers.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our “Imperial Vienna” Package and thank you for your compliments.

We regret that you had some difficulties with the soap dispenser and therefore went to the supermarket nearby. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff during your stay with us; the colleagues will be pleased to help. We do have extra conditioner and soaps!

We hope you will still keep your stay in good memory and wish you a nice autumn beginning.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

My husband and I spent 2 days at Hotel Stefanie and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The breakfast buffet is lovely and the hotel is conveniently located a short walk from the city center. The wifi is a little annoying in that you are constantly logging on, but the room was clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. The bar is a nice place for a dessert and drink before turning in at night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melbell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear melbell3,

We are glad to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and thank you for your nice compliments.

We noticed your remark regarding the wifi connection but hope that this issue did not impair your vacation.

Wishing you a nice summer ending, we remain,

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minehead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here 2 weeks ago and paid Euro 190 for 2 nights,single room en suite on the 5th floor.
Service is very efficient but a little soulless and the Wifi has to be continuously renewed as there is a limit per customer but no charge.
The restaurant is very good and breakfast not far off superb.However,the waiters look a little bored and whip away your plates etc...almost before you're finished which is a little annoying.
bar good but small and the barman is a really good asset.
When I asked where the restaurant centre was in Vienna I was met with a response which was basically"Silly boy,turn left and there are restaurants in every street".....actually I wanted directions to the City Centre!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Gerry F,

We are happy that your overall enjoyed your stay and thank you for informing us about your experience.

We noticed your remarks regarding the offered service and informed the entire staff about your personal impressions. We will continue working on our service and quality and hope to get a further chance to fully convince you.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aalborg - Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for 2 days. Good atmosphere, good service, excellent breakfast. Nice rooms.
At arrival the reception was fast and precise. A porter with the most impressive mustache greeting at the taxi door taking care of luggage.
Nice and stylish, but not modern interior more like expected in Vienna with the history taken in account.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Knidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Dear Knidk,

Thank you for writing some lines regarding your stay with us and giving us the possibility to check our service and quality.

We are glad that you felt comfortable and thank you for your compliments.

Best regards to Denmark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#23 of 362 in Vienna
447 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#22 of 362 in Vienna
626 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 362 in Vienna
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 362 in Vienna
1,583 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#24 of 362 in Vienna
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing