We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average”
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #22 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
253 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 301 helpful votes
“Just average”
Reviewed 25 September 2013

For a hotel that's rated so highly on TA, the Stefanie was disappointingly average.

The rooms are average, small, but clean, comfortable. I had a room on the back side and it was quiet. WiFi was very iffy in my room.

The hotel's immediate area is absolutely dead at night, which is a bummer. The nearest action is near the train station / canal a couple of blocks away. It's pretty close to public transit (metro and tram), and very quick to the airport via the City Airport Train (only one stop to Mitt Wien). It's easily walkable to St. Stephen and the Ring, but you wouldn't want to do that 3-4 x a day.

There is a supermarket very close by as well as an organic market, a bakery, and a couple of coffee shops. They don't seem to be open at night or on the weekends.

The price was good, though not spectacular. It was an okay stay, but I'm likely to try elsewhere the next trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear nysingle,

Thank you for informing us about your impressions. We regret that you found our Hotel Stefanie to be disappointingly average and would like to take this opportunity to respond to your critic.

The single room you booked offers all amenities you can find in all other categories, but is of course smaller than the other ones. With pleasure we offer the possibility (upon availability and for a surcharge) to book a double room for single occupancy. Maybe this could be an option?

The WiFi signal has already been improved by some additional router and should work constantly. Please do not hesitate to contact the reception staff during your stay in order to find an immediate solution or alternative.

Our Hotel Stefanie offers itself a bar and is situated in the 2nd district, just some steps from the Schwedenplatz. There are several close opportunities to spend a nice evening in the area. For tips you can always contact our receptionists on site.

Supermarkets, bakeries and coffee shops in Austria, are usually all opened on Saturday. Just on Sunday you may have some difficulties to do a normal shopping.

We hope you will still keep your stay in good memories and give our beautiful city a further chance.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    712
    354
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
163
495
122
174
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Excellent breakfast if using coffee from the coffee machine. The single room was very small, the staff was attentive and helpful, a bit of the city center, but still ok - close to the bus stop to the airport. Overall positive experience.
I like smaller pillows - would like to praise this hotel for having two pillows - the first time in my life while travelling - one larger (normal) and one smaller - the one I like.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mindaugas_Danys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Mindaugas_Danys,

Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you had an overall positive stay with us and were surprised by our pillow offer.

We hope you will keep us in good memories and wish you a nice autumn.

Best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel. Haifa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Near the historycal center of city. One of the oldest hotels in Vienna, I don't mean antique or authentic - old. Not so clean, broken things. VERY NOISY in the night, narrow street, tall buildings, even tram sounds like earthacke. Good restaurant, nice breakfast. Didn't like it at all.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank felshyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear felshyn,

We are sorry to learn that you were not completely satisfied about your stay with us and noticed your remarks. Be assured that we place great value on cleanliness and maintenance. Your critic has already been passed to the concerned departments.

The Hotel Stefanie with its more than four hundred years of history, ranks among Vienna’s hotels richest in tradition. This respect for tradition can be felt in every part of the hotel, but does not exclude modern comfort. With pleasure we can recommend you another Schick Hotel for your next stay which may suite more your expectations: our Hotel Am Parkring situated in the first district of Vienna.

Although we could not completely convince you, we are happy that you liked the restaurant offer and appreciate your compliments for our breakfast buffet. Thank you.

Hoping to welcome you back in a Schick Hotel of your choice, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
194 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We were recommended this lovely hotel. The hotel is located just outside the first district of Vienna but is so close that it takes only a few minutes of walking to reach all the tourist sites within the first district. The location is also brilliant as you are only a couple of minutes from a train station and lots of tram routes. We managed to get ourselves everywhere by foot and public transport with ease. The hotel itself is designed in the old, elegant European style.... the reception area is very elegant and the dining room is large and pretty. However the bedrooms are small and a little out-dated... I was a little disappointed also by the small bathroom. I don't particularly like showers within bathtubs and so this was a minus for me. The doublebed is actually two single mattresses pushed together but the matresses were comfortable and we slept well. Just one thing to think about, is that the hotel is located next to a gorgeous church that has a bell that chimes all the time (although not at night). This was nice for us but could be problematic if you want to sleep in the mornings... the bell chimes quite loudly. The people in the reception were very helpful and spoke excellent English. The breakfast was fantastic. A huge array of food to choose from which kept us going for most of the day. I would recommend this hotel but I think it is a little expensive for what it offers....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Gozza1963,

Thank you for informing us and the TripAdvisor community about your experience.

We noticed your remark regarding the room size and kindly inform you that our Hotel Stefanie offers different categories that also vary in size. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly, at the time of your next booking. We will be pleased to advise you in order to find the fitting solution.

We hope to welcome you back in future and remain,

with best regards to Israel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This hotel is very centrally located for walking in Vienna. The front desk staff were very efficient, friendly, and helpful. We stayed for a day prior to our Danube cruise and the staff assisted with transportation to the port and stowed our bags after we checked out and before we left for the cruise. The décor is lovely, and the breakfast was great. The only caution I can make is that the bathtub (with shower) is very deep, so young children and older folks with balance issues might need assistance getting in and out.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colettelea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear colettelea,

Thank you for posting your impressions on TripAdvisor and giving us important feedback.

We are happy that you had a nice stay at our Hotel Stefanie and thank you for your nice compliments.

With pleasure we inform you that we also offer rooms just with shower, so you don’t have to enter first the bathtub. Don’t hesitate to contact us at the time of your next booking, we will be pleased to advise you in order to find the fitting solution.

In the meantime, we remain

with best regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is very attractively decorated throughout and very clean. The reception staff, chamber maids and the barman, in paricular, are excellent. The service is prompt and the advice offered by the reception was "spot-on."

Furthermore, the hotel is very coveniently located, the buffet breakfast and a la carte dinner were excellent. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will not look further than this value for money **** star hotel on our return to Vienna.

Room Tip: choose room facing the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear Daniel B,

Thank you very much for your nice comments. We are delighted to learn about your great experience and are happy that you fully enjoyed your holidays.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back in future and look forward to your next reservation.

In the meantime, we remain

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Recently took advantage of a special offer for 3 days bed and breakfast, alone evening meal including their gastrointestinal special spliced at 46 euros, 2 three day travel cars worth 20 euros each and coffee and cake at Demel Coffee House in centre software of Vienna. Hotel well placed only 200 yards from Danube Canal and trams 1 and 2 that follow circular route around city. Be warned they both end up at a terminus rather follow a circular route. Took the long boat trip on the Danube Canal to the Danube - not a lot to see apart from endless graffiti. The journey also included over 40 minutes ascending and descending two locks (20 minutes each). Those choosing the shorter trip were dumped half way round and told where the nearest underground station was! A minor criticism of this otherwise excellent 4 star hotel was that the bathroom contained only two liquid soap dispensers (no soap or shampoo) that were difficult to operate and out of reach if having a bath. Went to the nearby supermarket and bought a bar of soap for 87 cents!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaumonst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear beaumonst,

Thank you for your interesting feedback and the many suggestions for further Vienna travellers.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed our “Imperial Vienna” Package and thank you for your compliments.

We regret that you had some difficulties with the soap dispenser and therefore went to the supermarket nearby. Please do not hesitate to contact our reception staff during your stay with us; the colleagues will be pleased to help. We do have extra conditioner and soaps!

We hope you will still keep your stay in good memory and wish you a nice autumn beginning.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
681 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#19 of 360 in Vienna
491 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 360 in Vienna
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,618 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Vienna
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing