We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“the best place we stayed in”
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #23 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“the best place we stayed in”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had an extremely positive stay at Hotel Stefanie. The staff were excellent, our room was very nice and well maintained. It was not a huge room or bathroom but it was not a cramped feeling, especially because we had a balcony which let in a lot of light. We were very very happy with our stay and would recommend Hotel Stefanie to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and the only negative thing was the church bells. It didn't wake me up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sar G,

Thank you for your nice review and your lovely comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed an extremely positive sty with us and already passed your praise to our staff.

With pleasure we look forward to welcome you back in future and thank you for recommending us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    348
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
157
482
120
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Hotel Stephanie and enjoyed every minute of it. Our room was clean and quiet , the church bells did not bother us .The bed was very comfortable. The staff was excellent and very responsive to our requests.The hotel is beautiful and centraly located. We would return to the hotel for a second time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Irit Z,

We are very happy to read that we could fully convince you and that you would return for a second time.

With pleasure we look forward to your next visit and remain,

with sunny regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We are a family, took a triple room for 5 nights. The room is "double superior" and it is spacious enough, thing which is rare in europe. The hotel is beautiful as well as the room and the bathroom which is very big and convenient.
The staff at the reception is kind especially Mr. Messadi who always smiles, delighted to help and so patient, reminding you constantly that he is there for you.
The breakfast buffet is rich with all types of bread, rolls, cheese, sausage, fruit, vegetables, eggs of all kinds, nuts of any kind, cakes etc. We've been travelling in Europe for years and we agreed that this was the best breakfast ever! As for the location, it is very convenient, few minutes walk and you're in district 1, the old town. Stefanie hotel is located in a street full of shops however not too busy especially when our room faced the back of the hotel where a much less busier street was. It was very quiet at night even with open windows. BTW, you can adjust the temperature at your room. The room is very clean, daily cleaned. Really perfect! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almoTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear almoHaifa,

Thank you for your detailed listing. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and noticed your compliments for the room, the Hotel Stefanie itself, our breakfast buffet and the hotel location.

Especially your praise for our Mr. Messadi delighted us and we already informed him. Thank you!

Wishing you a nice spring continuation, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights in Hotel Stephanie, it was a really good bargain. The breakfast is huge, nice and big. The room are really comfortable, clean and perfectly seized. The bathroom is huge !
It s really central, we walked everywhere. Staff really nice, polite and efficient
A really nice experience to recommend

Room Tip: I choose the Hotel on booking.com. Was on offer. It is really central
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Cindy M,

We very much appreciate your praise and are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your vacation in Vienna at our Hotel Stefanie.

We thank you for your nice comments and recommendation to further travellers.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went with a group, so we had no choice of hotel. We stayed 9 days. The most important thing about a hotel is the sleep quality since that is mostly what you do in your room. The hotel is really close to a church. At 6am, everyday we were awakened by 10 church bells. On Sunday at 8am, the church bells would ring for about 3 minutes non-stop. They also rang every 15 minutes. Since there are no clocks in the rooms, I guess that's how one tells time. The beds are 2 small beds shoved together. Very uncomfortable mattresses. If you want any amenities there are none provided, you have to request them. If you need to iron anything, there is 1 ironing board in the maids supply room. You have to request to be taken to it. Tea/coffee maker have to be requested as well. The breakfast buffet was good, with a lot of variety. Towards the end of the stay, it got a bit tiresome. We only ate 1 dinner at the hotel and it was very good. The staff was excellent and very responsive to your needs. That's the only reason I didn't give it a poor rating. I wouldn't stay here again because of the lack of comfort and the noise from the church.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Moe W,

thank you for posting your impressions. We are sorry that the church bells from the nearby church disturbed you and caused a reduction of your sleeping quality. We noticed your remark and will try to find a solution or a compromise with the operator.

As you wrote we do not offer iron amenities in the rooms, because of security reasons. But as written, our staff will be pleased to show a suitable room in case of need.
Tea and coffee making facilities can be ordered at the reception, which will organise the delivery.

We appreciate your compliments and already passed them to our staff.

We still hope to get a further chance to convince you and remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were celebrating my friend's birthday in Vienna. when booking, I asked the hotel to bring some flowers to the room. At first I was asked how much do I want to spend on flowers, but in the end they had provided both nice spring flowers as well as champagne in our room free of charge. Such a nice gesture! Reception people were attending as well, giving a lot of information about the city and sightseeing.

The room was very nice and roomy, with a living room corner and separate small wardrobe room. We asked for quiet room and got the one facing courtyard, which was ok for us.

Breakfast was good quality, could not have asked for more.

The only downside was the sleeping quality. The pillows in the rooms were not really good and the main problem for us was the church bell which were ringing very early in the morning and woke us up frequently, but I am a light sleeper as well.

Nevertheless, the hotel is good and I would recommend it. Just bring your ear plugs!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klaabukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear klaabukas,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you choose our Hotel Stefanie to celebrate your friend’s birthday and fully enjoyed our services. Thank you for your compliments.

We are sorry to read that the pillows did not correspond entirely to your expectations. As written in our guest folder, we offer different sizes which can be requested directly at the reception. Please do not hesitate to contact our colleagues on site in order to solve such questions immediately. We will be pleased to help you straight away.

We noticed your remark about the church bell and regret that you were disturbed in your sleep.

We hope you still could enjoy your stay with us and wish you a nice spring continuation.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I had been here in 1990 on business and returned to Vienna for leisure. i remembered the Stefanie Hotel as one of the pleasant things in Vienna. I was not deceived at all after almost 25 years. Service remains at the best level - staff is wonderful, breakfast is gorgeous and the atmosphere of the hotel is the atmosphere of Vienna! A very nice experience at affordable price.
Only suggestion to improve are the bathrooms, which could be updated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josip57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Josip57,

We are delighted to read, that you kept us in good memories for almost 25 years and finally decided to stay with us again while visiting Vienna.

We very much appreciate your compliments and are glad, we could offer you again a comfortable stay.

Your improvement suggestion regarding the bathrooms has been noticed. We are already planning some renovation works and will discuss this soon.

We send sunny regards to Lisbon and hope you will return soon to our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#25 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 653 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#21 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#30 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Vienna
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing