We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charmingly old-fashioned” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #21 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vitoria-Gasteiz, Spain
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charmingly old-fashioned”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Nice, helpful staff with a slinghtly old-fashioned touch, which fits perfectly to the atmosphere at the hotel. Quiet, spacious and clean rooms, lavish breakfast buffet. Close to the historical centre and affordable price. Mr. Messadi from the reception and the maitre at breakfast were particularly nice and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Cristina J,

We are very happy to learn that you fully enjoyed the special atmosphere of our Hotel Stefanie and thank you for your compliments.

With pleasure we passed your compliments to our Mr. Messadi at the reception and Mr. Kahlhofen, thank you for mentioning them specifically.

Wishing you a great spring continuation, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,072 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    651
    329
    69
    17
    6
See reviews for
151
458
115
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We had an extremely positive stay at Hotel Stefanie. The staff were excellent, our room was very nice and well maintained. It was not a huge room or bathroom but it was not a cramped feeling, especially because we had a balcony which let in a lot of light. We were very very happy with our stay and would recommend Hotel Stefanie to anyone.

Room Tip: We were on the 5th floor and the only negative thing was the church bells. It didn't wake me up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Dear Sar G,

Thank you for your nice review and your lovely comments. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed an extremely positive sty with us and already passed your praise to our staff.

With pleasure we look forward to welcome you back in future and thank you for recommending us.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed 4 nights in Hotel Stephanie and enjoyed every minute of it. Our room was clean and quiet , the church bells did not bother us .The bed was very comfortable. The staff was excellent and very responsive to our requests.The hotel is beautiful and centraly located. We would return to the hotel for a second time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irit Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Irit Z,

We are very happy to read that we could fully convince you and that you would return for a second time.

With pleasure we look forward to your next visit and remain,

with sunny regards from Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We are a family, took a triple room for 5 nights. The room is "double superior" and it is spacious enough, thing which is rare in europe. The hotel is beautiful as well as the room and the bathroom which is very big and convenient.
The staff at the reception is kind especially Mr. Messadi who always smiles, delighted to help and so patient, reminding you constantly that he is there for you.
The breakfast buffet is rich with all types of bread, rolls, cheese, sausage, fruit, vegetables, eggs of all kinds, nuts of any kind, cakes etc. We've been travelling in Europe for years and we agreed that this was the best breakfast ever! As for the location, it is very convenient, few minutes walk and you're in district 1, the old town. Stefanie hotel is located in a street full of shops however not too busy especially when our room faced the back of the hotel where a much less busier street was. It was very quiet at night even with open windows. BTW, you can adjust the temperature at your room. The room is very clean, daily cleaned. Really perfect! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank almoTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear almoHaifa,

Thank you for your detailed listing. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your stay and noticed your compliments for the room, the Hotel Stefanie itself, our breakfast buffet and the hotel location.

Especially your praise for our Mr. Messadi delighted us and we already informed him. Thank you!

Wishing you a nice spring continuation, we remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed 5 nights in Hotel Stephanie, it was a really good bargain. The breakfast is huge, nice and big. The room are really comfortable, clean and perfectly seized. The bathroom is huge !
It s really central, we walked everywhere. Staff really nice, polite and efficient
A really nice experience to recommend

Room Tip: I choose the Hotel on booking.com. Was on offer. It is really central
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Cindy M,

We very much appreciate your praise and are pleased to read that you fully enjoyed your vacation in Vienna at our Hotel Stefanie.

We thank you for your nice comments and recommendation to further travellers.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

We went with a group, so we had no choice of hotel. We stayed 9 days. The most important thing about a hotel is the sleep quality since that is mostly what you do in your room. The hotel is really close to a church. At 6am, everyday we were awakened by 10 church bells. On Sunday at 8am, the church bells would ring for about 3 minutes non-stop. They also rang every 15 minutes. Since there are no clocks in the rooms, I guess that's how one tells time. The beds are 2 small beds shoved together. Very uncomfortable mattresses. If you want any amenities there are none provided, you have to request them. If you need to iron anything, there is 1 ironing board in the maids supply room. You have to request to be taken to it. Tea/coffee maker have to be requested as well. The breakfast buffet was good, with a lot of variety. Towards the end of the stay, it got a bit tiresome. We only ate 1 dinner at the hotel and it was very good. The staff was excellent and very responsive to your needs. That's the only reason I didn't give it a poor rating. I wouldn't stay here again because of the lack of comfort and the noise from the church.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Moe W,

thank you for posting your impressions. We are sorry that the church bells from the nearby church disturbed you and caused a reduction of your sleeping quality. We noticed your remark and will try to find a solution or a compromise with the operator.

As you wrote we do not offer iron amenities in the rooms, because of security reasons. But as written, our staff will be pleased to show a suitable room in case of need.
Tea and coffee making facilities can be ordered at the reception, which will organise the delivery.

We appreciate your compliments and already passed them to our staff.

We still hope to get a further chance to convince you and remain,

with best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tartu, Estonia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We were celebrating my friend's birthday in Vienna. when booking, I asked the hotel to bring some flowers to the room. At first I was asked how much do I want to spend on flowers, but in the end they had provided both nice spring flowers as well as champagne in our room free of charge. Such a nice gesture! Reception people were attending as well, giving a lot of information about the city and sightseeing.

The room was very nice and roomy, with a living room corner and separate small wardrobe room. We asked for quiet room and got the one facing courtyard, which was ok for us.

Breakfast was good quality, could not have asked for more.

The only downside was the sleeping quality. The pillows in the rooms were not really good and the main problem for us was the church bell which were ringing very early in the morning and woke us up frequently, but I am a light sleeper as well.

Nevertheless, the hotel is good and I would recommend it. Just bring your ear plugs!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klaabukas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear klaabukas,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you choose our Hotel Stefanie to celebrate your friend’s birthday and fully enjoyed our services. Thank you for your compliments.

We are sorry to read that the pillows did not correspond entirely to your expectations. As written in our guest folder, we offer different sizes which can be requested directly at the reception. Please do not hesitate to contact our colleagues on site in order to solve such questions immediately. We will be pleased to help you straight away.

We noticed your remark about the church bell and regret that you were disturbed in your sleep.

We hope you still could enjoy your stay with us and wish you a nice spring continuation.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#22 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 427 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 608 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#18 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,558 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel City Central
Hotel City Central
#54 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Vienna
#18 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing