We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$137
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$125/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$127
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$140/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$116
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$295
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$186
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$344
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$444
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$367/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,482)
Filter reviews
1,484 results
Traveller rating
951
420
83
22
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
951
420
83
22
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoldest hotelchurch bellsdanube canalold world charmshort walkcharming hotelsingle roomtraditional hotelcity centrebreakfast was amazingairport buswould definitely stay here againfour nightsbreakfast buffetsuperior roomreception staffroom was large
Filter
Updating list...
415 - 420 of 1,484 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2016 via mobile

This hotel ticks the box on so many levels. We stayed in a superior double and the room was huge compared to most European standards. Room was clean and tidy and the bathroom always had hot running water. The restaurant is a must when you stay here, I can honestly say the best meals we had in Vienna was at the restaurant for dinner! Staff were friendly and wonderful and extremely helpful. Everyone from the barman to the check in staff are always up for a chat and give you advice on where to go.

Can't recommend this place highly enough

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank kurtzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear kurtzl,

Thank you for your throughout positive review for our Hotel and Restaurant Stefanie. We are very happy to read that our offer fully convinced you and that you enjoyed a nice vacation with us.

We are pleased that you recommend us to further travellers and would be glad to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2016 via mobile

Well first of all on arriving to Vienna i was really pleased as we arrived very early after an 8 hour coach journey and our hotel room was ready at 6 am so we could go and have a sleep before exploring the City.
First day we got lost and explored by accident the muslim community on the outside suberb! Anyway we saw some of the other parts of Vienna. Hotel room was nice, very clean and full minibar which helped on the first night as nowhere was open. However we wanted to try the restaraunt as all the reviews were so good, I would like to add that the neal was lovely. I ordered the "vienesse friendship" I thought it was a bit strange i wasnt asked how I wanted it cooked but the lamb and beef steak were small pieces so I thought nothing of itm was cool in the middle but i thought this dish was normal as it was new for me.
Very exspensive meal but like I said we wanted to try it, €135 for 2 of us. I woke up around 4am with stomach cramps and going to the toilet, I am never ever ill after food and have spent over 6 months in the carribean eating jerk chicken and shrimp from a beach hut kitchen! Really dont know what happend but we stayed in bed the whole morning and couldnt get off the toilet. Long story short my boyfriend started the same and couldnt understand where it was from as i know the "high standard" from the meal at our hotel. We told reception and all the guy told us was "o really thats strange I havent heard of anyon else being ill. It must just be you too" on checkout still nothing which i did expect a little bit more from a 4* where we were both ill and never had this before.... anyway very dissapointed in that as I repeatedly say I use trip advisor alot and I know there are no bad review on our hotel. But i was Ill for 3 days , it put a downer on my break here and regretfully put us off going back to Vienna, we had macdonalds and pizza every other day whats the point spending alot on fancy food if it makes you ill! very over priced and nothing special.

Wont be in a rush back to Vienna. :(

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Caroline2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Caroline2304,

As already responded to your travel companion we are very sorry that you could not fully enjoy your stay and regret your unpleasant experience.

We assure you that your reviews have already been discussed internally and taken very seriously. As announced we will put intensified attention to our already high hygienic standards and enhance the guest contact and service.

We still point out that it is not sure where you have been infected and therefore the food in our restaurant must not forcibly be responsible for your sickness.

We hope that in the meantime you have fully recovered and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile

Well, i stayed in this hotel with my girlfriend for 4 nights. Room was nice, clean and tidy. We had a dinner in hotel's restaurant 3 nights ago and both of us ended having upset stomach and other following problems...we informed the reception about our problem and just to say- we NEVER asked for any kind of compensation or money back, which we should considering that dinner was not cheap at all. During last 3 days, absolutely no one asked how we feel or do we need something. Only thing that was said to us, after we checked out, was "We checked with our colleagues, thats all we could do".
Thank you very much, NEVER AGAIN.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Boris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2016

Dear Boris J,

First of all we are very sorry that you could not fully enjoy your stay and regret this unpleasant experience.

Despite being very happy with the assigned room as well as the cleanliness of the building, unfortunately you get an upset stomach during your stay in Vienna. After you reported your disease to our reception team, the colleagues informed the staff and checked about similar reporting during the following days. Fortunately there were no further notifications by any other guest.

We are keen to point out that you could have been infected on the move and not forcibly the food in our restaurant must be responsible for your sickness. Nevertheless, we take your note very seriously and will put intensified attention to our already high hygienic standards.

We hope that in the meantime, you have fully recovered and wish you all the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We enjoyed a few nights here at the beginning of December for a trip to the Viennese Christmas Markets. It is well located for the tourist buses, boats, or the Hop-on Hop-off Vienna Sightseeing tour that we opted for, and the staff could not have been more helpful in setting us off in the right direction with map in hand. We are fairly active and the walk over the Danube to St Stephansplatz is not a long one, but I would recommend a more central Hotel for a less active visitor as the walk to the Museumsquartier etc. where much of the touristy hot spots are can take it out of you (about 30 mins). The breakfast buffet was expansive and delicious, including a good range of teas and some bubbly (although that might have been just for Christmas). The toaster is quite violent though, be warned!
The staff as a whole were lovely, attentive and helpful; booking restaurants for us and advising on the best places to go for wine tasting. I can also attest to a well-stocked tool box!
The service score is average due to the night staff only, who were disinterested and unwelcoming on our arrival (around 1am) and, after a fire alarm (caused by the kitchen burning something - the cause was never really made clear) in the early hours of the morning, did not acknowledge the guests that had evacuated or give the all clear.
The rooms are clean but somewhat tired. We noticed especially that the carpets we stained. Our pillows were lumpy but the mattress was firm. Do not expect tea and coffee making facilities, although these can be brought to your room.
We enjoyed a lovely stay, were very grateful to the helpful staff, and for the price it was not unreasonable.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conniexe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Dear Conniexe,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience and giving us the chance to control and optimize our offer.

Our Hotel Stefanie is situated in the 2nd district of Vienna, just a few minutes walk from the Schwedenplatz in the 1st district. From there you can choose to either walk or take one of the public transportation possibilities to reach your major point of interest. The offer is quite varied; there are subways, tramway or busses. Please do not hesitate to ask our reception staff on duty for the shortest way to get to your goal. We will be pleased to advise you.

We are very sorry that the information regarding the fire alarm was not satisfactory and kindly ask you to accept our sincere excuses. Please be assured that we put great importance to the wellbeing of our guests and due attention. We will work on this important topic and optimize our service. Thank you.

We hope to get a further chance to fully convince you in the future and therefore look forward to your next visit.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2015

My wife and I stayed for six days over Christmas. The location is excellent with just a short stroll over the bridge into the city centre. The Hotel itself is traditional and elegant and was very popular over Christmas. We found the Staff throughout the Hotel friendly and helpful and always offered advice with a smile. The food in the restaurant was excellent with plenty of choice. We would definitely recommend this Hotel and if we return to Vienna in the future will stay at the Stefanie again.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eltasho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this reviewResponded 30 December 2015

Dear Eltasho,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel Stefanie for your Christmas holidays. We are glad that you fully enjoyed your vacation and would be happy to welcome you back in future.

In the meantime, we wish you, a great beginning of the New Year 2016.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews