We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Stefanie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Stefanie
Ranked #22 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Scotland
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Very pleasant hotel that serves good Austrian food. Went on a special Travelzoo package which included breakfast and an imperial 7 course banquet with wine and beer.. All staff at the hotel were very friendly and efficient - except the guy who checked us in when we arrived at lunch time. He had no interest and could not even smile or say welcome. This was the only time at the hotel we encountered such unprofessional and rude behavior. The room was large with single beds though the double bed rooms seemed small. The hotel was very clean throughout and staff did everything they could to make your stay enjoyable. I will certainly stay there again when in Veinna and the fact that it sits 3 minutes from a cetral tube station helps. It is also about a 5 minute walk from where the airport bus drops off and picks up passengers. Much cheaper (5 euros each way) to take the bus into town (one every 30 mins) and it only takes 20 minutes.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank highteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear highteas,

Thank you for your positive evaluation.

With pleasure we learn that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Stefanie and that you also took advantage of the Restaurant offer.

As you write, we aim to offer a pleasant and enjoyable stay to our guests and therefore very much regret your negative experience at your arrival. Please do accept our sincere excuses.

Your review has been passed to the reception staff in order to be discussed and to improve the attention of each member. Thank you for letting us know the happening.

We read that you will nevertheless book again our Hotel for your Vienna stay and thank you for your confidence.

Looking forward to welcome you again, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    708
    354
    71
    17
    7
See reviews for
161
494
122
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
KY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2010

This was our last hotel before leaving Europe, so it was a bonus that it was so nice. The hotel was a little more expensive than previous locations, but well worth the cost as we wanted to be within walking distance to amenities and the rail. You will be hard pressed to find as nice of a place for their price. Lots of small nice touches, to include air conditioning (which some of our previous hotels did not have), large screen TV and mini refrigerator. The room is standard European and on the small side, but we had to have a cot brought in for our teenager so our ample space was reduced quite a bit. The cost of their breakfast was included in our rate and was one of the BEST breakfasts we had as part of a B&B plan. Wow - fresh fruit, cheeses, breads, eggs, cereals, juices and champagne. Service was just excellent and every member of the staff spoke very good English. Their attention to service was reinforced when our teenage daughter didn't feel well one morning and couldn't get to the dining room during breakfast hours. She ran down to the dining room as the meal was being put away and the staff bent over backwards to get her something to eat. The concierge also provided us with umbrellas as it rained the entire time we were there. There is a small grocery a few doors down if you don't want to venture out for a meal and a bar across the street. There was street construction during the day, but quiet at night. Hotel parking was expensive, but the vehicles are kept in an secured inner courtyard. You park/street parking is virtually non-existent. (Vienna tends to be expensive anyways, so expect to pay more for just about everything). Overall, very charming, very nice place.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyDerbyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear KyDerbyDawn,

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel Stefanie.

We hope that you have returned well and that your daughter is completely healthy now!

We appreciate very much your compliments, especially for our breakfast buffet and passed them to our entire staff. Thank you.

With pleasure we look forward to your next booking and hopefully the weather will then be a bit nicer!

Best regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

This is a great place to stay if in Vienna. My husband and I would return to Hotel Stefanie on a future trip. The U-Bahn is only 3 short blocks in either direction and the hotel is within walking distance of excellet street cafes, restaurants, and elite shopping. The staff were lovely...polite, helpful, and welcoming. The breakfast cannot be beaten at an hotel anywhere we have stayed. The food is presented in an elegant manner on multiple tables...breads and pastries of all sorts, eggs, bacon, sausages, cold cuts, yogourts, fruits, vegetables, juices, tea, coffee, champagne, cereals, nuts, etc. The little bar is a pleasant place for a drink and even a meal. The rooms are comfortable with beautiful wood and modern bathrooms overlooking a treed courtyard. Grocery stores and little bars are just a few doors down. Trips to Prague and Budapest and a Mozart Concert were easily organized by the staff. We had a wonderful time. Eileen and Wayne Holland, Canada

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Canadiangirl035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Dear Canadiangirl035,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write an assessment for our Hotel Stefanie.

With pleasure we read that our hotel offer completely convinced you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your compliments.

We are also happy to read that you will choose us again at your next visit to Vienna
and hope to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

with kind regards from sunny Vienna

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2010

We stayed in Stefanie for 3 nights in June 2010 and couldn't think of anything negative to write about it.
Good location, very nice staff, comfy beds, fantastic 7 course dinner and the most amazing breakfast served until 2pm!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adriana-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 10 August 2010
Dear Adriana-7!

Thank you very much for your positive evaluation.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel Stefanie and appreciate your compliments.

Also we are pleased to learn that you took advantage of our long breakfast offer on the weekends.

Looking forward to welcome you back soon, we remain,

with kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2010

I stayed here for 6 nights as I was in Vienna for a conference. I booked it based on the reviews I read here.

The hotel is located just on the other side of the water from district 1, a couple of blocks east from Schwedenplatz station (U1 red line) and west from Taborstrasse station (U2 purple line). We walked to the tourist area around Stephansdom pretty much everyday which took just a few minutes.

The hotel does not have a key card system. You get a key and leave it with the concierge when you leave. The room we stayed in was 405, which was fairly old school but the bathroom was very modern and looks like it was renovated in the past several years. It also included a safe and a mini fridge, although it wasn't very cold at all.

The continental breakfast was amazing. Everything from cold cuts, cheese, cereal, eggs, sausages, bacon, yogurt, many artisan breads, croissants, coffee, juice, tea etc. Definitely a nice way to start the day. Fr. Macek, one of the waitresses was really great. My wife thought she was amazing.

Speaking of employees... pretty much every worker in the hotel was great. Although one thing that threw us off was the male maid on our floor. The front desk concierges were outstanding. I didn't really interact very much with the overnight guy but Andreas, the morning/afternoon concierge was great and the afternoon/evening concierge, Hr. Neubauer, was totally amazing. Both were extremely friendly, helpful and professional.

They have one public computer for use which was great for those of us not traveling with a laptop. You have to get a password from the concierge to access the internet on it.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 360flip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 2 August 2010
Dear 360flip!

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel Stefanie.

With pleasure we learn that you spend a nice stay with us and that our offer, especially the hotel situation, the breakfast buffet and our staff convinced you and made you feel comfortable.

We thank your for your compliments and would be very pleased to welcome you back soon.

In the meantime, we remain,

With kind regards

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2010

I stayed at Hotel Stefanie for two nights in July 2010, and it was a nice stay. The hotel is old fashioned, and is quite charming. I only had breakfast in the restaurant, but it was nice. It was lovely to sit under the shade of the trees in the backyard.

Upon arrival, though, I was a bit taken off guard. Some guy wanted to carry my suitcase to my room... I don't need that! I'm a big man, and I have a small suitcase. Is it just the tip they want? I decided not to tip. Don't do this to people that you see manage their luggage perfectly. It felt very uncomfortable. Otherwise, the reception staff were very helpful.

The room I had suited me well. It was on the top floor (5th), facing the street, and it had a little balcony which was nice. The interior of the room was a bit dated, but it did have a flatscreen TV, and there is free wifi internet available (you need to get a password from the reception first).

I slept well (despite quite horrible pillows) - at least until 6 AM. Facing the street was no problem, but the next door neighbour was .The hotel is the next door neighbour of a church, and they start ringing their bells every 15th minute from 6 AM...

Hotel Stefanie is in a perfect location, 3 minutes walk from Schwedenplatz, where you can catch the underground and the tram. Using the tram is very recommendable. And the icecream at Schwedenplatz is the best I've ever had. I was there several times - in two days.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mzungo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Dear Mzungo!

Thank you for taking the time to write an assessment for our Hotel Stefanie.

With pleasure we learn that you were satisfied with the staff, the advised room and the hotel position.

Regarding your comment about your arrival: we can assure you that our staff carries with pleasure every guest luggage to the room and do not expect any tip. This is part of the service offered from the house and should make you feel welcome from the beginning on.
We are very sorry that this occurrence made you feel uncomfortable.

Your critic regarding the pillows has been noted and passed to the housekeeping department!
Thank you for forwarding it to us!

Despite the disturbance taken by the church bells, we learn from your evaluation that you passed a pleasant stay with us and we thank you for your compliments.

We hope to welcome you back soon and look forward to your next booking.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards from sunny Vienna!

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2010

A lovely hotel with extremly helpful and charming staff. The resterant is fabululous, in pareticular the breakfast- which is worthy of a more superior hotel. Great value for money , although the rooms are a little jaded and the TV was unavailable when we stayed. All in all great value for money so this was a minor problem.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouHM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
linda_labschuetz, Internet Guest Relation Manager at Hotel Stefanie, responded to this review, 12 July 2010
Dear louHM!

Thank you for reviewing our Hotel Stefanie.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our house and also our restaurant.

Your compliments, especially for the kitchen, have already been forwarded to the staff!

Regarding the television: we are sorry that it did not work properly during your stay. We had some works going on and this caused the failure. Please do accept our excuses.

We would be very pleased to welcome you back soon and look forward to your next booking.

In the meantime, we remain,

with best regards from sunny Vienna!

Linda Labschütz / Internet Guest Relation Manager
Schick Hotels – Over a century of Viennese charm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Am Parkring
Hotel Am Parkring
#24 of 360 in Vienna
681 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#20 of 360 in Vienna
485 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hotel Austria
Hotel Austria
#23 of 360 in Vienna
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Das Capri
Das Capri
#17 of 360 in Vienna
1,616 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#31 of 360 in Vienna
1,439 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stefanie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stefanie

Property: Hotel Stefanie
Address: Taborstrasse 12, Vienna 1020, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Leopoldstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in Vienna
#20 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#23 Family Hotel in Vienna
#33 Business Hotel in Vienna
#39 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Stefanie 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its over 400 years of tradition, the elegant metropolitan Hotel Stefanie is the oldest hotel in Vienna. As the hotel longest in the possession of the family Schick, it lays the foundation for the private SCHICK Hotels-group - "Over a century of Viennese Charm". Today, the hotel-only a few minutes' walk from the 1st district, the historic centre of Vienna -presents itself as a successful combination of old and new. 120 Stylish rooms with air conditioning and WLAN (free of charge), three conference rooms (total capacity of 200 persons), as well as the restaurant 'Stefanie' form the framework for a pleasant stay in Vienna. Viennese cuisine acts as ambassador of Austrian hospitality in the restaurant and is served in the imperial ballroom or the relaxing courtyard garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Stefanie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stefanie Hotel Vienna
Hotel Stefanie Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing