We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quality of 4 stars, but okay”
Review of Hotel Reither

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Reither
Ranked #316 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room was clean and beds comfortable. Food basic, but okay. Public transportation with 2 separate stations and lines pretty nearby (~5-7 minutes walk), and close enough to reach all attractions. Good value for money in any case.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Reither
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

I really enjoyed the hotel: I was well atended, the room was very clean and the bed veeeery comfortable. You can go to the Schonbrunn Palace by foot, but you need to walk very much. Although, the hotel is very close to two subway stations, and that is everything you need to be able to visit Viena. I had a really good experience in the hotel restaurant: besides the fact that the menu was in German, the waiter had all the patience and kindness to translate everything to English for us. The words that he didn't know he even searched in google translator! . The food was delicious and the price was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bárbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, everything was just basic and staff was exactly friendly.

I found it inconvenience as at least 10 min walk to station and quite quiet during night. Not good to visitors at all.

Room size was small and nothing you would miss.

Room Tip: Better hotels elsewhere
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKC_PRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and was not inpressed at all. Very basic just 1 coffee and 1 tea bag per person on arrival , not even a biscuit. walkable to the train station but the view from our room was a parkade and extremely noisy , Next time i would rather pay a bit more and stay in a nicer looking hotel.Breakfast were very friendly

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay in a better hotel
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Reither used to be our regular place to stay on frequent visits to Vienna. Checked out this morning - the last time!
I defended the place in my last comments about nine months ago, but I have to now agree with the majority of those who review the place. Since the current management has taken over from the previous one, the place has gone downhill at a very fast rate. The rates are reasonable, though wildly fluctuating, but the last straw was when my wife and I - regular visitors, who stayed there 14 nights in the past 12 months alone - were given a room on a late arrival last night which did not have a functioning toilet. Discovered this at a time when no service personnel were available. You do not expect too many frills in a hotel of this category, but you do expect to be able to flush the toilet.

It is outrageous that housekeeping does not check such a basic function after a guest has checked out.

On previous stays we complained about the fact that whichever room, or suite we stayed in the separate and windowless toilets never had a functioning ventilation system. Nothing ever gets done about this. Ergo, the place stinks.

The current owner(?)/manager gets surly and unpleasant when he is asked to move his large car from a spot where he blocks the access of his guests in the car park for which they pay a substantial extra sum.

Breakfast is no longer included in the price, but we mostly skip it anyway. In any case, it is overpriced.

Under the new regime, front desk staff is totally incompetent. I have lost count of the number of occasions when our bookings were messed up. Sometimes cancelled without us knowing why. Other occasions either lights, or telephone doesn't work. There is no air conditioning and in the midst of a heatwave in the summer, we had to get heavy before getting a clapped out old electric fan.

Swimming pool has gone "private", but we never used it anyway.

The list is endless, but you put up with some of it for the sake of economic rates.
TODAY WAS THE END OF OUR TOLERANCE!
Non-functioning toilet? They can keep the place in future. The receptionist's reaction was, "I only work here." Not much longer, I hope.

Bye, bye, Reither! It is managed in a bizarre manner, it is smelly and treats guests as if they were a byeproduct of the non-functioning toilet:
NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Caveat emptor! Stay somewhere else.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PeteBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed in Best Western Hotel Reither, Vienna for the period from 15 Oct. till 19 Oct. 2013.
Pros.:
- Hotel location is 5-10 m walk from the nearest underground station (s), i.e. between two lines (Längenfeldgasse U4 & U6) and Margaretengürtel U4.
- The hotel is clean and the room space is acceptable.
Cons.:
- The hotel management is a total loss, the front office clerks, all of them except of one lady, were total waste of time, one was just joined from two days and the other did not know what to do.
- It is mentioned that they have internet connection in the room, this is not true it is extremely slow and always disconnect, you will have to go downstairs to the so called lobby to connect to the internet.
- The bathroom is very small with no window or ventilation, it smells horrible and humid.
- The room lighting is very poor, the furniture is outdated.
- No Air-condition, just heating, one old cheap fan is laying aside.
- The so called lobby is just two sofas few chairs and front disk (a small hut for computer).
- The last cherry of the cake, we asked the receptionist to ordered us a taxi to the airport and we were 5m before the due time, we have found one man waiting for us, we put the bags in the car but suddenly other diver came and told us that he is our taxi driver, he made a fight with the other taxi driver ended up grabbing the luggage and put it in his car.
The hotel receptionist was watching the fight and did not interfere even we asked his support but he was standing still doing nothing.
Finally we started to the airport then the taxi driver asked us if we are the one he drove us to the Opera last night we negatively replied, then he decided to go back to the hotel after he made some phone call to his company, we were very tensed as we have a flight to catch then after returning to the hotel we took another taxi.
It was a very bad experience and we would not ever try this hotel again or recommend to anyone even we will worn any one of our friends coming to Vienna.

Room Tip: No AC, Room Internet or Support
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E-Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Introduction

My last review of this hotel was for April 2012. I also stayed in it in July 2012 and was quite happy with it. However, my September 2013 visit has come up with problems which mean I have to revise downwards my opinion of the hotel.

Swimming Pool and Sauna

These were the main delights of the hotel – places to cool off/relax tired muscles after a long days walking and museum visiting or to exercise. They have now gone!

However, they both still appear on the BW website. Previous reviews have indicated that the cocktail lounge – also on the BW site – is also now non-functional.

Booking

I cancelled my original Best Western booking and rebooked to arrive one day later. Fortunately, I printed out the Best Western cancellation form and new booking as the only booking the hotel had was my initial one which they had cancelled as a “no show” when I did not show up on the original day.

Now I do not know whether this was the hotel’s fault or whether it was Best Western’s (although in very many years of using BW I have never had any problems before) but either way it could have left me without anywhere to stay for my 6 nights in Vienna and was not a good re-introduction to the city.

Breakfast

Previously breakfast was always included in the room rate. This made sense given the location of the hotel. However, this is no longer the case and this fact is not made clear on the Best Western website. Although, I was only charged a nominal extra amount rather than the €7.50 normal charge,

As well as having to be paid for, the breakfast is also of a worse standard. Last year there was a hot breakfast option of fried eggs, sausage and bacon – now only pre-made “omelette” (i.e. just eggs!). Also gone, are the olives and other “goodies” with the cold breakfast.

Fire Safety Standards

My wife pointed out to me the absence of an alternate escape route should the main staircase – which is also the emergency escape route - be on fire. She thinks that the hotel would fail to meet UK fire safety standards although I am sure that it complies fully with Austrian ones.

Improvements

Previously tea and coffee were available (free) in the lobby. There is now a kettle in the room – although the coffee was only replaced once in six days and milk never at all!! So, I’m not sure whether this is actually an improvement after all!!

Internet

Previous reviewers have commented on the lack of internet in the rooms. It was working during my stay – albeit very slowly at times.


“Boris Bikes”

There is a place where “Boris bikes” can be picked up quite close to the hotel under the railway arches at the end of the road. Not being a cyclist, I am unsure of how you go about hiring these but they are there if it is something you do.


Summary

Whilst it still represents good value for money I always find it sad when a previously excellent hotel has reduced its quality of service.

Room Tip: Back is slightly quieter
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOM99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Grand Ferdinand - Your Hotel In The City Center
Landstraße
Vienna Sporthotel
Vienna Sporthotel
#179 of 361 in Vienna
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#231 of 361 in Vienna
696 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reither? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reither

Address: Graumanngasse 16-18, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £37 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reither 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Reither offers genuine traditional Austrian hospitality. Family Heydari runs the hotel since may 2010.Constant improvements and renovations have made our house into what it is today - quality 4-star hotel with all modern comforts to meet the demands of a discerning city traveller.Our hotel is located between Karlsplatz and the Schönbrunn Palace. Just one step to the famous musical theatre "Raimundtheater".The historical old town of Vienna with the St. Stephan Cathedral, the Vienna Opera, the Spanish Riding School, the famous museums and the Palace of Schönbrunn are within 10 minutes (by underground).Our rooms are tastefully decorated and have been partially renovated in 2005.A majority of our rooms are non smoking rooms. Our guests have the choice between normal single rooms, double rooms, small suites or family apartments for 5 persons.All rooms are equipped with bathroom and separate toilet, minibar, SAT-TV, safe, desk, wireless LAN. On the walls of the room you will find pictures of a young artist, which gives each room a personal touch.You will feel right at home here. Take our word for it. Welcome at the Best Western Hotel Reither in Vienna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reither reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing