We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, not as good as other Best Westerns”
Review of Hotel Reither

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Reither
Ranked #316 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Very economic hotel, you will hardly find anything else for this price in Vienna. As it is a Best Western hotel, it does guarantee certain standards, but to be honest, I've stayed at other Best Westers which were far more better than this. Free Wi-Fi, although it takes some time to get online. Also, we were given an appartment instead of a double room at the same price.

On the other hand (and quite important), it seems this hotel has been deteriorating over the past few years. The two rooms in the appartment had been renovated, but the bathroom and the entrace hall were very outdated. Beds were rather average and they would creak at the slightest movement.

Furthermore, when we arrived at the hotel to check-in at the scheduled time (14:00), there was a long line of guests waiting. The lady at the front desk proved to be rather unefficient. She showed little patience communicating with some guests due to language barriers. When we finally got our appartment, it turned out it hadn't been cleaned up yet so we had to wait again (we weren't the only ones with an unclean room). It is also worth to mention that the hotel is not in the center of Vienna.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Monman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (173)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 173 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

The room was clean and beds comfortable. Food basic, but okay. Public transportation with 2 separate stations and lines pretty nearby (~5-7 minutes walk), and close enough to reach all attractions. Good value for money in any case.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andreas E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I really enjoyed the hotel: I was well atended, the room was very clean and the bed veeeery comfortable. You can go to the Schonbrunn Palace by foot, but you need to walk very much. Although, the hotel is very close to two subway stations, and that is everything you need to be able to visit Viena. I had a really good experience in the hotel restaurant: besides the fact that the menu was in German, the waiter had all the patience and kindness to translate everything to English for us. The words that he didn't know he even searched in google translator! . The food was delicious and the price was very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bárbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Yes, everything was just basic and staff was exactly friendly.

I found it inconvenience as at least 10 min walk to station and quite quiet during night. Not good to visitors at all.

Room size was small and nothing you would miss.

Room Tip: Better hotels elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MKC_PRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and was not inpressed at all. Very basic just 1 coffee and 1 tea bag per person on arrival , not even a biscuit. walkable to the train station but the view from our room was a parkade and extremely noisy , Next time i would rather pay a bit more and stay in a nicer looking hotel.Breakfast were very friendly

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and stay in a better hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

The Reither used to be our regular place to stay on frequent visits to Vienna. Checked out this morning - the last time!
I defended the place in my last comments about nine months ago, but I have to now agree with the majority of those who review the place. Since the current management has taken over from the previous one, the place has gone downhill at a very fast rate. The rates are reasonable, though wildly fluctuating, but the last straw was when my wife and I - regular visitors, who stayed there 14 nights in the past 12 months alone - were given a room on a late arrival last night which did not have a functioning toilet. Discovered this at a time when no service personnel were available. You do not expect too many frills in a hotel of this category, but you do expect to be able to flush the toilet.

It is outrageous that housekeeping does not check such a basic function after a guest has checked out.

On previous stays we complained about the fact that whichever room, or suite we stayed in the separate and windowless toilets never had a functioning ventilation system. Nothing ever gets done about this. Ergo, the place stinks.

The current owner(?)/manager gets surly and unpleasant when he is asked to move his large car from a spot where he blocks the access of his guests in the car park for which they pay a substantial extra sum.

Breakfast is no longer included in the price, but we mostly skip it anyway. In any case, it is overpriced.

Under the new regime, front desk staff is totally incompetent. I have lost count of the number of occasions when our bookings were messed up. Sometimes cancelled without us knowing why. Other occasions either lights, or telephone doesn't work. There is no air conditioning and in the midst of a heatwave in the summer, we had to get heavy before getting a clapped out old electric fan.

Swimming pool has gone "private", but we never used it anyway.

The list is endless, but you put up with some of it for the sake of economic rates.
TODAY WAS THE END OF OUR TOLERANCE!
Non-functioning toilet? They can keep the place in future. The receptionist's reaction was, "I only work here." Not much longer, I hope.

Bye, bye, Reither! It is managed in a bizarre manner, it is smelly and treats guests as if they were a byeproduct of the non-functioning toilet:
NEVER AGAIN!

Room Tip: Caveat emptor! Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PeteBp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Stayed in Best Western Hotel Reither, Vienna for the period from 15 Oct. till 19 Oct. 2013.
Pros.:
- Hotel location is 5-10 m walk from the nearest underground station (s), i.e. between two lines (Längenfeldgasse U4 & U6) and Margaretengürtel U4.
- The hotel is clean and the room space is acceptable.
Cons.:
- The hotel management is a total loss, the front office clerks, all of them except of one lady, were total waste of time, one was just joined from two days and the other did not know what to do.
- It is mentioned that they have internet connection in the room, this is not true it is extremely slow and always disconnect, you will have to go downstairs to the so called lobby to connect to the internet.
- The bathroom is very small with no window or ventilation, it smells horrible and humid.
- The room lighting is very poor, the furniture is outdated.
- No Air-condition, just heating, one old cheap fan is laying aside.
- The so called lobby is just two sofas few chairs and front disk (a small hut for computer).
- The last cherry of the cake, we asked the receptionist to ordered us a taxi to the airport and we were 5m before the due time, we have found one man waiting for us, we put the bags in the car but suddenly other diver came and told us that he is our taxi driver, he made a fight with the other taxi driver ended up grabbing the luggage and put it in his car.
The hotel receptionist was watching the fight and did not interfere even we asked his support but he was standing still doing nothing.
Finally we started to the airport then the taxi driver asked us if we are the one he drove us to the Opera last night we negatively replied, then he decided to go back to the hotel after he made some phone call to his company, we were very tensed as we have a flight to catch then after returning to the hotel we took another taxi.
It was a very bad experience and we would not ever try this hotel again or recommend to anyone even we will worn any one of our friends coming to Vienna.

Room Tip: No AC, Room Internet or Support
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E-Traveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#41 of 358 in Vienna
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Reither? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Reither

Address: Graumanngasse 16-18, Vienna 1150, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Hotel Reither)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £38 - £189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Reither 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best Western Hotel Reither offers genuine traditional Austrian hospitality. Family Heydari runs the hotel since may 2010.Constant improvements and renovations have made our house into what it is today - quality 4-star hotel with all modern comforts to meet the demands of a discerning city traveller.Our hotel is located between Karlsplatz and the Schönbrunn Palace. Just one step to the famous musical theatre "Raimundtheater".The historical old town of Vienna with the St. Stephan Cathedral, the Vienna Opera, the Spanish Riding School, the famous museums and the Palace of Schönbrunn are within 10 minutes (by underground).Our rooms are tastefully decorated and have been partially renovated in 2005.A majority of our rooms are non smoking rooms. Our guests have the choice between normal single rooms, double rooms, small suites or family apartments for 5 persons.All rooms are equipped with bathroom and separate toilet, minibar, SAT-TV, safe, desk, wireless LAN. On the walls of the room you will find pictures of a young artist, which gives each room a personal touch.You will feel right at home here. Take our word for it. Welcome at the Best Western Hotel Reither in Vienna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Reither reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing