We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hot, Hot, Hot” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Ranked #77 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hot, Hot, Hot”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2009

A few years ago I started staying in chain hotels in Europe. I had bad experiences with locally owned hotels that turned the air conditioning off from the office, and adjusted the temperature from the office, and kept the room too warm to be comfortable. Therefore a few years ago I started staying in chain hotels, and have not had a problem with hot rooms again, until here.

The first day I went to the office and told them, my a/c was not turned on, and the desk clerk said he would turn it on. Later it was still hot, and I asked him again, and he said he forgot but would do so. That night it was hot andI came down and talked to the night clerk, and he came up to the room, and said the reason it was so hot was that the heat from the day was trapped in the room, and if I would open the windows for awhile, and then close them, it would cool down. We did that, and it stayed hot all night.

The next night I came down again, and the desk clerk came up and checked, and then brought a fan up. The fan simply blew hot air around, and did no good, and we had to open the windows to be bearable.

The next night it was hot again, but too hot outside to open the windows, and the last night it was the hottest of all.

Incidentally, the breakfast room was even warmer than the bedroom. I noticed that in the lobby they sometimes left the doors open to try to get some air in from the outside.

Other than that, the hotel was very nice, was conveniently located, and the staff was very friendly and helpful. It was simply too hot to be comfortable. The guests we saw were practically all Europeans, and Europeans seem to be more aclimated than we are to hot hotels.

I would recommend this hotel in the Winter, early Spring or late Fall, when the weather is cool, but would not recommend it in the Summer, late Spring or early Fall, because it is simply too warm to be comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank traveljoy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    119
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
58
208
12
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newport
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2009

What a hidden GEM this hotel is the most wonderful I have EVER stayed at . My husband and I arrive here and were taken care of from the get go. I honestly can not say enough great complements. Just Wowed us over and over . Great location, Great customer service, Beautiful rooms , Super breakfast !!A big hello to Sabrina, you work very hard. As did everyone we met and not . The person who cleaned our room and did the turn down service in the evening . We never saw you , but you did a great job. The desk and attendance folks could not of been more helpful.I could go on and on . My suggestion is to go and enjoy for yourselves. The Best Place we found in life. Thank You

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shesnipe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

Loved this hotel! It is located on a small quiet street and is within walking distance to so much in the city. The room was spacious with lots of windows that opened. The breakfast that was included was terrific. The staff was very helpful to answer our questions. Some items (carpet, bedding) may be a bit dated in the rooms but the overall charm of the property makes you overlook this. Would certainly stay here again!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rangeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed at the Romischer Kaiser in October. The room was clean and comfy, and we could open the windows and look down on the pedestrian-only street below. We had a large designer bathroom with beautiful tiles and gold fixtures -- we loved it. The hotel provided robes and slippers, and a very nice breakfast buffet. Staff was first rate. The location is right in the middle of the city, within walking distance to all the city sights. When I go to Vienna again, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coffeedoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darnestown md
Level Contributor
108 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights and loved it. The room was very clean and classy with nice furniture and a chandelier. Bathroom was small but adequate. Both room and bathroom were very clean. Location was great, within walking distance of St. Stephens cathedral and other sights.
Front desk staff was amazing ,especially Manuela. We had some trouble with our rental car return. Manuela took care of everything.She kept our car keys at the front desk and made sure the car was picked up the same day. We were able to go sightseeing instead of having to wait around for the car to be collected. When we returned, Manuela assured us that everything had been taken care of. She really went out of her way to help us and acted like it was just a routine request.
We would definitely stay here again and really recommend it to others visiting Vienna!

  • Liked — room, location, staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goblingoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2008

The hotel is just off the main pedestrianised street leading to the cathedral and despite its excellent situation for seeing the sites of the City it is really quiet.

The outside and inside of the hotel have been perfectly restored with excellent Baroque features.

Our little cosy room was right at the top of the hotel and was really comfortable. Unfortunately the lift is somewhat slow which meant waitng a bit to go up or down but maybe I should be more patient.

The service throughout was excellent and all members of staff took a real pride in meeting all our requests. (The card entry system on the room door failed because its battery ran out (I've never experienced that before!) but within five minutes everything was put right).

Good breakfasts too.

(I did not quite know what to make of the plaque in the lobby saying that it was the Best Western Hotel in Central Europe with the highest revenue return on its rooms!). Don't be put off by this comment because our stay at the Romischer Kaiser was excellent value.

  • Liked — The trouble the management and staff took to satify all requests, and the location
  • Disliked — the smell of cooking floating into the bedroom at 7 in the morning
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 73david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2008

Just stayed here in mid Setpember, 2008. The location was great. The room was fine. However the service from the staff at the front desk was abolutely super. They were friendly and helpful. They recommended great restaurants. They were extremely helpful. Their service was 5 star! The morning breakfast was wonderful. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — no coffee maker in the room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dajkf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Pension Suzanne
Pension Suzanne
#59 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#71 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Europa Wien
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Astoria Wien
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#15 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser

Property: Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser
Address: Annagasse 16, Vienna 1010, Austria (Formerly BEST WESTERN Premier Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#42 Family Hotel in Vienna
#57 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#117 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Schlosshotel Roemischer Kaiser reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing