We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A passion for hospitality”
Review of Hotel Jager

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Jager
Ranked #188 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Dear Hotel Jäger Team,
I stayed with you last year for a whole month, due to a problem with my own apartment here in Vienna. (Sorry that it's taken me a long time to write this review -- it's because I am still 'on the road' ;-) During that time, I saw lots and lots and lots of satisfied regular guests 'coming back for more', I saw excellent breakfasts served with a smile, I saw that nothing was too much trouble for your guests, and I saw the really hard work that goes into making your welcome *look* so effortless.
Thank you for your passion for hospitality. Wishing you many more happy guests.
All the best, FB

Room Tip: There are quite a few different styles of room in this hotel. I stayed mostly in room 206, and I lik...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viennetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Jager
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 4 April 2013

A small family hotel, about ten minutes tram time from the centre of Vienna, it has been newly refurbished, but the wonderful, personal service is still the same. And the breakfast is great... good range of food. I like the coffee too... real European style. We have just returned here and found the hotel as good as we remembered it.
We like the location, near to public transport which runs about every 10 minutes, near to some very good restaurants... Appolos just 200 metres down the road for very good Greek food, and a very good Viennese restaurant about 500 metres away called Ottakringer Landhaus.
All in all, great hotel, very good staff, and a good location... a great combination towards a good holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We booked this hotel in last minute, since we decided to spend one weekend in Vienna with kids and our small dog. I was not even checking location when making a booking.
I was positively surprised when I came, since hotel was central, and only 10-15 min tram ride to Vienna Christmas market. Tram stop is directly in front of hotel.
Rooms are large, very clean and comfortable. Our room had connected separate room for children (on booking.com I didn't realized that rooms are separated, it looked as one big room).

Hotel staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, we felt like VIP guests. Breakfast is rich, room for breakfast small and cozy. We even got a goodbye gift :)

We will come back for sure and will recommend to all.

Room Tip: Family room is very good and large
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara_DZ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2011

I stayed in this hotel with my husband and my small dog for 2 nights. It was just a small break for us and I really wanted something cosy and comfortable. I'm a frequent business traveller and I'm a bit tired of staying in big (international chains) hotels without any personality. When I travel on leisure to cities like Vienna I'm always looking for a small family-run hotel where I can enjoy the spirit of a city and Hotel Jager is exactly what I was looking for! When I was booking this hotel I thought that it's located in villas' district because it looks like a Villa in a secluded place but imagine my surprise when I found myself in one of big streets with pretty heavy traffic. I was a bit disappointed but when I passed through the hotel gate everything changed - no noise from the street, well-cut lawn, flowers and a basket of apple on the stairs. The hotel staff was really helpful and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean and reasonable-sized. Although the hotel is a bit on the outskirts of Vienna but there is a S-Bahn just right on the corner and one can easily get to the city centre.
All in all, it was a nice and pleasant stay and I'd recommend this hotel to people who enjoy family and old-style atmosphere.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElenaNet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2011

a very nice hotel, the staff was friendly and helpful with a good breakfast option. Only drawback is that its is slightly outside the city center but Vienna transportation is superior and reasonable to budget. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockinamadeus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2008

Twenty years after staying in Hotel Jäger we had the occasion to visit Vienna again, staying there instead of with friends and relatives. Some things were familiar - its location next to busy Hernalser Hauptstr. and the close to public transportation. But virtually everything has changed at the hotel (which was admittedly a cheap, tight flop with IKEA furniture back then). From the entrance to the attentive staff to the well-appointed rooms, the spotless bathroom, right down to a large breakfast selection and the candy on the plumped pillow - it all signified that Hotel Jäger would become our favorite Vienna residence in the future. The concierge and reservation desk staff was attentive, assisted with reservations and information (all in English to my companions' delight) and our stay was as pleasant as one would wish with the relatives. We took our breakfasts in the pretty frontage garden, oblivious to traffic noise, and when we checked out, the front desk conveniently held our luggage until our friend could pick it up, while we took another day to see the sights. The prices have gone up considerably since 1986, but what do you want a boutique hotel in expensive Vienna to do? Buy more IKEA furniture and call it upscale?

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Matrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
58
Reviewed 10 September 2005

I´dlike this hotel. The staff is very friednly and help on all questions we have. The breakfast is good and the rooms are clan and modern. The hotel is in the outside of Vienna but good communicated.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wahring
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#195 of 361 in Vienna
138 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#98 of 361 in Vienna
405 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#120 of 361 in Vienna
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel-Pension Continental
Hotel-Pension Continental
#145 of 361 in Vienna
389 reviews
Kaisermühlen
Strandhotel Alte Donau
Strandhotel Alte Donau
#164 of 361 in Vienna
121 reviews
Inner City
Pertschy Palais Hotel
Pertschy Palais Hotel
#166 of 361 in Vienna
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jager

Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 187 | 1170 Vienna, Vienna 1170, Austria (Formerly Best Westertn)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Vienna
#106 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#135 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £92 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jager 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, an Art Nouveau Villa with a glorious garden, has just 15 distinct and lovingly decorated rooms and 2 suites - a gem of a hotel. The hotel is owned by the Jager family since 1911 and now run by Dr. Andrea Steinleitner and her family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing