We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful place and beautiful people”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Jager

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Jager
Ranked #187 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
226 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Beautiful place and beautiful people”
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

This family run hotel is an absolute delight. Every member of staff was so warm and friendly and the rooms were very comfortable. The breakfast is excellent with a great selection of cold items and freshly prepared eggs and meat if desired. I can't wait to revisit in the future.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flobo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    33
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
31
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We were there after reading many excellent reviews on trip advisor and elsewhere, and we are happy to report that they live up to their reputation :)
Everything was very very good, the staff and the owners who work together hard (but smiling) to please you every minute of your stay, the charm of both the hotel and the lovely garden upfront (both being decorated tastefully), the family atmosphere (Lina, the family dog has a contribution to that ;), the quietness, the room and the bathroom, the breakfast, the neighborhood, the location and the connection to the Ring by tram 43 (that runs every 4-6 minutes; the ride to the Ring – and back - is 10-20 minutes, depending on the time of the day and of the traffic), the supermarkets within 5 minutes walk up to the Hernals blvd. (Spar Gourmet and Billa) etc. Overall, one has the feeling of a little cozy family hotel. Also the guests who choose to stay there are very nice, quiet, and polite ;) We would definitely stay there again.
The photos posted on their website and on other booking sites are accurate. The rooms are newly restored and clean, bright, they don't smell etc. The furniture is also nice, new, and clean. The room we were accommodated in was one at the second floor facing the back street (207) – we asked explicitly for a quiet room, as we are trouble sleepers, and it was indeed very quiet. The minibar in the room worked properly and it's been very useful; the same is true for the safe and for the AC. In the room only cable internet was available, as WiFi worked only in the lobby, the dinning space, and in the garden, close to the building. The breakfast had a diverse offer and good quality, a special note for the homemade cookies.
People who are full figured should be aware that the door of the shower cabin in our room was less than 50 cm wide. Traveling with a lot of luggage could be also a problem in a room like ours. However, they provide larger rooms and apartments, so everybody could find the one that fits best their needs.
Car parking is easy (it’s better to reserve it in advance), either on the streets around the hotel (public parking, 4.10EUR per day, Saturday and Sunday free) or in a private garage (10 EUR per day).

Room Tip: the upper floors rooms facing the back street are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Monica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our time in Vienna (after our time in rental apartment). It was just wonderful. The garden is a real plus--we sat outside both evenings. The room was a good size, with great closet space, and everything was very clean and comfortable. The family is also lovely and the service very attentive. The breakfast spread was impressive and included homemade jams and cakes! I would highly recommend this place. Don't let its location outside the city center fool you: Vienna has excellent public transportation, a tram stop is right in front of the hotel, and the neighborhood is very walkable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed two nights at this exquisite property. Family run for 102 years. Great location next to the public transport to the city center. Christina 5th generation daughter makes delicious deserts that are to die for. And a delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Dear Hotel Jäger Team,
I stayed with you last year for a whole month, due to a problem with my own apartment here in Vienna. (Sorry that it's taken me a long time to write this review -- it's because I am still 'on the road' ;-) During that time, I saw lots and lots and lots of satisfied regular guests 'coming back for more', I saw excellent breakfasts served with a smile, I saw that nothing was too much trouble for your guests, and I saw the really hard work that goes into making your welcome *look* so effortless.
Thank you for your passion for hospitality. Wishing you many more happy guests.
All the best, FB

Room Tip: There are quite a few different styles of room in this hotel. I stayed mostly in room 206, and I lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Viennetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Freising, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2013

A small family hotel, about ten minutes tram time from the centre of Vienna, it has been newly refurbished, but the wonderful, personal service is still the same. And the breakfast is great... good range of food. I like the coffee too... real European style. We have just returned here and found the hotel as good as we remembered it.
We like the location, near to public transport which runs about every 10 minutes, near to some very good restaurants... Appolos just 200 metres down the road for very good Greek food, and a very good Viennese restaurant about 500 metres away called Ottakringer Landhaus.
All in all, great hotel, very good staff, and a good location... a great combination towards a good holiday.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kastela, Croatia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We booked this hotel in last minute, since we decided to spend one weekend in Vienna with kids and our small dog. I was not even checking location when making a booking.
I was positively surprised when I came, since hotel was central, and only 10-15 min tram ride to Vienna Christmas market. Tram stop is directly in front of hotel.
Rooms are large, very clean and comfortable. Our room had connected separate room for children (on booking.com I didn't realized that rooms are separated, it looked as one big room).

Hotel staff was extremely friendly and welcoming, we felt like VIP guests. Breakfast is rich, room for breakfast small and cozy. We even got a goodbye gift :)

We will come back for sure and will recommend to all.

Room Tip: Family room is very good and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sara_DZ17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
Hotel Kugel
Hotel Kugel
#95 of 362 in Vienna
378 reviews
Wahring
Hotel Park Villa
Hotel Park Villa
#201 of 362 in Vienna
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#102 of 362 in Vienna
752 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
#121 of 362 in Vienna
330 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#119 of 362 in Vienna
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Jager? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Jager

Property: Hotel Jager
Address: Hernalser Hauptstrasse 187 | 1170 Vienna, Vienna 1170, Austria (Formerly Best Westertn)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Ottakring
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#104 Family Hotel in Vienna
#106 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#132 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Jager 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, an Art Nouveau Villa with a glorious garden, has just 15 distinct and lovingly decorated rooms and 2 suites - a gem of a hotel. The hotel is owned by the Jager family since 1911 and now run by Dr. Andrea Steinleitner and her family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Jager reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing