We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much better than a Best Western, but not four stars”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Ranked #12 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
226 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Much better than a Best Western, but not four stars”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed here while in Vienna on business (with a little bit of free-time, too). This is only the third Best Western that I have stayed at during the 10 or so years that I have been traveling both for work and pleasure. The hotel is without a doubt better than just about any Best Western, at least when compared with the two-star, motel-style Best Westerns back in the United States.

In all honesty, the Best Western name probably does more harm to this hotel than good. Think boutique hotel, not a crummy, old Best Western.

While the hotel brands itself four stars, I would say this is a bit generous. Think more three or three and a half stars.

The location is a little removed from the business district of Vienna as well as the more touristy parts of the Austrian capital. It is about a 20-minute walk, at a semi-brisk pace, to the major tourist attractions. The closest subway station is about 5 minutes away, again at a brisk pace, so probably more like 10 minutes for the normal person. Even that isn’t terribly far, unless you are arriving from the airport with luggage. Otherwise, the hotel's location is fine, especially if you don't mind the distance and enjoy the exercise.

I happened to like its location because the surrounding neighborhood is quiet and residential. There are many little shops, including some upscale stores, independent bookstores and other boutiques. In short, it's a world removed from the hustle of Vienna's major tourist areas.

Service was better than a typical Best Western. The breakfast was actually one of the best in terms of hotels. I would easily pay $15 for it. While it is a self-serve buffet, there are two or three waitresses on duty to serve coffee and espresso. All of the breakfast offerings seemed to be local, organic and high-quality. It can, however, get busy in the restaurant, especially if you want the much-desired outside seating, so it is best to take your breakfast early. My only complaint was the wait for coffee and espresso could be quite long, as the waitresses are more attendants than servers.

For everything else, skip the hotel's restaurant. I made the mistake of having dinner with a business colleague here one night, as it was included in my rate. The food was not bad, but the menu was very, very limited. The restaurant had absolutely no atmosphere and, at least for the hour that we dined, no other patrons. The one waiter was very young and poorly trained. He was running all about, too, as he was also the bartender in the drawing rooms, where a nightly reception with cake, tea, wine and bread is served. It is really too bad the dinner service is so horrendous – we had to seat ourselves! -- because the hotel has a nice dining room. I really dislike having to travel out of the hotel after a long day of work or sightseeing.

The room itself was very clean and nicely decorated. The whole hotel is a good blend of contemporary and classic. Again, it is not what you would expect from a Best Western. I did not, however, care for the bed. Instead of a proper double, queen or king bed, I had two twin-sized mattresses put together side-by-side. This struck me as very cheap not to mention it was a bit uncomfortable because the two mattresses would separate from each other in the evening and I actually fell down into the void. The toiletries were of a nice quality, but body lotion was never provided and I did not care for the communal shampoo dispenser in the shower. Speaking of the shower, it is actually a bathtub with a convertible shower on a long attachment. (I am not a plumber, so I do not know the technical name for this.) It actually took me about five minutes to figure out how to use this, as I have never seen one before. I guess it must be a European thing.

The wireless internet was complimentary, but you needed a code from the front desk. This was bothersome, as I had more than one device. It did not work well with both devices connected at the same time. As for the television, I have no complaints. Not only was the TV itself of top-quality, but the selection of channels was more than enough.

In terms of staff, everyone I encountered was very nice but the hotel seemed short on staff. I had an in-room issue and instead of a bellman, the front desk sent the chef up to fix the issue. That was a first for me! There was always a wait at the front desk, as I never saw more than one front desk clerk on duty. Despite claiming to be a four-star hotel, there was no bellman or concierge. This meant no luggage assistance and no expert advice on where to go and where to see. While the front desk staff -- particularly Walter -- were helpful, they should not be doing added duties.

Overall, this was a good hotel but not a four-star hotel. If you go into it expecting three stars then you are getting an exceptional value. If you expect four stars, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank planetraincar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    126
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
118
242
19
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

I travel for 5 to 6 months out of the year, and stay in Hotels around the world. The Hotel and their staff are very helpful, friendly and will help you in any way they can. Breakfast if nice with many selections, and you are met with a smile and a cup of coffee or tea. Thank you to the staff for making my stay pleasant and very comfortable. Gary Briggs

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garylbriggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia S, Verkaufsleiter at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Mr. Briggs, thanks a lot for your great feedback. We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward welcoming you soon again in the Harmonie Vienna. We recommenda a good glass of organic, regional wine on our sunny and quiet terrace. Lydia S. (Sales Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This is a wonderful hotel, rooms are very tastefully designed, the street is quiet, the staff absolutely superb. I stayed with my little baby and the staff made us feel at home. They were extremely courteous and helpful. No wish remained unanswered. Will always want to return here.

Room Tip: My room went out to the street, a cup-de-sac. It was quiet and light, really enjoyed it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimicri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid
Level Contributor
172 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Very modern and new rooms with everything you need, spacious, clean, comfortable, with electric roller shutters (I appreciate sleeping in a dark room), kettle to prepare some tea or coffee and a nice design. The reception staff was very friendly and always helpful with our requests. You can have breakfast outside if you wish. It is in a small pretty street, not right in the city center but still convenient and not far (walking distance 20 minutes).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LilliMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia S, Verkaufsleiter at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear LilliMadrid, thanks a lot for your great feedback. We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay in the Harmonie Vienna. Our outside terrace is very popular for breakfast in the morning or for a good glass of organic regional wine whilst enjoying the warm evening sun. We are looking forward welcoming you soon again. Lydia S. (sales manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed for four nights. The hotel was very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The room was of an excellent standard with free Wifi and a very nice bathroom. The breakfasts were excellent with a super choice.
The hotel is in a quite road with no through traffic making it an ideal place to relax and unwind after a day in the centre of Vienna or surrounding areas.
I have to disagree with Alex1326! We bought a 72 hour Vienna card from the front desk which meant we could use the buses, trams and underground. The hotel is close the the bus stop and a few metres further is the tram which will take you to Schottentor for the u-Bahn or into the centre of Vienna. As you would expect the transport system is very efficient and the local tram runs every 5 minutes so need of taxis.
We would recommend this hotel as an ideal place to stay. Thank you hotel Harmoine.

Room Tip: We had room 213 and was excellent. Very quite and good size beds. Also the rooms have air conditioni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia S, Verkaufsleiter at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear MichaelB. Thanks a lot for your great feedback. We appreciate your thanks. Hope to welcome you soon again in Vienna. Lydia S. (sales manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Absolutely Beautiful place renovated
Clean
Pretty rooms and bathroom
Free wifi internet
Good breakfast and tea time
Wonderful staff
Safe in room


Negative- In a small street, Near 1 bus stop but far from the U train so sort of hard to get places walking or by train. Almost have to get taxi a lot. It's only 10-15 min from city center but still the hotel is not located in the city center so a little negative point for the inconvenience.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alex1326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is in a good location a short walk from the University and Schottentor tram/u-bahn stop. The area is quiet and only a short distance from restaurants, cafes and the city centre. The front-desk staff are friendly and helpful. The breakfast has a good selection of options. Rooms are modern, clean and a good size.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank svalbard_view
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydia S, Verkaufsleiter at BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Dear Mr. svalbard_view,

thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at our property. We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us.
We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Kind regards,
Lydia S. (Sales Manager) BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,040 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna

Property: BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Address: Harmoniegasse 5-7, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Serviten Quarter , Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#12 Family Hotel in Vienna
#12 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#16 Green Hotel in Vienna
#20 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the beginning of 2013, the Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna was completely renovated and has thereby retaining only its leafy facade. The two houses in Harmoniegasse 5 and 7 were in 1863, so 150 years ago, built by the renowned Viennese architect Otto Wagner.The hotel is located outside the tourist trails in the beautiful “Serviten”quarter, but still in the center of Vienna. The “Serviten”quarter is the heart of the 9th district of Vienna, and an unforgettable and authentic Viennese area, with small, trendy restaurants, bars and boutiques.The hotel has a lounge, which is the heart of the hotel. Business travelers or guests who want to stay informed while on holiday will find a range of international newspapers and magazines in the library area of the Harmonie lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harmonie
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing