We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Beethoven Wien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Ranked #17 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
122 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Great location, very close to Naschmarkt where food options abound and tucked in a small and quiet street. Efficient and professional service from front desk to breakfast service. Spacious, clean and comfortable rooms with large bathrooms. Very good breakfast. There is really nothing to complain about the Beethoven Hotel. However, you cannot help thinking that in a property with character like the Beethoven's it was possible to do something better than a Best Western. Although it seems that the hotel is no longer part of the chain all Best Western features remain: cheap furniture that seem to come straight from a US motel, light beige and pink colors everywhere, terrible carpets. Just looking at the stairwell you can imagine what the Beethoven could have been: a nice boutique hotel. However, because of its efficient service, excellent location and comfort it certainly is a good option in Vienna.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean Francois V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    889
    327
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
192
731
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Davids
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2012

I stayed 3 nights at the hotel, I only needed a single room, I was on them 4 th floor, it was small, very clean and had everything I neded. Breakfast was very good and a great coffee machine. The staff were all very helpful and pleasant. The location could not be faulted, it was 100 metres from the huge Vienna market, Naschmarkt. That's over a kilometre of bars, restaurants and food stalls. I ate ever day at the market, and ate cheaply for Vienna. The hotel is just 5 mins from Karlsplatz U bahn, one of the biggest stations in Vienna, from their it was easy to go anywhere in the City.
Another 5 mins walk to the Opera, from most attractions start. 3 days in Vienna is not long enough, so my next visit will i will be staying at the Beethoven hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GordonHStDavids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Livingston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Very nice hotel tucked away on a side street close to the popular eating area in Vienna. The room was very attractive with baroque style furniture but the striped wallpaper was tricky on the eyes. Breakfast was ok, not a great deal of choice but all in all it was fine for value compared with many other Vienna hotels

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoops67Livingston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2012

Ok so its my last night of 4 at hotel beethoven and I need to write about it! its an amazing hotel, the service is 7 x a billion stars! they are attentive, sweet, efficient and calm.
location- perfect literally 5 min walk to state opera house which is where many tours commence.. nb. the hop on hop off tour is there. karlsplatz is the u bahn station which has 2 frequently used lines and a stop away from stephansplatz which has the other most frequently used line. the only thing about the location is that its tucked away in a side street and kind of scary my first night but got used to it! also NASCHMARKT is literally across 2 streets! couldnt ask for more.

-service excellent! cant say much more from the cleaning crew to breakfast team to reception A+++

-Breakfast buffet- first off the coffeemaker/cappucino/latte/amazing invention coffee machine in the breakfast room gave me better coffee than one of the famous koffeehaus's here (cafe central- dont get me wrong you must experience cafe central!) BUT i kid you not the coffee in the breakfast room exceeded it. as for the food it was delicious.. delicious croissants (tastes like ones i would get in the AM in paris from the local boulangerie).. delicious sausage and cheese and bread oh my!

room- was perfect for a solo traveller comfy bed enoughliving space and a tub :) for bubble baths to calm my wrecked body from walking all over

-all in all hotel beethoven made my stay in vienna so much better! i always felt safe and at home coming through the doors :) danke hotel beethoven!!

Room Tip: they have apples you can grab on the go in the reception area grab em theyre delicious! also 24 hrs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank numero u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed in Hotel Beethoven last week (the end of Summer). The first thing I have to say was that the staff were really great: always courteous and knowledgeable about the city.

Breakfast was good too: bread, spreads for the bread, cold cuts, cheese, sausages, scrambled egg, boiled eggs, and yogurt. The highlight for me was the yogurt, I think the staff have a few different combinations they make.

Our room was great, we had a lot of sun come in and it was a good time of the year, not too hot. The ceilings are very high and it feels spacious in the rooms. Also the rooms are very clean.

The location is close to the Naschmarket, Karlsplatz, Museumsquartier, and Mariahilfer Straße.
Naschmarket is a combination of permanent shops and a flea market that is held on Saturday. We checked out the flea market and it was amazing. We didn't buy anything but it was a good experience.
Karlsplatz is close to the Opera House and has a subway as well as tram service (in front of the opera house). You can also keep walking to get to Stephansplatz.
Museumsquartier is a collection of museums, though we didn't go into any. Next door is Kunsthistorisches Museum which we did see, and was fantastic.
Mariahilfer Straße is a big shopping street. There are all kinds of shops and restaurants there.

Getting there, we got off at the Museumsquartier station and walked with our suitcases. It took about 10 minutes and wasn't a problem.

One thing to keep in mind is that most shops close early in Vienna. Billa and Spar (supermarkets) close at 7:30pm and 8:00pm respectively on weekdays. Also a lot of shops are closed on Sunday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

This is the second time I’ve stayed at Hotel Beethoven and have been very pleased both times. The hotel is located less than a 10 minutes walk from either of 2 subway stations: 1)Karlplatz (very central and near the downtown/main sites) or 2)Museum Quarter (near most of the modern art museums, as well as a main shopping street.

It is very clean with an elegant feel to it in the lobby, lounge area with chandeliers, a piano and of course a portrait of the composer. The room I stayed in both times "classic", the latest in July for 3 nights, had nearly ceiling to floor windows, lots of natural lights, while also being very quiet as it's on a side street with no exit, so there's no through traffic. It does have an underground parking next door, but I can't comment on it as we arrived by train.
The buffet breakfast room was elegant and had a good choice of items (both cold and hot), and included in the price of the room which was very reasonable for the location being within a 20 minute walk to the Imperial Palace, gardens and main shopping streets.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank globetroter111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
Josefstadt
Hotel Rathaus Wein & Design
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beethoven Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beethoven Wien

Property: Hotel Beethoven Wien
Address: Papagenogasse 6, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vienna
#16 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beethoven Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Beethoven – Lovers of Vienna welcome The 4-star Hotel Beethoven lies ensconced in culture and cuisine on the “bohemian“ Naschmarkt, opposite the Papagenotor at Theater an der Wien, just a few minutes’ walk from the Opera, the Musikverein, the Museumsquartier, the most traditional Viennese coffeehouses and shopping streets. 4-star hotel situated on Vienna’s NaschmarktThe location of the 4-star Hotel Garni on the Naschmarkt lets lovers of Vienna dive right into the typical Viennese lifestyle. The market, with its dozens of little stalls and selection of fresh fruit, vegetables and specialities, is a colourful and lively snapshot of Vienna, which is even more varied on Saturdays, with the farmer’s and flea market. In addition to the restaurants and cafés around the Naschmarkt, a trendy restaurant and bar scene has developed in the market area. Coupled to cultureThe culturally committed Ludwig family, which owns the hotel, sponsors numerous Viennese cultural institutions, such as the Albertina, the Mumok and the Musikverein and inspires lovers of Vienna to special cultural delights: invitations to previews, exhibition openings, museum visits and preferential ticket orders at the Musikverein. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Beethoven Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beethoven
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing