We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Ranked #16 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for a week . The room was lovely and comfortable and the cleaning just perfect every day.
In the morning we were offered a great choise of delicious food and drink and the buffet was constantly filled up with fresh food. Everything was excellent inclusive the very friendly staff.
On Sunday we were invited by the hotel to a lovely concert by two outstanding musicians (Grand piano and violoncel/Cello). In the pause we were offered a lovely glas of champagne. We really appreciated this event..
In the same way we were thankful for the bottle of champagne from the hotel on the day we were celebrating our Gold wedding
Next time we are going to Vienna we will definitely book at this lovely hotel which has a nice and easy location to the U-bahn and beautiful Vienna .
Enjoy
Best wishes
Lis and Bjoern

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjoern E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guests ,

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Vienna and also at the Beethoven. You must be a Lover of Music as you also liked very much our Little sunday concert - I am very happy that you were able to enjoy that too! Thank you for your good Review!

Hope to see you again one day! Have a wonderful summer and all the best from Vienna
Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    891
    327
    55
    10
    6
See reviews for
194
731
77
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We spent four days at the Beethoven as part of a longer European tour. By our reckoning, It scored highly on almost every count. It was comfortable, well located and the staff were polite, friendly and incredibly helpful when we needed help with matters such as finding a doctor and arranging train reservations. Our corner room on the fourth floor was charming and spacious, the bed comfortable and the bathroom plenty big with a bath as well as a shower. And thanks to double glazing, and overlooking a quiet street, it was quiet - a quality we value. Breakfast was also very good. The one negative was some noisy, poorly disciplined children rampaging through the breakfast room and jumping around above our room in the early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Pay more for a better room and ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest!

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! Thank you very much for your good Review!
It would be a pleasure to welcome you as a guest again,
in the meantime I send my warmest regards from Vienna,

Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chose the Beethoven Hotel from Trip Advisor - perfect location, a short walk from everywhere interesting, wonderful and extensive breakfast, air-conditioned rooms. Every Sunday at 6pm there is a classical concert on the Mezzanine – stunning performances from top players, ours was a cello + piano. You are 50 metres from a huge range of market stalls and restaurants – with great fish and Austrian dishes. Good value for money.

Room Tip: All the rooms a quiet - pay the small extra for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tekels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest,

I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us! And I am also very happy that you especially liked our Sunday concert which I am very proud of! Thank you very much for your good Review and I hope to see you again one day,
all the best
Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
180 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our second stay at the Hotel Beethoven Vienna so that in itself says that we like the hotel and the services it offers. The location is excellent. The Secession Building is just around the corner, the Naschmarkt (open air restaurants) is 300m away and the Museum Quarter is within walking distance up the hill. Staff are helpful and the breakfast staff cheerful and efficient. The breakfast is very good. Our large room was adequate and the bed comfortable, but the heavy 19C style furniture (sofa, coffee table, wardrobe) took up extra room and left very little floor space.

Having stayed in newer, boutique hotels recently in eastern and central Europe we found the Beethoven to be lacking in some areas. Specifically, the upper floors of the hotel seem a bit tired. The carpets in the stairways are worn and were not being regularly cleaned. Our room (deluxe double) was in need of touch up painting (chipped paintwork on the doorway corners) and some of the heavy, “dated” furniture was looking similarly worn (chipped paint on the coffee table legs, for instance). The radiator in the bathroom could not be turned off so we had to keep the door closed all day to prevent the room from over-heating. Finally, for some reason the wi-fi was so slow as to be almost useless. We remember slow wi-fi from our previous visit but this time it was worse. We write a travel blog and nightly upload a few photos and text. Not having a good internet connection in the room is a major drawback. Nevertheless, the pros out way the cons for the Hotel Beethoven and when we next visit Vienna we will stay there again (but we will check first on the wifi speeds!).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guest!

thank you very much for your review! We just finished our renovation with 11 brandnew boutique rooms on the 5th and 6th floor, next time you visit us please ask for those. We do have in plan of course to renovate all the rooms! We will do that constantly....

Concerning the wifi - we should have a quite strong wifi - according to most of our guests - I will have that doublechecked however!
Have a wonderful summer and I would be pleased to welcome you again, all the best
Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Hotel Beethoven is a quite, comfortable and brilliantly located. Very close to the market and the metro station, the Opera House is about 6-8 minutes way away. Very friendly staff, the hostel makes up for a very ethnic look, playing a beautiful composition by Beethoven all the time.

They offer a wide array of breakfast buffet. their beds are super comfortable and is sure to give you a good night sleep. They have very clean bathrooms, with good shower fittings. Its absolutely worth the price for the location. They offer a free classical concert on Sundays.

My sister and I had a very comfortable stay and loved the quietness in the hotel. Surely recommended for a great location and amazing breakfast!

Stayed with Family. March 2014

Room Tip: Ensure you have room with a good location before you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ishani D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear guests!

We are happy that you had a great stay and thank you very much for the good review! Also happy that you liked our location the breakfast and the concert
If you happen to come to Vienna again we would be pleased to host you again,
in the meantime all the best
Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel Beethoven is indeed a great place to stay during your Vienna visit. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very very clean!! Room was not big , ok, but at the end of the day this is not a very important requirement. Breakfast was one of the best I ever had in a hotel. Very good choice - English, Continental ... whatever you wish for it's there. A very central place ... within walking distance from the city centre and a stone's throw away from the Karlsplatz metro station, from where you can go to almost anywhere in Vienna. Literally opposite the Naschmarkt ... an interesting place to visit and have something to eat. Definitely would recommend this hotel ... great value for money.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you so much for your good review! Indeed we are lucky to be in one of the best Locations to be at the Moment in Vienna! And as we are in the culinary heart of Vienna it is even more important to serve a good breakfast! I am glad that you liked our choises!

Kind regards from Vienna
Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Hotel Beethoven is in a great location very near the Nacht market - convenient for eating out and also for city centre.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. We were treated to a free classical concert in the hotel by two young musicians.
Very good breakfast. Eat in the courtyard if the weather is good.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnHog23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barbara L, Inhaber at Hotel Beethoven Wien, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

I am glad that you liked your stay and especially our concert! My Family is very dedicated to music and it is my mother´s piano and therfore I especially am happy that our concert is such a success!
Kind regards from Vienna,
Barbara Ludwig & Team
Hotel Beethoven Wien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Beethoven Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Beethoven Wien

Property: Hotel Beethoven Wien
Address: Papagenogasse 6, Vienna 1060, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Mariahilf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Vienna
#15 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#18 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#23 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Beethoven Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Beethoven – Lovers of Vienna welcome The 4-star Hotel Beethoven lies ensconced in culture and cuisine on the “bohemian“ Naschmarkt, opposite the Papagenotor at Theater an der Wien, just a few minutes’ walk from the Opera, the Musikverein, the Museumsquartier, the most traditional Viennese coffeehouses and shopping streets. 4-star hotel situated on Vienna’s NaschmarktThe location of the 4-star Hotel Garni on the Naschmarkt lets lovers of Vienna dive right into the typical Viennese lifestyle. The market, with its dozens of little stalls and selection of fresh fruit, vegetables and specialities, is a colourful and lively snapshot of Vienna, which is even more varied on Saturdays, with the farmer’s and flea market. In addition to the restaurants and cafés around the Naschmarkt, a trendy restaurant and bar scene has developed in the market area. Coupled to cultureThe culturally committed Ludwig family, which owns the hotel, sponsors numerous Viennese cultural institutions, such as the Albertina, the Mumok and the Musikverein and inspires lovers of Vienna to special cultural delights: invitations to previews, exhibition openings, museum visits and preferential ticket orders at the Musikverein. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Beethoven Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Beethoven
Best Western Vienna
Vienna Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing