We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, If Not Perfect”
Review of Hotel Am Parkring

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Am Parkring
Ranked #25 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Boston
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Adequate, If Not Perfect”
Reviewed 24 May 2008

Look, you can't really go wrong staying here. We were 3 and stayed in a nice two-room suite that was comfortable, clean, and had a great view.

Here are some things to watch out for:

o Yes, the restaurant is small and gets easily filled during breakfast rush hour. But the food is excellent -- much better than your average freebie breakfast and has a fine, attentive staff. Just make sure you get an earlier start in case you have to wait a few minutes to be seated.

o If the weather is hot and you've been promised air conditioning, make sure it works before you unpack.

The hotel is in a great location easily reached by tram or subway and is a fairly easy walk from the Landstrasse train station. The closest subway stop, "Stubentor", is a deep one that's served exclusively by elevators/lifts, so you need not fear managing your luggage.

You can go green around Vienna and never have to bother with a Taxi or car. This hotel's in a great location from which to do it!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Questionable air conditioning
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank travelerLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    189
    45
    9
    8
See reviews for
105
259
93
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2008

The room for our family of four was large, clean, and well-appointed. One side of the room was all glass with mechanized blinds and a nice view. The TV was LCD. You can pay for in-room internet service by the hour.

The breakfast was tasty and ample. The servers were helpful.

The hotel is located across from the Stadtpark, within walking distance of St. Stephen's Cathedral. There is a nice children's play area next to the Stadtpark metro station that our children enjoyed one afternoon.

Public transportation is nearby, including the Mitte station where you can catch the CAT train to the airport. I also noticed a couple of car rental places within walking distance, should you want to drive out of the town for a day trip.

We walked to most places in Vienna from the hotel. We took the Metro (or was it tram?) to Schonnbrunn. A metro employee helped us buy metro tickets at the ATM like machine and told us that children don't need metro tickets in Vienna during the summer holidays!

The nearby Karnerstrasse pedestrian area is excellent for restaurants, coffee, confectionary, shopping and just people-watching.

  • Stayed July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelbyreading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We stayed at the Am Parkring for 3 nights during the holidays. The rooms are very clean, the view from the 11thand 12th floors is unique. The Himmelstube is the classy restaurant on the 12th floor, a bit too small I would say, but nice food and view. Try the Austrian Fish soup, it's really good. The reception staff is courteous and helpful.

The hotel is located in front of the Stadtpark with the statue of Strauss and the Kursalon. The subway is at the Stadtpark and it takes about 15 minutes to reach the Schonbrunn. To go to the Museums, Opera or Stephans Dom take the tram, the stop is just steps from the hotel, very convenient.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone and I would stay there again if I were in Vienna again. If you want something more upscale, the Marriott and Radisson are just steps away.

  • Liked — Location, view.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank FLadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2007

I woukld not recommend this hotel - the room was tiny, cramped and despite the promise in the ad. looked out across a building site. Admitedly every building has more than one side and not all can look out on the view but even seen from thre tiny dining room, it was negligible. Bear in mind the tv was inexcusably small and crackly.
Finally, beware to get to breakfast early since there is not enough room in the dining room for all the guests and the food ran out leaving many people hungry.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank nikjem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ma
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We loved the location of this hotel on the Ring and across from a beautiful park which I went walking and running in the early morning. Sat at the duck pond and read a bit before starting our sight seeing filled day. We were delighted with the hotel. I think we were upgraded although this was never stated but I got a web deal from the Best Western site for 119 euros which was supposed to be two single beds, and I believe we had a double and single bed. The room was quite large as was the bathroom and very very modern and obviously just renovated and done at a high standard. The view was just sensational and we had a big balcony and one wall was all windows facing out over the rooftops of Vienna. The breakfast was fabulous and the breakfast room also looked out over the rooftops of Vienna. Very helpful at the desk. The lobby is not much to look at but certainly not dreary. I would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Liked — location, high standard renovation. views from room
  • Disliked — really nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

Stayed here 4 nights late September, 2006. The lobby/reception area is being moved and entering the hotel and getting to the elevators involves literally walking through a construction site. Ceiling tiles were missing with electrical wires hanging down and several workers present making considerable noise. However, none of this could be heard from the room and was only encountered entering and leaving the hotel. No internet access unless you bring your own laptop, but the Marriott next door will let you use their business center at a reasonable price (the AM Parkring directed us to an internet cafe which was many blocks away). Room and breakfast were fine, although the dining room was full once with no place to sit except with other guests at same table.

Location of hotel is OK. Hopefully I will return to Vienna but will stay closer to the Opera as the museums were my primary interest. Overall Vienna was wonderful and I would love to return.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Construction in hotel, no internet access
  • Tips/Secrets — Contruction is scheduled to be completed 11-06
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Westshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2006

We selected the hotel for its value and convenient location close to the city centre and with easy access to the main sights and the underground. Despite the fact that the hotel is in a prominent position on the Ring we had difficulty locating it because its ground floor does not front onto the road and signing is poor. Whilst the reception is on the ground floor, hotel rooms are on the top floors of a 13 story block, which makes for good views across the city. Our room was spacious and well furnished, with a very comfortable bed and easy chairs, and was kept spotlessly clean. Breakfasts were high quality and the restaurant also, though quite pricey. Staff on reception were very friendly and always able to provide helpful advice. We had a special deal by booking and paying well in advance, which meant that it was excellent value, especially for Vienna which is an expensive city.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Rather impersonal, with no real communal areas
  • Tips/Secrets — If travelling by car, park nearby and locate the hotel on foot or you could end up going round the Ring several times.
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve-G23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
Hotel Capricorno
Hotel Capricorno
#21 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hotel Stefanie
Hotel Stefanie
#24 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,129 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
Hotel Konig Von Ungarn
#17 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Mercure Vienna First
Mercure Vienna First
#34 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 398 reviews
Inner City
Kaiserin Elisabeth
Kaiserin Elisabeth
#33 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Parkring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Parkring

Property: Hotel Am Parkring
Address: Parkring 12 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#19 Green Hotel in Vienna
#21 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#41 Family Hotel in Vienna
#54 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Parkring 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star Boutique-Hotel Am Parkring, located on the 11th through 13th floors of the Gartenbauhochhaus along the elegant Ringstrasse, which surrounds the historic center of Vienna, offers the finest views of the city. Whether in the rooms, suites with roof-deck, the gourmet restaurant "Das Schick" or the conference room "El Panorama" -at the SCHICK Hotel Am Parkring you'll enjoy a magnificent panoramic view. The 55 rooms and suites are tastefully furnished and equipped with modern technology, WLAN (free of charge) and air conditioning. At the Restaurant "Das Schick" seasonal and local products of Austria and Spain are combined to creative and fascinating delicacies. A culinary cross national teamwork-including a view over the rooftops of Vienna! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Am Parkring reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Parkring Hotel
Best Western Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing