We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique experience.”

The Third Man Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$10.55*
and up
Third Man Museum Admission Ticket
Ranked #16 of 585 things to do in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: OPEN EVERY SATURDAY 2 - 6 pm! For more opening hours check our webpage ! The THIRD MAN MUSEUM is THE place to go but ONLY for film fans and all those interested in the post-war history of Vienna. Private museum without sponsors and without subsidies, but a 100% passion! The Third Man Museum contains much heart and soul. And you can feel it! EXCLUSIVE guided tours on any day of the week by request!
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A unique experience.”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

If you are a fan of the film or if you are interested in the history of Vienna in the first half of the 20th century this is a must see. The museum is only open on Saturday from 2 to 6pm so plan your visit carefully. If you haven't seen the film, do so before you go,otherwise the film background documents and photos will mean very little. It is a quirky museum filled with every detail the enthusiastic curator could find - and I do mean every detail! The room dedicated to the history of Vienna's role in the Second World War is a real eye-opener. Allow at least 2 hours.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard S, Owner at The Third Man Museum, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you, Elizabeth, Thank you !!!!!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    56
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic collection!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This was a must see for us as my wife had studied the movie in her final year of high school and we watched the movie in the fortnight prior to our trip. The museum did not disappoint! It's a superb collection of movie memorabilia and had a very informative section on post-war Vienna. What made it even more special was meeting Gerhard, the owner and creator of the museum, and his wife and talking to him about his passion for the movie and city. Would recommend going but make sure you watch the movie first! :-)

Helpful?
Thank tabris123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard S, Owner at The Third Man Museum, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
We did not have many visitors yesterday.
BUT: 90% real (REAL) fans of the movie!!!!!! What a day!!!!!
For example ALEX & ALICE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cool & interesting”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Friendly and personal insight into this movie and historically interesting time in Vienna. Great for movie buffs ( and those who are not ! ), and anyone interested in the Cold War era. Amazing collection of movie and music artifacts associated with the Third Man Movie. It'll be a while before you get the tune out of your head !

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank annmeechan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard S, Owner at The Third Man Museum, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you again for your visit and the review!
It makes me (and us) keeping our level further on or even getting higher :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
328 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Zither on my mind”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

For fans of the movie, a great collection of memorabilia. Movie posters in many languages. Short bios of the stars and some insights into the making of the movie.

A very extensive exhibit of post-war Vienna, from the point of view of Austrians and of American soldiers.

7.50 Euro for adults. Not really suitable for children, who won't understand a film in black and white.

Free toilet.

Not very accessible for folks with mobility issues.

Open one afternoon per week.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SoCalTraveler91356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerhard S, Owner at The Third Man Museum, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
THANK YOU for your excellent review and the acknowledgement of my work.
It adds to keep on in making the project better and better in its entirety.
Many greetings, Gerhard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fascinating Museum and Insight Into Pre and Post War Vienna”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We spent a fascinating few hours here last month. We went at the instigation of my husband who had read about the museum and as a fan of the film "The Third Man" was keen to see it for himself. It really is a life's work on the part of the curator who is very happy to chat to visitors about his collection. Not only are there several rooms devoted to memorabilia from the film (including a mock up of the sewer and a short film reel of the original film track ) but there is also a wide range of information about pre and post war Vienna. You get a great historical perspective on what it was like to live there especially in the late 40's and 50's and how it fits in with the Vienna of today. As a student of history I can thoroughly recommend it. I hadn't personally seen the movie "The Third Man" and yet there was so much to keep me interested that I would definitely go back the next time I am lucky enough to be in Vienna again. As it is a private museum it is only open on Saturdays between 2 and 6pm. There are private group tours available by appointment as well. Both the curator, his wife and the other staff (mainly students) were incredibly helpful and friendly and they have obviously all worked very hard to create this wonderful gem of a museum!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Third Man Museum also viewed

 

Been to The Third Man Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing