We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NH Danube good choice for UN, decent accomodations”
Review of NH Danube City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Danube City
Ranked #96 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston
Level Contributor
125 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“NH Danube good choice for UN, decent accomodations”
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Location: If you have business at the UN, the NH Danube and the Park are the convenient options. Both are adjacent to the UN complex, with a five minute walk to the subway.

Rooms: Large, clean, well appointed rooms. Nicely designed furniture, up to date electronics, exceptionally comfortable bed. A shade above expectations for a three star.

Staff: Exceptionally helpful and pleasant, with a nice mis of good advice on Vietnna and efficient service on check in and checkout.

Hint 1: The grocery store a block away has a nice selection of beer, bread, fruit, cheeses, and cold sliced meats. Go there before it closes and stock up before the midnight jet lag munchies hit. The self serve weight/label on fresh fruit is a bit of a challenge if you do not read German.

Hint 2: In room internet is expensive and a bit erratic. I ended up using the terminals in the lobby, with a free short term pass from the front desk staff. Take your USB jump drive with you if you want to download or upload files.

The overpriced internet and breakfast were the drawbacks, but there were ways around these deficiencies.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    494
    134
    37
    18
See reviews for
121
301
50
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
YVR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

This is definitely a 3 star hotel and it is quite acceptable for a three star.

The location is not great, unless you don't mind spending up to a half hour taking the subway - a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The restaurant served very good food.

The charge for in room internet use was outrageous but the staff readily gave you free vouchers to use the hotel computers if all you wanted was 15 minutes of time.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jkg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Level Contributor
169 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2008

We stayed at the NH Danube City Hotel in Vienna and loved our room. Altough we were on vacation, this hotel is set up as a business hotel and is not in the main part of the city. However, we easily obtained transportation on the U-Bahn, which was only a 10 minute trip to the historic district of Vienna. It drops you off right in the center of the medieval area, which was very handy. There are not a lot of places to eat dinner in the immediate area, but we really liked our dinners both evenings in the hotel restaurant and would not hesitate to go back. The breakfast buffets were very nice, too. The hotel was very quiet and the beds were comfortable. The rooms were very clean.

  • Liked — The room and the restaurant
  • Disliked — No free computer use
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DiBowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2008

I stayed at the NH Danube City for two nights on business.

It is in a dormitory are of Vienna, not at all walking distance to the old city centre, but is convenient if you have business in the UN building or Vienna convention centre.

The hotel itself is a 20 storey tower that backs onto the Donauparc and faces the Konigswasser lake. The foyer is professional thought at the time I stayed the restaurant and bar was being remodelled so temporary facilities were install on the first floor instead.

Check in efficient and friendly, but hey - its a four star.

I paid €20 per night to upgrade my room to a larger one on the 17th floor. I work in my room a lot when travelling and claustrophobia doesn't help. My room was reasonably spacious, with three windows on two walls - it was a corner room. Curtains pulled back, it was very light and airy with views of the lake.

Floor was clad in dark brown laminate flooring which is modern and practical I am sure, but gave it the demeanour of a "bachelor pad". I prefer carpet.

Everything worked as it should, though another couple English channels on the TV would have been welcomed.

Bed quite staggeringly comfortable. Large and supportive. Up there with the best hotel beds I've used.

Coffee and tea-making facilities, ironing & other nice touches in the room made me feel welcome.

I had my birthday while staying there and an embarrassed but sweet maid bought me some toiletries and an orchid for my birthday complements of the hotel ! That was a nice touch ! :)

The breakfast buffet was typically Austrian and plentiful, not horrendously priced at €18 IMO. I didn't trouble the restaurant otherwise, preferring to buy some supplies at the supermarket along the street and keep them in the minibar. :)

The Donaupark is a beautiful green space that lends itself to restring walks even in winter when I visited. There's a good 3km walk too along the banks of the Konigswasser lake which is a neat way of curing " laptop fever".

All in all this hotel tried hard and mostly succeeds at being a welcoming and comfortable business hotel.

If you don't need to stay in the City centre, I recommend it highly.

  • Liked — sense of welcome; great bed.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ormstein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2008

This is a overpriced hotel convenient to the UN buildings in Danube City. For a business HOTEL to charge for Internet (no free Wifi) and have a ridiculously overpriced buffet breakfast (18Eur) I was very disappointed. The coffee for the buffet was not very good either.....and I need good coffee.

I highly recommend their competitor across the street, Park Inn, has equally nice rooms, nice staff, free WiFi and Free Breakfast that is really good....and the rates are much better....


The people were friendly enough, and the rooms clean, but there were things lacking in my room. For instance, there was no iron for ironing shirts, but there was an ironing board...duh? The TV was awful and their information system for checking details of your bill did not work. They also hit me with a "read the fine print" clause when I checked out early....and it was pricey.....

overall, i was not happy with this hotel and will never use an NH hotel again.

Paul

  • Stayed January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Paul_F_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seremban, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2008

Hotel is within walking distance to United Nations Office (3 mins away) and Vienna Convention Centre (20 mins away). There are also two train stops within walking distances of the hotel.

There are a few restaurants nearby, a Billa grocery shop which is very convinient. For Muslims, the hotel is walking distance to a shopping mall which houses a few Halal restaurants.

Services are great, hotel staff friendly. Buffet breakfast veru good. Room I had was clean and comfortable, even quite luxurious.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — location - i had to walk 20 mins to Vienna Convention Centre!
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Roving-Feet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

The NH Danube City is a first rate hotel. From the friendly staff to the attractive public areas (lobby, bar, restaurant) to our guest room, everything was perfect. Our room was immaculate and comfortable and the amenities even included a toothbrush and comb. There was a charge for internet access, which was a minor annoyance since I've come to expect free internet access in hotels. Breakfast was spectacular with everything for those who are health conscious (cereals, fruit, breads) or for those who want a breakfast that will hold them all day (eggs, sausage, cheese, pastries). The location is in the Danube City area of Vienna near the UN and the Old Danube. Those who would be put off by a location outside the ring should know that the hotel is only about a ten minute U-bahn ride to the heart of the city. Furthermore, there are recreational and entertainment opportunities in the area that one would miss by staying in the central city. Unless someone dies and leaves me enough money to stay in the Hotel Sacher, I will return to the NH Danube City the next time I am in Vienna.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank glennr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#126 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Melia Vienna
#51 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kaisermühlen
Strandhotel Alte Donau
Strandhotel Alte Donau
#153 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#88 of 361 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Danube City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Danube City

Property: NH Danube City
Address: Wagramer Strasse 21, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Kaisermühlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Vienna
#71 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#76 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#84 Family Hotel in Vienna
#93 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Danube City 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Ambience, excellent food, modern technical equipment and comfort are just some of the distinctive hallmarks of NH Danube City in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, NHHotels, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your NH Danube City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Danube City Vienna
Nh Danube City Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing