We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NH Danube City Hotel: Reasonable NE location, good value”
Review of NH Danube City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
NH Danube City
Ranked #97 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
342 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
“NH Danube City Hotel: Reasonable NE location, good value”
Reviewed 25 May 2009

The NH Danube City Hotel on Wagramer Strasse is a high-rise business class hotel on the northern edge of Vienna. It is adjacent to the Vienna International Center (VIC), the site of large United Nations office buildings.

For tourists it is reasonably convenient because it is a 5 minute walk to the VIC subway station and then a 12 minute subway ride on line 1 to the city center. In addition, the VIE airport bus stops directly in front of the hotel on an hourly basis (40 minute ride, 6 euros).

The neighborhood is pleasant but not interesting, with few restaurants or other attractions, although there are nearby greenbelts for joggers. Views from the upper floors are attractive, especially on the street (east) side.

The rooms are comfortable in size (about 250 sq. ft.) and are decorated in blue and gold, with post-modern gray and blond furniture. Our standard double had one queen size bed with two twin size duvets.

There is a large desk with an internet connection (not sure about wi-fi or prices), a small LCD-TV with a bathroom speaker, an ironing board (iron available at the desk), a mini-bar with enough room for personal items, a tea pot (coffee available in the lobby), and a room safe. There were no robes or slippers in our room (bring your own). The windows open, but Wagramer Strasse is busy. The A/C climate control works well, and the room was quiet with the windows closed.

The bathroom is granite and tile, and is functional in size. There is a single sink and a tub-shower combo. There are three room phones (desk, bedside, and bathroom).

Short term internet use is available free in the lobby (ask the desk for a password). The staff is friendly and helpful.

The staff offered an upgrade to an executive room for a fee, which we declined. We booked our room by bidding for the northeast zone on priceline.com. Our pre-paid rate was $96 per night plus $10 in taxes and fees, a bargain for a European hotel of this high quality since we were there during a local holiday.

The breakfast buffet was not included in our room rate, and was 19 euros ($27) additional. We simply made tea and had a continental breakfast in our room. We did not sample the hotel restaurants.

The surrounding area had no apparent supermarkets or other shops, so we simply picked up a bottle of champagne and some snacks before leaving the city center each evening. There is a Bila supermarket on Singer Strasse near the Stephansdom, and there is (reportedly, we did not use it) a supermarket near the Praterstern subway station on the way to the hotel. There may be additional options near the hotel, but we did not ask.

All in all, the NH Danube City hotel is ideal for those travelers with business at the VIC, and is reasonably convenient for tourists who are interested in the inner city (Innere Stadt) but do not want to pay the price for a hotel on the ring. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank efsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    329
    503
    135
    38
    18
See reviews for
124
307
50
429
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2009

This is a modern, clean hotel by the UN facilities in Vienna. It's outside the city center but very close (5-minute walk) to the U-bahn which gets you into old town after about a 10- to 15-minute subway ride. The rooms are nicely appointed (a classic "business" or diplomat's hotel) and the staff very helpful and international.

The food at the restaurant was surprisingly good at typical large-scale hotel prices... not too bad but certainly not a value by any stretch of the imagination. Given that many things close nearby as the UN isn't exactly the hippest or most happening neighborhood, this may be your only option if you return later in the evening not having eaten.

Internet access, typical at large chains, is not free and a total rip-off in the room. However, there are lobby workstations you can use for free in 5- or 10-minute increments (I don't remember the exact terms, but you get a voucher at the front desk, good for only checking a few things here and there). Parking was atrociously expensive... around EUR25 the first day for a full day - around 24 hours - and then around EUR20 overnight.

Overall, this is a safe, clean bet... I got a particularly good deal on Priceline, so if you can get the same I'd definitely recommend the NH Danube. If you're paying normal rack prices, consider staying somewhere closer to the city center as the commute is a bit of a pain but not too bad given the mass transit options.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atourist00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2009

The hotel room was OK. It is an older hotel that has been remodeled but it seemed like nothing matched. When you walk into the lobby it looks great and consistent with the other NH hotel I have stayed in. The room itself had several different decors going on and left me confused many times. It wasn't horrible...just didnt mesh. Something about coral walls in half the room, yellow stripe walls in the other half, bright blue carpet, purplish formica doors, and a completely modern bathroom just left me feeling skitsophranic. With that being said...bed was comfortable, it was only a four or five minute walk to the metro (definilty not ten minutes as reported in a earlier post...they must of been walking with twenty pound weights on their legs) and the bathroom was huge and very well done. The metro was five stops away from the city center.

Oh and my husband would like me to add that the internet was not free. He went ahead and paid to have the service...downloaded a show and was told that he used all the bandwith that was alloted for that price. Well we think that it is bad business to first charge for internet in a hotel (especially if its a business hotel) and then put a cap on the bandwith? There was no mention of the cap of bandwith before he purchased it.

This hotel participates with Priceline. I was able to get this hotel for $80 a night. If you have never been to Vienna before try to stay in the city center. Its worth paying another $20 a night. There are no restaurants in this area that are open during the night so if you do stay here make sure you grab dinner before coming back to the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank august19th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambs
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2009

Stayed in the Danube City for four nights with a colleague in April. Very friendly staff at check in, rooms ample size, excellent facilities in rooms, beds very comfy after a day at congress. In House-Cleaning service was great too. Though we were only there for the congress the hotel is a good 10/15 minute taxi drive to city centre Vienna and there is little in the way of attraction near the hotel. The Bar is very good in the hotel and has a number of continental beers and drinks avaliable a good prices which is a nice touch. All in all i cant say a bad word about the hotel, on checking out the Spanish National Football Team where checking in before the Euro Finals, so if its good enough for them its good anyone

Tip: Great for the UN Building, and congress centre. However if you looking for a night life and sight seeing try a more centralised hotel

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reedo5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
236 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2009

I stayed here for only 2 noghts since I had to be at the UN, for which the location is good. I would not recommend it for holidays. Clean room, good beds. Long lines to check in and out, with ony one person behind the reception... (so you ar really unlucky if you come in behind a flight crew..) Very expensive breakfast. Could not open minibar (ok but am not a technical person). Not much more to say really. Well, they still do the chocolate-on-pillow thing.

Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraGenevaCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
124 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2008

Location: If you have business at the UN, the NH Danube and the Park are the convenient options. Both are adjacent to the UN complex, with a five minute walk to the subway.

Rooms: Large, clean, well appointed rooms. Nicely designed furniture, up to date electronics, exceptionally comfortable bed. A shade above expectations for a three star.

Staff: Exceptionally helpful and pleasant, with a nice mis of good advice on Vietnna and efficient service on check in and checkout.

Hint 1: The grocery store a block away has a nice selection of beer, bread, fruit, cheeses, and cold sliced meats. Go there before it closes and stock up before the midnight jet lag munchies hit. The self serve weight/label on fresh fruit is a bit of a challenge if you do not read German.

Hint 2: In room internet is expensive and a bit erratic. I ended up using the terminals in the lobby, with a free short term pass from the front desk staff. Take your USB jump drive with you if you want to download or upload files.

The overpriced internet and breakfast were the drawbacks, but there were ways around these deficiencies.

  • Stayed September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aversetospam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YVR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2008

This is definitely a 3 star hotel and it is quite acceptable for a three star.

The location is not great, unless you don't mind spending up to a half hour taking the subway - a 10 minute walk from the hotel.

The restaurant served very good food.

The charge for in room internet use was outrageous but the staff readily gave you free vouchers to use the hotel computers if all you wanted was 15 minutes of time.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jkg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Arcotel Kaiserwasser
#128 of 360 in Vienna
655 reviews
Melia Vienna
#51 of 360 in Vienna
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
NH Wien City
NH Wien City
#91 of 360 in Vienna
1,160 reviews
Landstraße
NH Wien Belvedere
NH Wien Belvedere
#105 of 360 in Vienna
1,232 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Courtyard Vienna Prater/Messe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Danube City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Danube City

Property: NH Danube City
Address: Wagramer Strasse 21, Vienna 1220, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Kaisermühlen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Green Hotel in Vienna
#70 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#76 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#84 Family Hotel in Vienna
#93 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Danube City 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Ambience, excellent food, modern technical equipment and comfort are just some of the distinctive hallmarks of NH Danube City in Vienna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with NHHotels, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your NH Danube City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Danube City Vienna
Nh Danube City Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing