We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very good” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #60 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
London, England
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not very good”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

I stayed here on business with my wife and booked a room with a garden view. When I arrived I found out that breakfast was not included and they wanted €15 for it. I am sure in some Holiday inns it is included.
The room (800) cost €145 per night and for that I got tea/coffee and air-con. No free wi-fi, apart from the first 30 minutes per session.
The bed was comfortable, the shower was good but that's it. I visited the bar, no ambience. I didn't try the restaurant, and the location isn't really close to much, although there's plenty of restaurants around and the U-Bahn is relatively close by.
The final straw was when I checked out the receptionist asked if I had used the mini-bar. I hadn't, but she asked "if I was sure I hadn't". She might as well have called me a liar ! Not good enough.

Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SiThompson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 28 September 2012
Dear SiThompson,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. Please allow me to apologize for the inconvenience and negative impression you may have had with your room accommodation, the bar, location of our hotel and the service you received from our front desk staff. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    449
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
232
373
82
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2012

The Holiday Inn is a well known series of high standard hotels brand for services and tourists, Holiday Inn Vienna City staff are friendly as well as the other Holiday Inn Hotels staff, the warm welcome was the first thing I noticed when I entered the hotel.
Also the hotel is located in an area which is close to the famous shopping street and Maria Jeans Street only 20 minutes walk and there are other shops near the hotel just immediately either you go right or left from the hotel entrance, there are also restaurants near the hotel as well as super markets, laundry, coffee shops, travel agents,...etc.
The price of the hotel rooms are also affordable.
I believe that many people will enjoy this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to have a look at the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Khalid78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

Stayed for three nights, Very clean and spacious room, free Wi-Fi in the room!! (You have to re-login every 30min but a bonus I did not expect puts other places I have stayed in to shame) Extremely friendly knowledgeable and helpful staff. All considered I would stay there again and again.
Marks out of 10 it would have to be 9.99

This must be one of the few hotel who have found out that Wi-Fi is as necessary as a blanket or a towel.

Keep up the good work

David Kioi

Room Tip: Stayed on the 4th floor room was much bigger than expected, very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Could not fault this hotel. Before I went I knew I would be charged for internet, but that is now given in free half hour slots and you can log straight back on. Compared with lots of other hotels in Europe charging for the internet with the prices given is out of touch.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murphy1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2012

We were greeted nicely when we checked in. The front desk lady was very kind and helpful on giving us directions and information. Our room was 313. It had a nice layout, making it seem like it had two separate rooms and a living room, when really it was all one room. The hotel is close to the metro and to a bus station that brings you to the central part of sightseeing.
The breakfast, was expensive, so I didn't order it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rana_Gencay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 1 night. We had a one bedroom suite. Hotel suite and service were very good. When we came down to get a taxi to the airport, the receptionist offered to call a taxi, which we thought was very nice of him. Otherwise we would have gotten a taxi from the taxi stand right across from the hotel. Once we loaded up the luggage and started driving we noticed that the driver did not have the meter on when we questioned him he demanded 48 Euros. Which did not sound right. We were in Austria for 10 days, travelled quite a bit on Taxis, and it was always metered. Even the trip from the airport to our distination in Vienna. We were told by a taxi driver that all taxis in Vienna are metered.

Room Tip: We were a family of 4 with 2 grown up children. The one bedroom suite was quite spacious enought to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#41 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#46 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing