We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient to visit the city center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #59 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Leuven
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Convenient to visit the city center”
Reviewed 20 December 2012

This hotel is situated at 5-10 minutes walk from the Kettelbrücken metro station, what is very convenient to visit the city center. The Margarentenstrasse can be noisy, but when you ask for a room with a view at the courtyard you don't hear anything of it. The room was very clean and equiped with minibar, hairdryer. The bed was good, but the pillows were too flat.
Breakfast was 15 € pp and included all kind of cereals, fruit juices, water, coffee, tea, a cheese plate, salami and ham, eggs & bacon, cakes, fruit, ... Very good price/quality ratio.
Umbrella's at your disposal (what we needed ...)
Reception staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room 606: very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    460
    111
    23
    15
See reviews for
240
381
83
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

At the end of our 8 week vacation to Europe, we chose to spend our first year wedding anniversary in Vienna. Little did we know we would end up being sick for the 4 nights we stayed in Vienna. Neither of us had been sick on holidays before, let alone, having to stay in a hotel unwell.

With that in mind, our review of the Holiday Inn is from the perspective of sick travellers.

Our arrival was courteous and very friendly, with receptionist/front desk manager, helping us to our room with our luggage up 1 flight of stairs to a courtyard room. This was very unexpected and made our arrival so much easier (as you could imagine our luggage was heavy after 8 weeks) and we were visible sick. We really appreciated this personal touch!

Our room was quiet and modern. Separate dressing area/mini bar (with reasonable prices for drinks/snacks). LCD TV, writing desk, lounge and king size bed. Given our illness, the lounge was a great addition to have, as was the mini bar.

As this was early November, light snow had fallen and temperature dropped (around 2 - 6), we did need to use the heater. Worse due to our illness, so it's not fair of us to say if the heating was adequate. The heater in the bathroom was excellent, however, we did find the bedroom heaters not to our needs - but bare in mind you would not be spending as much time in your room as we did.

Luckly, there was a room service menu, though extremely sparse, it was tasty and delivered promptly. We were grateful to have this available to us. We did have breakfast once in the restaurant and was typical European offering.

Location was close to two U-Bahn stations (about 10 min walk), supermarket and restaurants also near by. With the U-Bahn, you could be in the centre of Vienna in 10 mins or Schloss Schronbrunn in about 20 minutes.

Overall, we would stay again for the service, price and location.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_and_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Last week I got a terrible experience in the hotel. I don't want to come back here again.
First the hotel is not secured. Two of my laptops were stolen from the room, right after arrival, one hour after check in.
There is no single video camera there and hotel personal was not helpfull at all. Just very sorry.
This is amazing, especially for priority club gold card holder. Rooms are clean and nice, but think about your stuff in the rooms.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmytro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiLienz, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback. As this is a very serious issue we did a thorough investigation and found out that there were no signs of a forced opening. We have also checked the electronic lock and this confirmed that no other key cards were used to access the room. Therefore we can only assume that someone entered the room because the door was left open. To prohibit such situations we also provide in-room safes which unfortunately had not been used. We have already assisted you with the local authorities and are of course at your disposal for any future requirements.
Dear guest, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I invite you to contact us again if further help is needed.

Yours sincerely,

Andrej Wimmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
76 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2012

The hotel is hidden away on a street about 5-10 minute walk from the Kettenbruckengasse tube station which was handy. The room was spotless and well furnished, reception staff helpful, polite and wonderful. Breakfast had a vast array of choice and everything fresh and constantly replenished and upon checkout was able to leave luggage for collection later.
Next to the tube station was a big market which was fascinating - only open on Saturday.
Would recommend the CAT transport from airport as was very smooth and quick.
Would highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigAndyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Overall a very nice hotel.
But found the road noise all night distracting.
The cleaning staff was also noisy and disruptive in the hallways early in the morning. Bring ear plugs and you'll be just fine. On site parking is handy, with a heft charge. Not sure I'd seek this particular hotel out.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D2theWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Great location, very close to Naschmarkt and max 10 min walking distance to the subway station. Got a room with inner yard view so it was very quiet and without any traffic noise. Room was very big with an additional seating area completely separated from the bed area which is a very nice idea. The room was very clean and there was enough natural light coming through the windows that can be opened. WIFI worked fine and there are 2 LCD TV's in the room.
The hallways and lobby look a bit outdated but who cares as long as the room is more than okay... :)

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper level, facing the backyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

The Holiday Inn Vienna City is located just outside the ring road making it a good location to get to all the local attractions. You also get Holiday Inn points if you are a Priority Club Member. The neighborhood has some shops, several grocery stores, an ATM and lots of different types of restaurants very near by. We stayed in the least expensive room which had two comfortable twin beds, included breakfast and was non-smoking. Although the room was small it was immaculately clean and quite comfortable. The pillows were kind of flat but that wasn't a big deal, just folded them in half. We had everything we needed including a small refrigerator, coffee maker, safe, and tourist and weather info. (in English) on the TV. Two stations, BBC and CNN were in English. The bathroom was a shower/tub combination with nice amenities. In additional to the usual soap which was liquid in a dispenser there was a little box that contained a sewing kit, nail file, cotton balls, shower cap, etc. and it was replenished each day. There was also a powerful hairdryer mounted on the wall. The best part of this hotel was the staff. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. Barbara a waitress at the morning buffet always greeted us with a big smile and a pot of coffee. The breakfast buffet was good and contained, cereals, pasties, assorted breads, cold meats & cheeses, yogurt, fresh fruit, assorted juices and hot items such as scrambled eggs, bacon and sausages. You were promptly greeted each morning and given your own pot of coffee and tea was also available. There is a restaurant and bar in the hotel. We had apple strudel one night and it was yummy. If the weather is nice there is a pretty courtyard in the center of the hotel that the bar area looks out on. Ask for a room with a view of the courtyard garden rather than the street but you may have to pay more. The location was perfect for seeing all the major sights. It is about a 15-20 minute walk to the Opera House to catch the hop-on-hop-off tour busses and other tour departures. The hotel location was very convenient. We walked to most of the major sights including the Hofburg, Belevdere Palace, Opera House, Tourist Office, and the pedestrian shopping streets. When walking pay attention that you don’t walk in the bike lane. It is really important that you pay attention to where walkers are supposed to walk and where the bike paths are especially at intersections. There are lots of bikers and many ride very fast and you could get hit if you don’t pay attention. The paths are clearly marked. The hotel is located between Kleine Neugasse and Krongasse on Margaretenstrasse. It is a short walk to either the Karlsplatz or Kettenbruckengasse U-Bahn 4 stations. We walked to the Kettenbruckengasse station and 5 stops later we were at the Schonbrunn Palace. Next to the Kettenbruckengasse station is the Naschmarkt with all kinds of food stalls and restaurants. We purchased olives, bread, cheese, olive oil and wine and had that for dinner one night, wonderful. We also ate at a very good casual Italian restaurant in the Naschmarkt called Piccola Italia. The homemade pasta was great. A block away from the hotel heading toward the Opera House is the Blue Lagoon Italian restaurant that was inexpensive with good food. The cute Austrian restaurant directly across the street was charming with good inexpensive food. The hotel will also give you a list of restaurants and shops and some give hotel guests discounts. The only negative of this hotel was there were a couple of steps from the lobby and near the entrance to the rooms. You had to lift your bags up the couple of steps but there was a ramp, very steep, near the entrance to the rooms. We enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingMarf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiLienz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 11 December 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time and write such an extensive review. I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We are indeed happy to be able to offer such a wide range of excellent restaurants nearby. Be it the traditional Viennese "Altes Fassl", the "Haas Beisl", "Rudi's Beisl" or the new "Weinschenke" offering food you would not expect once you enter the restaurant leaving you with a pleasant surprise. With the Austrian Gourmet Restaurant "Tancredi", "Entler's" or the Asian Gourmet Restaurant "ON" we have even more (but still not all) options for you to discover. And all of them have one thing in common: good value for money.
I hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon and to eventually make you discover some of the options in our neighbourhood.

Yours sincerely,
Andrej Wimmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#43 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing