We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hotel with a nice courtyard and a convenient location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #60 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“A hotel with a nice courtyard and a convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Overall stars - 4 of 5

Hotel staff - 4 of 5
Restaurant staff - did not use
Room service staff - did not use, they charge for bucket of ice
Housekeeping staff - 4 of 5
Room - 4 of 5

Bed comfortable rating - 4 out of 5,.

Room size – medium (upgraded due to Priority Club platinum member)

Restaurant / breakfast - did not use

WIFI - did not use, chargeable

Location - 1 or 2 blocks from Kettenbruckengasse metro (Kettenbruckengasse metro is right next to Naschmarkt which has plenty of food and dining and some gourmet shopping). Plenty of restaurants outside the hotel, also 2 Billa supermarkets (1 at hotel's exit to the left and 1 near the metro) around.

Attractions / Sights - Easy to take metro to Schönbrunn Palace and to Innere Stadt and get around to other places.

Free shuttle - no

Spa - no
Room Tip - ask for courtyard room is you can

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room if you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    440
    449
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
232
373
82
191
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, AR
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed for two days on this hotel which is very close to the Opera House and the main Vienna Commercial Street. It has very good communication with Wien-Meidling Train Station as you can take bus 59A from the Station and leaves you at two blocks from the hotel. You can also take the same bus to go to the opera house or just walk. It has a good breakfast that you can opt to take at a price of 15 Euros. The only drawback is that when you ask for a king bed you get to small beds joined. The staff is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zaventem, Belgium
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel as we booked a superior room with a 'seperate' bedroom for our 2 kids. The room was not very large, but is was very clean with good beds and everything you needed was available... We had a nice stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnymaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2012

This is a nice location and the hotel is quiet comfortable. The rooms are small but the designers did a great job in having every thing you need within this space. The staff is nice and helpful.
In the surrounding area you can find nice restaurants for nice dinners and so on. You can book the hotel room without breakfast and try the verity offered in the neighbourhood. next to the train station there is the "Cortez" caffè and restaurants that offers large portions for a reasonable price.

Room Tip: you can book without breakfast and add it later on for 15 Euro (per person) later on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arik100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

This hotel is situated at 5-10 minutes walk from the Kettelbrücken metro station, what is very convenient to visit the city center. The Margarentenstrasse can be noisy, but when you ask for a room with a view at the courtyard you don't hear anything of it. The room was very clean and equiped with minibar, hairdryer. The bed was good, but the pillows were too flat.
Breakfast was 15 € pp and included all kind of cereals, fruit juices, water, coffee, tea, a cheese plate, salami and ham, eggs & bacon, cakes, fruit, ... Very good price/quality ratio.
Umbrella's at your disposal (what we needed ...)
Reception staff is very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for room 606: very quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jilmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2012 via mobile

At the end of our 8 week vacation to Europe, we chose to spend our first year wedding anniversary in Vienna. Little did we know we would end up being sick for the 4 nights we stayed in Vienna. Neither of us had been sick on holidays before, let alone, having to stay in a hotel unwell.

With that in mind, our review of the Holiday Inn is from the perspective of sick travellers.

Our arrival was courteous and very friendly, with receptionist/front desk manager, helping us to our room with our luggage up 1 flight of stairs to a courtyard room. This was very unexpected and made our arrival so much easier (as you could imagine our luggage was heavy after 8 weeks) and we were visible sick. We really appreciated this personal touch!

Our room was quiet and modern. Separate dressing area/mini bar (with reasonable prices for drinks/snacks). LCD TV, writing desk, lounge and king size bed. Given our illness, the lounge was a great addition to have, as was the mini bar.

As this was early November, light snow had fallen and temperature dropped (around 2 - 6), we did need to use the heater. Worse due to our illness, so it's not fair of us to say if the heating was adequate. The heater in the bathroom was excellent, however, we did find the bedroom heaters not to our needs - but bare in mind you would not be spending as much time in your room as we did.

Luckly, there was a room service menu, though extremely sparse, it was tasty and delivered promptly. We were grateful to have this available to us. We did have breakfast once in the restaurant and was typical European offering.

Location was close to two U-Bahn stations (about 10 min walk), supermarket and restaurants also near by. With the U-Bahn, you could be in the centre of Vienna in 10 mins or Schloss Schronbrunn in about 20 minutes.

Overall, we would stay again for the service, price and location.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Adrian_and_Susie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Last week I got a terrible experience in the hotel. I don't want to come back here again.
First the hotel is not secured. Two of my laptops were stolen from the room, right after arrival, one hour after check in.
There is no single video camera there and hotel personal was not helpfull at all. Just very sorry.
This is amazing, especially for priority club gold card holder. Rooms are clean and nice, but think about your stuff in the rooms.

Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Dmytro R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiLienz, Geschäftsführer at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you for your feedback. As this is a very serious issue we did a thorough investigation and found out that there were no signs of a forced opening. We have also checked the electronic lock and this confirmed that no other key cards were used to access the room. Therefore we can only assume that someone entered the room because the door was left open. To prohibit such situations we also provide in-room safes which unfortunately had not been used. We have already assisted you with the local authorities and are of course at your disposal for any future requirements.
Dear guest, please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. I invite you to contact us again if further help is needed.

Yours sincerely,

Andrej Wimmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#41 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#46 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing