We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Vienna, Austria” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Vienna City

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #60 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Southern California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Vienna, Austria”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

I have frequently stayed at this Holiday Inn in Vienna, for both work and vacation. Coming from Southern California, it is always a long journey. The staff are gracious, considerate, creative and incredibly helpful. With each visit, they exceed any expectations, be it to help track down lost luggage, make special transportation arrangements, or ensure the room has special accommodations. I have recommended this Hotel to business associates around the world (staff is also multi-lingual) as well as dear friends whom I want to experience the best that Vienna has to offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Snow_in_San_Diego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    450
    107
    22
    15
See reviews for
232
374
82
192
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

My wife and I spent three nights at the Holiday Inn and we had a wonderful experience. We were always greeted by the front desk staff with a smile and our every request was handled quickly and with a cheerful attitude. It was the end of almost 2 months of continuous traveling for us and I think they got it right--attitude, service, location and amenities. Yes, we would stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

The hotel was quite nice. Close enough to the city / tourist attractions. The bedroom was clean & they even provided us a cot for our baby. Only stay for few days there,as we had to continued our journey to Linz. Overall it was nice hotel. Would love to come back again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bali1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

We spent two nights in the Holiday Inn just before Christmas. We arrived in the very early hours of the morning and the night porter, who’s English was excellent, could not have been more welcoming and helpful. He even arranged for an alternative room so we could check -in immediately.

Our room was spotlessly clean and more spacious than expected.

There were enough breakfast options to ensure a choice for all. The staff are very courteous and helpful with an excellent command of English.

The hotel is within 10 mins walking distance of the impressive Nacht Market (which is well worth a visit) and about a 20 minute walk into the city and shopping centre.

The Viennese Christmas atmosphere generated by the music, decorations and a sprinkling of snow was fabulous but be aware it's very cold at around -10C!!

This was our first visit to Vienna and overall we were very impressed with both Vienna itself and the Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2013

Nice renovated hotel

Negative sides:
- a little bit outside out of the Ring, but just 2 stations from StefanPlatz . you need to walk 10 min to the nearest Ubahn station
- internet was free for 1h, with limited data cap. after you have to reconnect
- my room was not really 100% noise proof and the cleaning staff, activating from 8am, was noticable. i wake up early but could have bothered me
- area perfectly safe but somewhat dead at night apart one pub near

Price paid , by prepayment : 90 eur

Positive side
- they recongnized the platinum status with an upgraded room which was nice
- the receptionist was good and efficient even not overly warm. the Austrian way so
- Breakfast: did not take it , but seemed plenty. the usual fare


All in all , very standard for an holiday inn in Central europe!
did the job, but iam not sure i would come back, whatever in business or solo

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ParisBebert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Salvador de Jujuy, Argentina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Spent 5 nights there. Comfortable place. Breakfast is pretty varied and the room was clean every evening when I got back. I've had a nice time there. ;) The only thing that I didn't like and could not believe was that there was not wireless service :(. I didn't need to use it, of course. But I would have liked visiting my facebook and twitter...

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
293 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

Overall stars - 4 of 5

Hotel staff - 4 of 5
Restaurant staff - did not use
Room service staff - did not use, they charge for bucket of ice
Housekeeping staff - 4 of 5
Room - 4 of 5

Bed comfortable rating - 4 out of 5,.

Room size – medium (upgraded due to Priority Club platinum member)

Restaurant / breakfast - did not use

WIFI - did not use, chargeable

Location - 1 or 2 blocks from Kettenbruckengasse metro (Kettenbruckengasse metro is right next to Naschmarkt which has plenty of food and dining and some gourmet shopping). Plenty of restaurants outside the hotel, also 2 Billa supermarkets (1 at hotel's exit to the left and 1 near the metro) around.

Attractions / Sights - Easy to take metro to Schönbrunn Palace and to Innere Stadt and get around to other places.

Free shuttle - no

Spa - no
Room Tip - ask for courtyard room is you can

Room Tip: Ask for courtyard room if you can get
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LorenzSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#45 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Leopoldstadt
Der Wilhelmshof
Der Wilhelmshof
#27 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Southall Travel so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing