We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really enjoyed my Stay at this boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #59 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
188 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed my Stay at this boutique hotel”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

The staff was great and gave us great suggestions of places to eat. (We went to italian restaurant they suggested and had great food.) The rooms were nice, modern and clean, They had good breakfast. It is close to the big market and the center of town. There is also a tram that stops a block away. I would highly recommend this hotel. The 59A bus stops about a block away and is a 5 minute ride from the main area. We hung out and were able to get on the tram and be back at our room in no time. Its also close enough for you to walk to many interesting places. You can also walk from here to the train and take the train 4 stops and transfer to another one stop and be at the Eurorail. The total time it took us was no more than 20 minutes and we left on a Saturday morning when the transport was shorter. {BTW, there are two Eurorail stations. One which took us from Prague and another which we took to get to Budapest) so pay attention to which Eurorail you need to go to.

Travelers tip: Coming from Prague on the Eurorail when we went to information booth and bought bus tickets and took the bus 59A. (tickets are 2 Euro). The bus stop is diagonal from the McDonalds. You have to cross the street from the Info booth and walk towards the left until you see McDonalds. Dont cross over to the McDonalds, stay on the same side of the street look around the corner and you will see the 59a bus stop right there. The stop which you will be at is called Philadelphia (you'll see a train station with the same name also) You get on the 59 A and it will drop you half a block away from the hotel. The bus ride is about 20 minutes and is 4 stops from the last stop.

Room Tip: You don't need a cab to get to most places from here. The bus, trains and trams are close by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbloveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    451
    458
    110
    23
    15
See reviews for
237
379
83
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
Level Contributor
132 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

It's a great hotel for a business trip or short city trip. Nice and friendly people, clear rooms al you want for your stay in Vienna. With a 15min walk you are in the city center or 5min to the subway. Been there numerous times and will select this hotel for my next visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

It is for the first time I am writing a review for a Hotel/Motel and probably it is the best way I could possibly pay back my respects for the gracious service provided by the staff at Holiday Inn Margaretenstrasse 53.

I had the privilege to stay with them for 2 days from 3-5 March, 2013. It is located in a quiet neighborhood, just at a 10 minutes walk to city center & St. Stephen's Cathedral. The staff there was very professional and quite helpful to tourists like us, who were visiting Vienna for the first time. The rooms were very cozy and comfortable, there is hardly anything we could grumble about.

By mistake, I forgot some of my stuff in the room when we checked out and the staff there was gracious enough to offer to send it back to me in Denmark. It was truly magnanimous of them to have helped us in this way.

I would definitely stay there again when I visit Vienna next time.

/Amit Paul
Copenhagen

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

It is a nice place to stay in the heart of Vienna.
We stayed there a few times and really enjoyed the warmth of the mansion.
The best thing is that we were remembered and it felt like coming back to "home" every time we did it.
There's nothing for them but it means a lot to us!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mihai T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2013

Our family (2 adults, 2 kids) stayed in a Superior Family room. The room was large, tastefully decorated and comfortably fit us all. The wifi worked well. The staff were friendly and the full breakfast buffet was a great way to start the day. It is a bit of a walk to the old city center (15 minutes) but it was not a problem for us and we enjoyed taking different routes through the neighborhood. Great value too - much better than taking 2 rooms in one of the hotels in the old city centre. We bought day passes for the subway and bus a couple of days, when we were heading out of the city centre to a palace or wine garden.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013 via mobile

All else is good.. room, cleanliness, breakfast...

But location is 15 minute walk every day to center of city is not fun...also there are no train station nearby, no buses...so the walk is a pain....

If u are in for business, leave early and return late to sleep...it allright.. otherwise, choos other hotels closer to Centre...

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Dear S W,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding breakfast.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding our location. I understand the discomfort this caused you. Again, I do apologize and regret that this impacted your experience at our hotel. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

It is hard to get a reasonably priced hotel this close to the city centre. It is very close to the famous Naschmarkt and the Belvedere. The bus ride from Karlplatz the main city centre junction takes just 10 minutes. It is also 10 minutes by bus from the main station Hauptbahnhof. The breakfast was brilliant! They charge extra 15 euros for the nicer courtyard facing rooms, which we didn't bother taking.

Room Tip: If you can manage to get the courtyard facing rooms, do take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gk01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#39 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing