We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the physically impaired”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #60 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not for the physically impaired”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

A strange layout, inadequate management, willing but mostly untrained personnel.

It starts with parking-the hotel is centrally located (a plus), but the parking spaces, including the garage, are sparse. Then comes the layout, with a beautiful garden as a consolation for the countless mini stairs, just to reach the reception, not to mention some rooms that are not accessible by the elevator. So if you have difficulties walking or carrying heavy luggage make sure you double check with the hotel staff. The rooms are neat and clean, though the pillows are almost of a symbolic size. We skipped the breakfast, as there is an excellent market nearby with countless pavilions with food from many corners of the world.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank proximity00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear proximity00,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of our property. It is good to read you found our location commendable. However, please accept my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the negative impression you had with the hotel layout and pillow size you encountered. We will certainly discuss your comments with the appropriate department for necessary improvements.

Again, thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope that you will consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    479
    113
    23
    15
See reviews for
247
391
83
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
265 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Well located just five minutes away from metro, this is a nice city hotel. The rooms are somewhat smaller, however the bathroom has a full bathtub. Breakfast is great, large variety of both hot and cold options. Parking may be scarce at peak times, you´ll be then left to a third-party parking house some three blocks away. Weekend rates may be a great deal, rack rates much less so - beware of booking blunders ;-)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
France
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We visited Vienna for four days during the 2013 Christmas holiday season. We got a family room for four people. We expected two beds, but we got three, each big enough for two people. The room was partitioned, and it had two TVs, a desk, refrigerator, etc. The sheets and towels were changed daily, and the room and bathroom were clean and warm. The room overlooked a back courtyard, so it was very quiet. Breakfast was included, and it had a wide range of food: fruit, bread, meat, eggs, fish, etc. The employees were friendly and helpful. The hotel is also on a quiet street, and only about 10 minutes on foot from the museum quarter. It was very easy to reach tourist sights and transportation from the hotel. Note: You have to tip servers in Vienna, including those at the hotel (lunch and dinner, not breakfast), and it's about 10 percent. At restaurant, servers expect to be paid in cash, as credit card payments go to the restaurant, and the servers then have to get their tips back from the restaurants.

Room Tip: The beds come with heavy comforters. If you are not used to using a comforter, ask the hotel to give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palaiseauguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We emailed the hotel the day prior to our arrival and inquired about an upgrade. Based on our Platinum status we were advised an upgrade had been assigned. Check in was posted as 2:00 PM and we arrived at 2:30 PM. Unfortunately, our room was not available and we decided to wait in the lounge area. At 3:00 PM the very nice receptionist brought our room key over and we were then able to check in. Recognition at check in for Platinum status was acknowledged and a welcome gift was provided (points or drink voucher). The room was adequate with a separate sitting area by a window overlooking the garden. The bathroom was spacious and well appointed. One issue with the room is that the flat screen television is wall mounted above the work desk. If someone is sitting at the desk it is difficult to view the television. We used room service and the food arrived in about twenty minutes and was great. The hotel has an underground parking garage and has less than twenty spaces. The parking is very close but did not really pose a problem. When we first arrived we could not locate the parking garage entrance. I stepped in the lobby and asked someone wearing a name badge that read Holiday Inn where the garage entrance was located. He said I would need to speak with the receptionist to get that information. My initial reaction was a language problem but then realized he understood my question and his response was very clear. I was very disappointed that he could not assist me. The hotel is located within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. A Spar supermarket is close by and we used this to pick up a few things after arriving. A bus line runs in front of the hotel and is easily accessed. We did enjoy our stay but it could have been rated higher if the check in experience (including the parking directions) had been better.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelnurseUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 18 January 2014
Dear TravelnurseUSA ,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Your satisfaction is important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. It is wonderful to know you liked the location of our hotel. My apologies for any disappointment you may have had with the service you received and the television. We have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

This hotel deserves a recommendation. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Breakfast is excellent, as shown in the pictures of the hotel. The staff is friendly, willing to give you information about the city, book a restaurant, etc.. If you like market place be sure to visit Naschmarkt which is 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnaBgd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Spent five days in this hotel from the 23rd to the 28th December. On Christmas eve we asked at reception if there was anywhere we could go to eat as the hotel only had
the one dish of goose on the menu or a vegatarian dish despite menus being displayed in the lift and in the room. This was the only meal available. There was no room service. We asked reception if there were any restaurants in the are the receptionist said there was but they were all closed or fully booked and wouldnt give us a list so we could decide for ourselves. How she managed to know every restaurant in the vicinity wad fully booked is beyond me. She is obviously blessed with supernatural powers and is clearly wasted at the desk in the holiday inn. We then said oh so we wobt eat tonight then and the staff didnt seem bothered. Christmas day like wise no food at the inn christmas lunch room service was limited to margerita pizza or a baguette. It appears to me that the hotel is geared aroubd the staff and not in accomodating the paying guests. I am appalled that at Christmas the hotel could not rustle up a meal
of some description on
either day. Needless to say this has coloured our view of vienna and we will not be back.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljs12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndiLienz, General Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear ljs12345,
Thank you for informing me about your recent experience. It is true that our restaurant is only open between 6 until 9.30 p.m. During the other times we alternatively offer a snack menu.
I am surprised thought by how you experienced the handling at the front desk. I am very sorry for any inconvenience caused in this matter. Already 2 weeks before Christmas our front desk team had prepared a list of restaurants being open on the 24th of December, as this evening in Vienna is difficult. By the time you asked for other restaurant options they had already called all of these restaurants on the list in the neighborhood and knew that they were fully booked. Then they offered you to reserve a table at “Piaristenkeller” which you did not accept because it seemed too far away for you.
Dear ljs12345, I very much regret that you did not feel taken care of. It seems that this is due to the general policy of many Viennese restaurants to stay close on this evening. The options are therefore limited. I would be delighted to welcome you again to prove you that we do take care of our guests – with passion!

Yours sincerely,

Andrej Wimmer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We felt welcome as soon as we arrived, the rooms we small but very clean and tidy, the location was excellent only a short walk to the city centre. The breakfasts were excellent. The pubs close by also had great meals

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13Astroboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#12 of 360 in Vienna
577 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#49 of 360 in Vienna
927 reviews
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Ebookers, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing