We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay at HI in Vienna City, Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #60 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Danville, California, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Overnight stay at HI in Vienna City, Vienna”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Good location and excellent customer service. The hotel is just a walking distance from the city center. Unfortunately, on our day of arrival it rained all day and were not able to go to many places, just took an hour hop on /hop off bus tour to get a feel of the city.

Our room was upgraded to the next level. Plenty of room, comfortable bed, free internet. Could not park the car at the hotel parking lot, there was a misunderstanding that the parking was not pre-reserved and the lot was. We're accommodate to park for the next two days. Could not drive to Budapest, the rental car company won't allow their 750 BMW to be driven to Eastern European countries.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shujaul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    471
    112
    23
    15
See reviews for
243
387
83
201
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very nice Hotel. Clean. Rooms well equipped. The staff in the reception was very friendly. You can reach the center by walk in 30 min aprox. You may find supermarkets (close at 7 PM !!!) and Restaurants around. I recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MatiasC27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
280 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Had two nights then a further night triple share. Would have liked to give this hotel a better rating as the welcome and assistance on every occasion from the front desk was simply A1…and they smile at you. The room one of the best triple share rooms I have had with a little divider to a living space…almost like a suite. Hooks for coats, lots of hangers, good reading lights, two tvs although only news channels in English. No shampoo or conditioner. Good linen and pillows. Sleep quality certainly better on our third night with inward facing room. No noise from deliveries and traffic which we had from our outward facing room. Internet was a little hit and miss and could improve.
Staff assisted with our bicycle hire, metro tickets and airport transfer, advice on Shonbrunn Easter Market...and were able to charge everything to our room bill. Excellent team at the desk including Fr Grefer the first night who gave us great advice regarding a restaurant and good check in service. But really everyone on the desk was great.
Everything looking like a 4 or 5 star review though, until we got to breakfast. First day no milk for cereal, no eggs, in fact very little of anything left on the buffet and it was before 9am. Took 15 minutes to replace eggs and asked twice. Watched many guests continually check the buffet and walk away. This was the morning there was no hot water in hotel and guests looked unhappy. Ok maybe just a bad day…the second day was worse. Every table dirty and no staff to clean them. Had to ask then wait for a table to be cleared. Inadequate single coffee machine kept running out of everything, took more than 5 minutes to get a coffee. No egg or bacon this morning. Expected more from a Holiday Inn especially after excellent first impression.
On our return from Salzburg three days later, things had changed.. at least an extra staff member at breakfast, everything was full, a new toaster which we did not spot the first 2 nights and special orders taken for eggs which we also did not notice the first 2 days..more fruit and good croissants....big improvement so hopefully it is a permanent change for the better.

Room Tip: Inward facing is quiet if the ocurtyard is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargaretPowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Had a quick top over in Vienna for around a day and the hotel was worth the price it had to offer.

The city centre and all major sight seeing points like the Museum and Parliament are at a walking distance of around 12-15 mins from the hotel. Breakfast spread is quite good, though you need to be careful for dinners. The hotel takes the last order for food at 10 pm which is quite early according to my standards.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naveen13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We had a spacious room which was wonderful. The staff at the front desk were really top notch. They assisted us with getting a taxi multiple times, and provided great information about the city as well. The location was really nice, easy to get to everywhere we needed to be. Despite the construction, the service and comfort did not suffer. Limited underground parking. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
211 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

To spend a quick night on a business trip, great place.
I am not interested in being close to the city center.
If you need to be, this is not the hotel for you.
Was given a very nice room with ample space.
Oldish bathroom but acceptable.
Had breakfast included and was offered a nice spread.
Fully deserved 4 points!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We had a room on the ground floor off the garden. It was a beautiful room, very spacious and it offered great light and views! The room had 4 floor to ceiling windows and I think, if I'm not mistaken, two might have been french doors that lead out to the court yard. The room was very clean and modern and much more than I expected in a European country, where rooms tend to be smaller.

The hotel was a little far from the closet metro. After spending the whole day sightseeing, the 7 min walk back to your hotel room can feel the equivalent of climbing Mount Everest. So close yet so far away!! Overall, we were very pleased with the room!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 08jacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Serviten Quarter
Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#45 of 360 in Vienna
907 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing