We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice clean and friendly hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #59 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice clean and friendly hotel”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

A clean, modern hotel that is well run and reasonably placed for seeing Vienna. My room was large enough and well-equipped, and I had no problems with anything. It is a 15-20 minute walk to the city centre. I would certainly come back here.

Room Tip: My view was of teh backs of nearby buildings. Rooms with a garden view are said to be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A_Hotel_Visitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    460
    111
    23
    15
See reviews for
240
381
83
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
190 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I had to come again to Vienna for business, and as usual I booked a room in this friendly hotel.
This time I got a room overlooking the garden, and the feeling was really great.
As usual the friendly staff was attentive to my needs.
One day I finished my meetings in the afternoon and had a few hours in daylight which I wanted to use for a long walk. Due to the excellent location of the hotel, I managed to go to the Ring, Opera House, Kaertner Strasse , Stephan's Dom Rathouse and Maria Hilferstrasse, all in a walking distance from the hotel.
Nearby one finds the Chinese Restaurant Bamboo with all-you-can eat menu just for 9.90 Euro, and there is no need to walk more than 20 meters from the hotel entrance.
No doubt that next time when I have to be in Vienna I shall book a room at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank boazweiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
118 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

We were just reminiscing about this hotel as one of those that stands out amongst the many we've stayed in in our travels.

Conveniently located near the train and bus station, it was easy to move around the city and visit the sights nearby. We loved the breakfast buffet in the mornings. It filled us up to start the day with zest! The rooms were comfortable though a tad dark, I thought becos the decor was on the heavy side. That however isn't too much of an issue since we were out most of the day anyway. We slept comfortably and it was overall a great stay. Holiday Inn generally is reliable.

See Holiday Inn Express for cheap and good deals!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weemeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We found this hotel to be close to the city centre as well as the museum quarter, the Belvedere and the Schonbrunn Palace. All within easy walking distance. Lots of supermarkets and restaurants near by. Staff were very helpful. We had a room off the garden and we found the room to be a good size. Good breakfasts. Wifi was a bit of a pain. Continually logging into wifi was irritating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimwoodsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

As someone who has been travelling the world for nigh on 40 years it was an absolute pleasure to stay at the Holiday Inn Vienna, more like a boutique hotel than a skyscraper. Close to many restaurants and Bamboo next door was a real treat and low cost too.

Upgraded at the efficient front desk, the whole place was so clean and tidy, the breakfast, dinner and service were all excellent, late checkout was there and even minded our luggage until 6pm, its also handy to all transport and just one stop to the city hub of Kalsplatz, take a bow Holiday Inn Vienna, its highly recommended.

Room Tip: Join Holiday Inn program and ask for upgrade as we did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digger1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Nice budget hotel in Margaretenstraße, with small and neat rooms, good service and a huge spread buffet breakfast. The buffet was quite over priced around 20 euros where as you could grab a better deal and a better spread at 10 minutes walk from this hotel.

Very nice hotel and apt for a short business stay. I had stayed here twice during our business trips to vienna the first time being end of September 2011. It is about 30 minutes walk to the city centre from the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaneeshKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel was clean and well located. The room and especially bathroom terribly cramped. Perhaps due to being situated on the top floor, the walls in the bathroom were slanted -- inward. That meant that using the toilet one would bang his head on the adjacent wall. And leaning forward to flush the toilet, one would bang his head on the towel bar over the toilet tank. While I might consider staying at the same hotel, I would NEVER consider staying in the same room. The $15 Euro per day price for breakfast is not worth it. Much better food can be had nearby for less than half that amount.

Room Tip: Only a short walk from the nearby Metro station, Opera House, and some great restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssvvpp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Vienna City, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear ssvvpp,

We appreciate your time in writing a review about your recent stay. It’s nice to know that our hotel’s cleanliness and location was suitable for the purpose of your travel. We’re sorry that you were not satisfied with the size of the top floor room. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay with us more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the manager on duty.

We take positive and negative comments very seriously as this is our best resource for working on areas to improve upon. We look forward to an opportunity in serving you again.

Kind Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Neubau
NH Collection Wien Zentrum
Wieden
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
Hotel Erzherzog Rainer
#43 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Schani Wien
#35 of 361 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Best Western Premier Harmonie Vienna
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Property: Holiday Inn Vienna City
Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing