We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family vacation near aquarium & zoo”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Holiday Inn Vienna City
Ranked #59 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We found through TripAdvisor and booked directly through hotel website. Pay in advance gets you free breakfast, which was more like champagne brunch with fresh pastries, fruits & cheeses. The room was quiet and big enough for 2 adults and 2 kids. Bathroom was new, clean and had strong American-style shower. Pillows were small but hypo-allergetic. Check-in/out was spotless. Service was very helpful with advice, maps and multi-day Vienna Cards (for discounts on museums and free public transport). Short walk to U-Bahn/Metro, The Gut open market and Halle des Mare/Aquarium. Recently renovated and will have second renovation soon.

Room Tip: A courtyard room would be quieter, but the street room windows are sufficient to ensure rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SageAdvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

397 - 403 of 1,120 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

Vienna was our first stop of a 2 weeks long Eastern Europe tour. We reached a bit early and were prepared to just leave the luggage in the hold and wait for check-in time, but to our surprise, the room was ready as i am a priority member. The check-in couldn't have been smoother and the front desk staff was really polite and helpful. They are well aware of the city and guides you well.

We even got the New Years Mozart Konzert and Opera played by Vienna's Philharmonic, all i can say is... It was divine, Do attend if you get a chance.

Room was very big for European standards and well equipped, so was the washrooms. The hotel is in the heart of the city with some of the main attractions just 5 to 10 mins away. The street has numerous eat out places, bars, pubs and night life as well.

Breakfast is standard with good selection of cold cuts and dairy items. Hot plate items are limited, but more than enough for a breakfast.

I will definitely live here if i visit Vienna again. Keep up the good work people!!!

Room Tip: I was on the first floor, but even that was good, so staying in this hotel itself is a good tip!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Az_Ispahani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This hotel is close to the Naschmarkt but far enough away to miss all the hassle and bustle. The hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy. The shower above the bath was excellent. About a 15 minute walk into the centre of the city. Decent restaurants and cafés nearby which means you are not paying city centre prices.

Room Tip: We had a room above the garden area which was well away from the Main Street meaning we had no nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sueFife_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were upgraded. The facility looks well maintained. The bed is covered by two full size mattresses, side by side. We saw similar configuration in other European hotels. The breakfast is 15 Euro, not cheap though. Front desk also sells stamps for your postcard mailing to your home country. The location is not close to major attractions, but there are two bus routes nearby.

Room Tip: Try to connect your targeted attractions to bus 13a and 59a, which have stops close to the hotel. If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiger810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed in a suite in the hotel, the room was spacious and clean. The staff were very friendly and helpful. They gave us a couple of good recommendations for nearby restaurants, one for great pizza and one for traditional Austrian food. They also stored one of our suitcases for us while we made a three day visit to the Czech rep. , it was very helpful to not have to drag the extra luggage around with us. We will stay here again if we return to Vienna.
It is a short walk to a subway station and there is a nearby grocery store and drug store.

Room Tip: Suite is roomy, separate sitting area with table and sofa in bedroom, lots of room to spread out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This hotel surprised me. While on a road trip through several cities in Europe, we were hooked into this hotel by our travel agent. The place is very modern, the room was big enough for four, with space to spare included breakfast was excellent. The best part is that it included parking underground with elevator access to the hotel. It is located 5 minutes from the market place (Naschmarkt) which turned out to be a great walk, and 10-15 to the opera house and the city centre. Definitely recommend this one as a hidden treasure.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank tcxgarcia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We spent a weekend in this hotel to discover Vienna

Very well located in walking distance from the center. Nice rooms and small garden for the restaurant.

Breakfeast and restaurant dinner excellent

Staff very kindly

We will back there if we come to Vienna Again

Room Tip: choose toom on the back, very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPT1006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Renaissance Wien Hotel
#68 of 359 in Vienna
1,145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Landstraße
Austria Trend Hotel Savoyen Vienna
Hilton Vienna
#114 of 359 in Vienna
3,251 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Vienna City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Vienna City

Address: Margaretenstrasse 53, Vienna 1050, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Vienna
#45 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#57 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#60 Business Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £68 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Vienna City 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dear Vienna visitor, because of its central location the Holiday Inn Vienna City is an ideal starting point to explore Vienna. The attractions of Vienna, such as the 'Ring', the State Opera House, the 'Karlskirche', the 'Musikverein', the popular 'Naschmarkt' and the 'Mariahilferstrasse' are only a short walk away from the hotel - the Schoenbrunn Palace, the 'Hofburg' and the Vienna International Centre can comfortably be reached with the underground nearby. All hotel rooms are equipped with High Speed Internet access, in public areas such as the bar, the lobby and the restaurant Wirless Lan is installed. Recreation is offered in the hotel owned steam bath and during the summer months in our romantic garden. In our conference rooms we ensure the smooth operation for your event for up to 50 people. Dear Vienna visitor, we would be delighted to welcome you at our hotel during your stay in Vienna. Yours sincerely, Holiday Inn Vienna City. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Vienna City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Vienna City Hotel Vienna
Vienna Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing