We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb choice for see-it-all travelers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 April 2011

First off, the location could not be better. Smack dab in the middle of things - right next to a Ubahn stop, breakfast in the hotel, ATM across the street, restaurants and bars galore nearby, pharmacies, ANYTHING you might want. We found ourselves stopping back often in between treks in the city for a quick nap, dropping off bags, etc, - it was convenient.

And for being right across from the cathedral, it was quiet! Our room was on the side corner, and the only time noise was an issue was on Monday morning's garbage truck. We slept very well all four nights. Super clean and comfy.

If you're into late nights like we were, the front desk manager will let you in before you even realize you didn't know how to get in. The staff, especially the night manager that we got to know so well, were fantastically friendly and helpful. When we left, we told him the hotel was perfect and his answer, "I know." And that's because it's true and they are proud of it.

To be fair, I didn't look to exercise or turn on the TV so I can't comment on those parts of the hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JCBos2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,282 - 1,288 of 2,181 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2011

I selected this hotel because of the glowing reviews on Trip Advisor & I am pleased to report that they were VERY accurate!

The journey from the airport to the hotel was so simple. Just hop on the fabulous CAT (city airport train) which takes you into the city, then get onto the underground, just 2 stops & you are right outside the hotel.

The hotel is in the center of Vienna (right oustside the beautiful St Stephendom Cathedral) PERFECT location with most of the sights within easy walking distance.

The hotel rooms are clean, modern, comfortable & well equipped. The buffet breakfast had plenty of fresh fruit, juices, breads, cereals plus a small selection of cooked items.

We booked a 3 night stay which I think gave us enough time to see most of the sights. The highlight of our trip was the Spanish Riding School (amazing horses) We booked a performance & also a visit to the stables. You can book these on line before you travel or the hotel can book these for you. Well worth it!

We throughly recommend Vienna; fantastic city, lots of history, culture & shopping! Do take time to visit one of the famous old coffee houses such as Cafe Diglas or Cafe Demel & indulge is some wonderful coffee, strudel or sachertorte - not to be missed!
This was a most enjoyable city break & staying in great hotel such as Hotel Am Stephansplatz just makes it even more enjoyable. Perfect!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TracyMillmead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2011

My mom and I stayed here. (I'm in my 40s and she's in her 60s). We needed twin beds, and something centrally located. We were thrlled with the convenient location - just up from the metro station, and even more thrilled with our view of the Cathedral. Vienna was our first stop on a 3 city tour, and this hotel got us off to a great start. The staff at the hotel were friendly and helpful. We loved the breakfast - lots of options, and the restaurant setting overlooking the cathedral was a nice way to start the day. A terrific surprise was that the bathroom floor was HEATED! What a pleasure it was to step out of the shower and onto a warm floor. Nice touch. Great towels, too. The room's window's were sound-proofed, so we slept soundly each night. Room's temperature was perfect, too. We walked to all the City's central attractions from the Hotel Am Stephansplatz. I would stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank corsagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Stayed in this hotel whilst in Vienna for work.

The location is wonderful - right in the heart of the city - making visiting the sites easy.

The staff were friendly although didn't believe me when I told them the internet connection wasn't working. Also I asked them at 8am to arrange a taxi to take me to the airport for 1300 - when I came back to the hotel at 1230 I was told that the taxi couldn't come till 1320 (he didn't arrive until 1330). They had 5 hours to find a taxi so there was no reason not to get one for the time requested. Luckily I had left plenty of extra time when planning the travel.

We got a great deal on price which was good.

The other downside was the food which was pretty dire - eat out!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank globetrotting_180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

Excellect and friendly service from hotel staff. Good buffet breakfast. Room was clean & spacious. Contemporary decor and artwork in communal areas. Great location.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ricko211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Hotel Am Stephansplatz was an ideal choice for our 3 days in Vienna. It is incredibly well-located (literally at the top of the escalator as you come out of the subway/U-bahn). It's directly across from the cathedral and is within easy walking distance of a number of dining, shopping and sightseeing options along a nice, incredibly clean cobblestone/paver street. We felt very comfortable walking around at night.

Our hotel room was very clean. The decor was minimal, but we were there to see the city and didn't intend to spend much time in our room. We had a room looking out over the cathedral and perching on the window ledge and people watching were a great way to start the day. The windows did an incredible job of blocking out the street noise.

Breakfast was nice, and the hotel and restaurant staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dana_Atlanta_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2011

Loved everything about this hotel. Quick check in,porter took bags to room and showed how things operated.Best possible location right next to underground ,yet no noise.Room comfortable,bathroom enormous. One little niggle-even though it was minus 7 outside the room was too hot so we had to open window for some cool air.
Breakfast was perfect,great selection

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chalfont55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 358 in Vienna
1,537 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 358 in Vienna
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Steigenberger Hotel Herrenhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 358 in Vienna
2,473 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#10 of 358 in Vienna
965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £160 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna’s most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen’s cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna’s public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing