We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
cincinnati
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“location, location, location”
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Excellent!!
Could not have asked for a better location, in the heart of Vienna( nest to the subway line). The room where extremely large and more importantly the beds very comfortable and bathroom spacious with a great shower and tub. lots of storage. Even though it is on a busy square the windows are very sound proof. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with everything from eggs to fresh O.J, breads etc

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the square room 405 has floor to ceiling windows that open to the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank shelleycincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 15 May 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We appreciate you sharing your experiences on tripadvisor and are thrilled that you absolutely enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Hope to welcome you back in the heart of Vienna soon,

with kind regards,
Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Excellent!!
Could not have asked for a better location, in the heart of Vienna( nest to the subway line). The room where extremely large and more importantly the beds very comfortable and bathroom spacious with a great shower and tub. lots of storage. Even though it is on a busy square the windows are very sound proof. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with everything from eggs to fresh O.J, breads etc
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,005 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,548
    395
    48
    6
    8
See reviews for
384
992
152
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed for a week at Hotel Am Stephansplatz and were very pleased with the experience. The staff at the desk could not have been more helpful - particularly one man (whose name I can't remember) who was on duty on Tuesday morning when we checked in. Another clerk was helpful in obtaining concert tickets. The location was ideal. The room was very comfortable and immaculately clean and the breakfast buffet was great. Our room faced the cathedral and we were worried about noise, but the windows completely blocked any noise.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarianNewYorker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for sharing your Feedback and impressions of your stay at our Hotel.

We are very happy that you fully enjoyed your Vienna stay and that we were helpflul with Information and tickets during your stay.

We would be delighted to welcome you back at the HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ at your next planned trip to our beautiful City.

With best regards from Vienna,
Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

The hotel could be much worse or more expensive and it would still be worth it because of its ideal location. Right across the street is the St. Stephen's Cathedral (the breakfast room looks right out onto the Cathedral and the plaza), and right out the door is the subway stop. You're in the center of everything you want to get to, only minutes walk away. I was attending a conference and then played the tourist for two days, and in both cases the location was perfect.

It stays as lively at night as anything in Vienna (which shuts down surprisingly early otherwise) but the rooms are not loud at all, very pleasant with high ceilings even in smaller rooms. Breakfast is also quite good, although as an American I kind of missed having potatoes of any type, and the service was excellent. The hotel itself has comfortable beds; the room I had was on the side (although I could see the cathedral if I stuck my head out the window) but was nice and had a good work area. The art in the common areas also makes the hotel feel a little more luxe than your bill (which if you look around a little isn't too bad -- I got a room for about 150usd a night).

Wifi was not great, but of course this is also a larger problem--many hotels are not keeping up with bandwidth demands, unfortunately. Also, the front desk was friendly and tried to be helpful, but their advice was surprisingly often not too useful (for example, I asked for a nearby place to get some fruit and carrots, and they didn't send me to the market that was *just down the street* but rather to one quite far away)--I did better (besides trip advisor, of course) from the information desk at the conference.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Sir,

thank you very much for sharing your opionion with other Vienna travellers.

We are delighted that you fully enjoyed your stay in the heart of Vienna and extended your business stay with a few leisure days.

Regarding your Information feedback of our reception team we will make sure to give better recommendations to our guests in the future.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel at your next planned trip to Vienna.

With best regards,
Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Loved my stay at Hotel Am Stephansplatz: particularly when I found to my surprise and delight that I had been upgraded to a room on the 7th floor with a fab terrace overlooking St Stephan's.

The hotel couldn't be more conveniently located: I was on a work trip and could get to 90% of my business meetings on trip and in my downtime to lots of attractions, shopping, restaurants, bars etc.

The breakfast was pretty good and plentiful: my requested soft boiled egg was cooked to perfection and on my last morning I was able to enjoy a glass of prosecco ;-)

I love Vienna anyway and this hotel will certainly be my first choice on my next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatInASuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your positive feedback on your stay at our hotel.

We are thrilled that you were completely satisfied with our services and facilities.

We look forward to your next visit and remain

with best regards from Vienna,
Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2013

We spent five nights here and were absolutely happy about our choice. Everything was in a fine condition, nice and clean. The staff was kind and professional. The breakfast was excellent too. The hotel is situated in the middle of Vienna next to the underground. We can strongly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guests,

we appreciate your feedback and recommendation.

We are very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the heart of Vienna and remain

with warm regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

My daughter and I wanted a hotel in central Vienna and came across this one. We got a really good deal and booked. The hotel is perfectly located, right in the centre of Vienna and we loved it. Our room was very comfortable and so quiet. All the tap water is drinking water and the carafe and glasses provided to enable us to enjoy the water were a nice touch. There were even glasses provided in the room for a range of drinks. I can honestly say the bed was the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in - and I include my own bed when I say that!
We got window seats for breakfast every morning and enjoyed watching people coming and going in the square below. There was a wide selection of breakfast foods, all very tasty. The freshly squeezed orange juice was delicious. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough and will happily stay there again if I return to Vienna (which I hope to do!)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you so much for your kind words and sharing your hotel impressions.

We are very glad that we could make your stay a rememberable on in the heart of Vienna. The GRANDER water throughout the hotel offers excellent quality. This water that is revitalized by a magnet is refreshing, softer and has a delicate flavor that is healthy.

We are very happy that you pleased with our moisture-foam mattresses. These were specially chosen, due to their special body support system, which provides pressure relief and promotes blood circulation.

We thank you for your recommendation and would be pleased to welcom you back in Vienna.

With warm greetings,
Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The bedroom, living area and bathroom were perfectly clean and modern. Wi-fi, special water, etc., all in good working order. Breakfast had a good choice of meats, cheeses, cereals, juices, etc., etc. and service was swift and efficient. Staff were friendly and helpful, not at all intrusive or surly.

We were a family of 3 in a suite on the top floor, visiting Vienna for 6 nights in mid-February. The room had no view of the cathedral, but this was not required. The room was quiet.

If I had to make one complaint it would be that the heating was on too high (probably required to some extent as it was still quite snowy, but we found it too much) - we tried to switch the heating off but we should have asked the staff about getting the temperature down a bit more as it dried the air and made getting to sleep rather difficult.

The hotel is perfectly situated for exploring central Vienna on foot, and for getting to the transport system for journeys further afield.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for sharing your opinion with other travellers.

We are happy that you were completely satisfied with our standards and facilities. We put much effort in keeping all our facilities in great order to meet our guests requirements.

We are sorry to hear that the room temperature was too hot. All our rooms have infinitely and adjustable temperature regulators. We would have been happy to help to make sure you feel comfortable.

We would be happy to welcome you back in the centre of Vienna at your next Family Holiday.

With kind regards,
Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,340 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 362 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing