We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Loved the great location, the friendly saff, excellent service, the clean and spacious room and of course the excellent view of the St. Stephan's Cathedral and Plaza... WOW!
We were in the heart of all the activity, shopping, eateries and all transportation. I highly reccommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Colleen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you for sharing your feedback with other Vienna travellers.

We are excited about your excellent review and are very happy that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon at Vienna's most central.

With best regards from Vienna
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,156)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,025 - 1,031 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2013

Super hotel in what must be the best location in Vienna - literally overlooking the magnificent Stephansdom cathedral. Large modern room with large bathroom with bath and separate shower. The hotel was stylishly decorated throughout and the staff were very friendly and helpful. I can't say I tried the restaurant as the area is well served by a host of different restaurants and bars. An excellent choice for a city break or business.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guest,

thanks a lot for your friendly comment.:)

We hope you had a safe trip home and we are looking forward to see you again in Vienna in the near future.

With best regards,
Angelina Eggl
(general manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My husband and I spent less than 24 hours in Vienna so needed a centrally located hotel so we could get the most out of Vienna in one day. This hotel couldn't be better located. It was very easy to get to from the train station and right across from a major Vienna landmark. The staff was all very friendly and they were very helpful to get us set up with dinner reservations on a day when a lot of restaurants were closed (December 26). They also arranged a cab for us at a ridiculous hour of the morning since we had to be to the airport for a very early flight. We had a great room facing St. Stephen's with huge windows and a lot of space, including a large closet which we didn't need but was nice. Everything was very clean. There was some noise from the square below and the church bells but it was not very loud at all and we were able to sleep fine. I would definitely stay here again if I were back in Vienna.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fablifeforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guests,

thanks a lot for your delightful feedback. We appreciate that you took some time to inform us on your experiences in our hotel.

It is very important for us to read guests reviews, as we take this very serious and see it as chance to keep up our quality standards.

We are looking forward to see you again in Vienna.

In the meantime we remain,

with best regards from Vienna,
Angelina Eggl
(general manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

My whole family stayed here from 23rd to 27th May (my wife, mother, daughter, son + girlfriend).
A perfectly situated hotel. All the rooms were very good and my wife and I had a top floor room with balcony which was large and very comfortable. The beds are extremely comfortable; the breakfast was great (with very fresh fruit). Some points (none of which would stop me staying again or highly recommending the hotel): the water in the shower tends to change temperature from warm to very hot at a moment's notice; the electric blinds externally covering the windows to our balcony (Rm 704) seemed to have a life of their own on the last night and opened automatically twice in the middle of the night; the switches controlling the blinds are not connected to the blinds in a logical order; there is no coffee or tea making facility in the room which would have been nice). The staff are very helpful. Although the square outside can be quite noisy the double glazing is really good and cuts out all noise.
I would absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in the middle of Vienna and in a quick walking distance of museums, Opera, and shopping.

Room Tip: Book a room with a view of the cathedral!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shliben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2013

Dear Guests,

thanks a lot for your delightful feedback. We are very thankful that you took some time to inform us about the impressions und experiences which made your superior during her stay with us.
Of course I will inform the whole team about your pleasant remarks.

We are looking forward to wellcome your superior or you in our hotel.

In the meantime we remain,

with best regards from Vienna,
Angelina Eggl
(General Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the hotel last week. We chose this particular hotel mainly because of the location and the excellent recommendations on TA web site. All what was written is precisely: best location, large modern room and large bathroom, comfortable large bed, operating air-condition with self-control, good lighting and very clean. The bathroom, shower and tub, were so clean that we even had a thought that we are the first to use. We booked a room facing the inner yard, it was lighted and very quiet. By arriving at the hotel quite early in the morning we were lucky to get the room before check-in hour. We didn't need informative help from the staff but they were very polite and efficient as well as the stuff at the breakfast room. We enjoyed sitting at breakfast time next to the huge window and watch the mornings at the cathedral square like in a dynamic photo with the cathedral at the background. Breakfast was great with many options to choose. The regular coffee was excellent as well as the fresh fruits, squeezed orange juice, fresh bagels etc. We asked for hot water kettle each night to make our own tea at room and it was given to us willingly. It could be better if there was in the room coffee/tea facilities The price of the hotel seems a bit high even we got a small reduction by special offer at booking.com. We didn't spend too much time comparing prices between equivalent hotels. We thought the location is worth the price, and we are highly satisfied by our choice and wish to pass it to other travelers. We will be glad to be guests again in Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inner yard, are lighted and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yael023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Guests,

we thank you for taking the time to share your hotel experiences.

We are delighted that you were fully satisfied with our services and facilities.

Our housekeeping team is trained on a regular basis to make sure all our rooms and public areas are spotless and welcoming.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast range. We try to keep our offer seasonal and diverse.

We look forward to your next visit in the centre of Vienna and remain

with kind regards from Vienna
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Bang in the centre of shopping restaurants and cafes, Excellent service. Very modern Hotel. Breakfast was very good. The spa is small but had it all for myself. The Hotel also let me use the spa to have a shower since I had a late flight. very competent staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sacha1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guest,

we thank you for your kind review.

We are very happy that we convinced you of our excellent Service and are happy that you enjoyed your Vienna stay.

We hope you drop by at your next planned trip to Vienna.

With Kind regards,
Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Excellent!!
Could not have asked for a better location, in the heart of Vienna( nest to the subway line). The room where extremely large and more importantly the beds very comfortable and bathroom spacious with a great shower and tub. lots of storage. Even though it is on a busy square the windows are very sound proof. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with everything from eggs to fresh O.J, breads etc

Room Tip: Pick a room facing the square room 405 has floor to ceiling windows that open to the church.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank shelleycincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Guests,

thank you very much for your positive feedback.

We appreciate you sharing your experiences on tripadvisor and are thrilled that you absolutely enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

Hope to welcome you back in the heart of Vienna soon,

with kind regards,
Your Team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Excellent!!
Could not have asked for a better location, in the heart of Vienna( nest to the subway line). The room where extremely large and more importantly the beds very comfortable and bathroom spacious with a great shower and tub. lots of storage. Even though it is on a busy square the windows are very sound proof. The breakfast buffet was well stocked with everything from eggs to fresh O.J, breads etc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,108 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,504 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
931 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,738 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £165 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna’s most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen’s cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna’s public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, MyHotelShop, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing