We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Campinas, SP
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

The hotel is right at the main square in Vienna, Stephanplatz, thus its location is the best possible, just a few steps from the metro station and within walking distance from most of the tourist spots in the city. Surroundings are very cozy and there are many restaurants and stores, with plenty of people strolling around. The room was very clean and comfortable, and wi-fi worked properly. Breakfast was excellent and had plenty of options. The only problem we faced is that inside the hotel there are some spots where guests can smoke, and while inside the place you can smell it sometimes. They should definitely change that.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcelo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your review and sharing your opinion with other travellers.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We are grateful for your feedback concerning our only smoking area in the hotel. We will take you suggestion of improvement in consideration to ensure no smell anoyance at breakfast time.

We sincerely hope to receive you as our guests in the heart of Vienna the next time you visit.

With best regards from Vienna,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,626
    410
    49
    6
    8
See reviews for
417
1,032
156
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
mbehjh
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We stayed in the suite "Tobias" and loved it. The room was very comfortable and easily large enough for the three of us. We were within walking distance of everything in the first district of Vienna and across the square from the cathedral. The breakfasts were very good, the staff mostly very helpful and friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the side facing the cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mbehjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your feedback on your stay at our hotel.

We are happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay in our Suite >Tobias< on the top floor with spacious roof terrace. The central location of our hotel really makes Vienna easy accessible for any cultural plans.

We hope you had a good trip home and would be delighted to welcome you back at our hotel at your next planned trip to Vienna.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This hotel is 1 of the most wonderful hotels in vienna it is very clean modern quite frindly staff delicious breakfast good ac perfect location comfort beds overall it if the best in my lovely city vienna.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamorah h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for sharing your impressions of our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you took home wonderful memories from your stay in the heart of Vienna.


With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I live in the United States, and I have had the good fortune to visit Vienna 8 times. The first time I booked a room at the Hotel Am Stephansplatz because of its location. The next 7 times I have booked a room there, not just because of the location, but because the hotel staff is the friendliest and most courteous and helpful I have ever seen. In addition, the rooms are very well appointed and are very clean and comfortable. And the hotel has the best breakfast with the best view of the Cathedral in all of Vienna. I love to enjoy the premium breakfast in the relaxed setting looking at St. Stephens and watching the area come alive as people begin their day. I highly recommend Hotel Am Stephansplatz, and am looking forward to my next stay there. Professor from the U.S.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Dear Professor,

we are excited about your words and thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

Making guests feel at home during a stay in Vienna is our aim and we are proud to hear that you are fully satisfied with our services and amenities after 8 stays at our hotel.

We will keep up the good work and joy of serving our guests.

Looking Forward to your next visit in the heart of Vienna.

With kind regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

The location was ideal. The hotel staff was very accommodating. I was initially given
a room which overlooked an interior courtyard. I asked for an upgrade to a room with
a view of Stephansplatz and the cathedral. One was available the very next day.
My only issue was at breakfast; If you wanted orange juice you had to prepare it yourself.
A large and VERY LOUD electric juicer is provided. It was a disturbance whenever it
was used. Otherwise, the breakfasts are excellent. The breakfast room's main window
overlooks Stephansplatz.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank onewhosails01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
We are sorry that you were not happy with our juicer at breakfast. We get the overall feedback that guests are thrilled to freshly squeeze juice. Simply let us serve a fresh juice to your table at your next stay.

We hope to welcome you back at our hotel and remain

with best regards from Vienna,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2013

For the trip, time the good weather. Make good use of the fine hotel facilities and services. I would suggest a longer stay - five nights minimum for touring the area. A self walking tour is nice but a professional guide is so much nicer.

Room Tip: Select with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank gpavlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for sharing your HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ impressions.

Glad you enjoyed your short stay at our hotel. We hope to welcome you back for a longer stay in our beautiful city.

Wtih best regards from Vienna,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Location is top notch. As central as you can get.

Room size is surprisingly big. Very clean and comfortable, and appears to have been remodelled recently. Same goes for the bathroom.

Breakfast was great - large selection of items to pick from.

I definitely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rabnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 14 June 2013
Dear Guests,

we thank you for your kind words.

We are delighted to read your feedback and pleased that you fully enjoyed your stay at our hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards from Vienna,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,306 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing