We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Absolutely perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel over the Christmas holiday. It couldn't have been a better experience. It is a beautiful hotel. Room was spacious, clean, modern and comfortable and looked right out onto the beautiful cathedral. It was especially magical with the Christmas market in the square and the tolling of the cathedral's bells for Christmas but the hotel would be a wonderful choice for any time of year. It was very quiet, even on the busy square - well insulated windows. Public transportation very close but you can walk everywhere - the location was outstanding. The breakfast buffet was excellent - generous spread with a lot of choices. Best of all, however, was the hotel service. Absolutely first rate. The people at the front desk were incredibly gracious and helpful. Excellent suggestions on places to eat and things to do. We have no hesitation in recommending this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the square and cathedral - especially beautiful at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SkylerM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,573
    403
    48
    6
    8
See reviews for
392
1,005
153
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (454)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Falls, South Dakota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014

The hotel has a terrific location. We stayed here over New Years. The front desk was helpful with questions we had and the breakfast was good. Not the best we had, but good. Every time we walked in the lobby, I thought it smelled of cigarette smoke.the room didn't smell at all, so it wasn't a big issue. Our room faced the courtyard which was disappointing. I guess that was our fault. We tended not to use the living room at all as it wasn't terribly cozy to me. The room was very "chopped up" into little areas. This was the most expensive place we stayed over 3 weeks and I was left wondering whether it was worth it. When we arrived, the front desk was determined we had 2 kids with us and had set up the room that way. So, even though it was late, they had to take the extra beds out. Also trying to get a bucket of ice took 3 phone calls. Over an hour and a half.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fred and Pam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

The central location is truly sensational. The hotel décor is fresh and modern but by no means lavish or exceptional (high quality 3 star standard). Breakfast is completely standard for a normal 3 star hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

Summary: it's a very good little hotel in an excellent location but the place really doesn't deserve to be considered one of the top tier in Vienna.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guests,

we thank you for sharing your impressions with us and other travellers.

We appreciate your open words and are happy that we could convince you of our friendly and individual service. Our vision is to make our guests feel right at home and enjoy the best location in Vienna.

Of course we are sorry that we could not meet your interior demands. We conduct renovation works each year to sustain and improve our standards.

We hope you had a safe journey home and remain

with kind regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Great hotel. Well worth upgrading to a view of the cathedral. Couldn't be more centrally located. Walking distance of all the restaurants you could need. Reception staff are fantastic, great customer service. The bar staff could do with spending some time with them, they are awful. The only down side to this stay was the bar staff. Everything else was better than expected

Room Tip: Cathedral view, if you don't have one, you'll regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PThomas82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We could not get a booking at our chosen Vienna hotel so decided to try this one. As many have noted before the location is wonderful..
We booked a junior suite with a courtyard view, since no cathedral views were available at booking. The suite was good, although the décor was a bit school camp like. The bedroom was spacious and completely separate to a comfy living room. The bathroom had both a bath and free standing shower and was large and clean. The WC was separate. No complaints at all regarding the accommodation, it was very comfortable.
The porter who took our bags up was the most unfriendly I have ever come across. I wonder if he knew how to smile? On the 1st morning I went to breakfast solo and the service again was quite unwelcoming. The next morning I was with my husband and the same waitress could not have been nicer, weird?? The breakfast here is fine, but not outstanding and we had many better spreads on our travels.
So, good accommodation but we never truly felt welcome here. The attitude of the staff really let the place down and if we were in Vienna again, this would not be my first choice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmeraldDiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for feedback and sharing your impressions with us and other travellers.

Reading your review we are really sorry to have not make you feel at home and welcome. We are a small team and do our work with much joy and passion. This is definitely not the service and impression we want make. We take your words very seriously and see this as an opportunity to keep on working on us.

We want to thank you for pointing out the good things and what you appreciated at our hotel.

We would of course be grateful to get another chance to convince you of our friendly service and remain

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Thank you very much for the upgrade to the Tobias Suite!! This made a tremendous difference to our 3 room bookings as a family of 6. The suite made our Christmas holiday truly special as we can gather together as a family and also experience the magical atmosphere from St Stephen's cathedral in the heart of Vienna. We were impressed with the design and quality of the rooms especially the facility of heated flooring in the bathrooms. Breakfast was exceptional and the staff were all so pleasant and helpful. Concierge staff were equally as helpful especially when it came to ensuring we had Christmas eve dinner reservation sorted out. I would not hesitate to recommend your hotel to anyone and I would return to Vienna just to stay in your hotel. Thank you very much for making our festive season 2013 the most memorable and magical one so far!!

Room Tip: Ask for room facing St Stephen's cathedral for a good view. If not, the view at breakfast more t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank woodstock515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guests,

we would like to thank you for your feedback.

We are delighted to have made your Christmas holidays a special and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and hope to welcome you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed here four several nights including New Year's Eve. The location was amazingly perfect. It was located in the heart of the central historic district and we were able to watch the New Year's Eve concert from the comfort and warmth of our room. Although it was in a potentially very noisy setting the hotel had fabulous windows that managed to block out almost all noise. As a light sleeper I couldn't have been more pleased. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was good. I found the decor be a bit ikea-ish, which was really my only complaint.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Trvl8176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spolczer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Guests,

we thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are glad you enjoyed your New Year stay at our home in the heart of Vienna. All our windows are triple glazed to make sure our guest have a restful sleep.

Our hotel follows ecological and building biology guidelines. The building materials and all other materials, furnishings, fittings and equipment have been chosen with the greatest care and a focus on the environment. The interior is dominated by noble woods, leather, warm colours, sophisticated art and high-quality design. The furniture in all our guest rooms are individually carpented - we therefore regret you having an IKEA impression.

We would be pleased to welcome you back as guests and remain

with best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 360 in Vienna
818 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 360 in Vienna
1,373 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#3 of 360 in Vienna
1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#7 of 360 in Vienna
2,168 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 360 in Vienna
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing