We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel in the center of the city where everything is near to you, the metro station is just below the hotel, its in the touristic square where there are hundreds of restaurants and coffee shops and its an amazing shopping area. The staff are Friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Jawhar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,155)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

816 - 822 of 2,156 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel located in Stephansplatz! No center than that! It is just steps walk from the metro.
The hotel is very clean and very pleasant, room are well organized and feel very specious.
The breakfast contained everything we wanted and the fun part is that you can squeeze your own fresh orange and carton juice from fresh fruits.
The hotel stuff was very helpful for every question and need we had,
The only downside of this hotel is "Location" :-( The hotel is few steps from San Stephan church, so the church bells wake up us at 7:00am every morning. So if you are from those that like to sleep late and sound do annoy you - please take it into consideration.
We definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise ask for room looking to the internal yard. But street view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kadan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Pros:
Location - as the name suggests, it is across from St. Stephan's Cathedral.
We stayed in a Jr. Suite whose living room looked directly at the cathedral.
The metro station is right outside the door. Pretty much everything within RingStrasse is within walking distance.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast is first rate, and it is hard to beat the view.
We can make our own juices (carrots, apples, oranges).

Overall, we had a wonderful time.

Con:
The shower was a bit tight.

Room Tip: Check their website for specials. It is a privately owned hotel so they offer specials on their webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear Jackson,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

KUDOS
You cannot beat the location or decor. I enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

Exceptionally clean and quiet room with ample surfaces for putting our luggage. I suggest asking for a higher floor if concerned about street noise.

Room key-controlled doors separating guest rooms from the elevator area create both quiet and security.

We were impressed with the room safe having a 6-number lock instead of 4.

Breakfast room: try to get a window seat facing the Platz. The U-Bahn commuters, tourists, concert hawkers and pamphleteers make fine street theatre. The efficient staff greets you quickly, notes where you sit and prepares your coffee or tea while you head for the buffet. The orange juice can't be fresher--you squeeze oranges yourself with the juicer. One morning they offered bacon-wrapped sausages.

Bath: Most appreciated--the drop-down drying rack for laundry on the heated towel rack, having a separate shower stall from the tub so that we didn't have to do-si-do at night, the squeeze dispensers in tub and shower (no dropping little containers or fishing for lids under water)

Staff: most helpful and knowlegable, and kept an eye on comings and goings without being obvious. They even found a little vase for a lily one of the dinner restaurants gave me.

QUIBBLE
The porter gave us a good tour of our room and features, but it would have been helpful to have the window roller blinds demonstrated. We discovered them later when we tried the wall switch between the windows. Never figured out how to keep them shut until we got up in mornings (they automatically tilted horizontal at first light). I'm a morning person but my husband is not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor if concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmserpento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful & great review.

We are very pleased to have made your stay a memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This is a very impressive hotel. From the moment you arrive you feel appreciated. The warmth and friendliness is clear although always professional. The reception staff are invaluable, food exceptional and all facilities are great. I felt that this hotel was the best position possible for a very enjoyable holiday in Vienna.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Gerard,

thank you very much for your wonderful & great review.

We are very pleased to have made your stay a memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Be very specific what room you book, and what you get. We booked a junior suite with a view of the Stephan's Dome, We got a skimpy view of Dome steeples, not a very sincerer I am sorry, and the chocolates that were advertised, we got as a peacemaker for the not so good view. Some staff seem to have a problem reading.(room maids) as toiletries were incorrectly supplied IE one day we got an abundance of hair conditioners. Otherwise very good. Good breakfast buffet.However we would choose this hotel again.

Room Tip: Be specific, and hold the Hotel accountable if it is not the agreed Room. Change Hotels if need to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Othmar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear Othmar,

thank you very much for your constructive review.

Please be sure, that we will discuss the above mentioned points within our next manager meeting.
Although we are pleased do have made your holiday a nice and memorable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great place to stay in vienna, best location.You can step out of the lobby and be at the heart of Vienna. The front desk staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Breakfast was excellent with a huge choice and with fresh juices! Service was impeccable, they treat their guests like kings.The room was air conditioned and had large windows . The free Wi-Fi was great, the beds incredibly comfortable. We would definitely stay there again next time in Vienna. We're recommending this Hotel to all our friends !

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MosheLahat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful & great review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

Please be sure, that we will forward your feedback to our team.
We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,107 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,503 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
931 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,737 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £165 - £335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna’s most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen’s cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna’s public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MyHotelShop, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing