We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect Vienna hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Amity, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The perfect Vienna hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location was fabulous. The view over the platz and the cathedral was worth every penny. We had Vienna friends who were envious of our view . The staff was wonderful. Overall the perfect way to experience Vienna. It is central to everything. The breakfast was excellent and best of all was the chocolate.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Vikki,

thank you very much for your wonderful and nice review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,952 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,505
    385
    48
    6
    8
See reviews for
373
966
149
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was a pleasure from start to finish. We were on the 6th floor looking at the most famous cathedral in Vienna and hearing the bells at close range. The service was terrific, the appointments in the room were excellent, and the breakfasts were to die for.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room or else it could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank N.M.J.O.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Recently I stayed with my husband at the Am Stephansplatz hotel in Vienna . The hotel could not have been any more central , and the staff were extremely professional and helpful . The room had all you needed . and was serviced every day . The breakfasts were great and were plentiful , and the dining room staff were friendly and helpful . We would look forward to staying here again .

Room Tip: Ask for a room wih a nice or interesting view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mystic212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very pleased to have made your stay a memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel in the center of the city where everything is near to you, the metro station is just below the hotel, its in the touristic square where there are hundreds of restaurants and coffee shops and its an amazing shopping area. The staff are Friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jawhar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel located in Stephansplatz! No center than that! It is just steps walk from the metro.
The hotel is very clean and very pleasant, room are well organized and feel very specious.
The breakfast contained everything we wanted and the fun part is that you can squeeze your own fresh orange and carton juice from fresh fruits.
The hotel stuff was very helpful for every question and need we had,
The only downside of this hotel is "Location" :-( The hotel is few steps from San Stephan church, so the church bells wake up us at 7:00am every morning. So if you are from those that like to sleep late and sound do annoy you - please take it into consideration.
We definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise ask for room looking to the internal yard. But street view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kadan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Pros:
Location - as the name suggests, it is across from St. Stephan's Cathedral.
We stayed in a Jr. Suite whose living room looked directly at the cathedral.
The metro station is right outside the door. Pretty much everything within RingStrasse is within walking distance.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.
The buffet breakfast is first rate, and it is hard to beat the view.
We can make our own juices (carrots, apples, oranges).

Overall, we had a wonderful time.

Con:
The shower was a bit tight.

Room Tip: Check their website for specials. It is a privately owned hotel so they offer specials on their webs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackson L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Jackson,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

KUDOS
You cannot beat the location or decor. I enthusiastically recommend this hotel.

Exceptionally clean and quiet room with ample surfaces for putting our luggage. I suggest asking for a higher floor if concerned about street noise.

Room key-controlled doors separating guest rooms from the elevator area create both quiet and security.

We were impressed with the room safe having a 6-number lock instead of 4.

Breakfast room: try to get a window seat facing the Platz. The U-Bahn commuters, tourists, concert hawkers and pamphleteers make fine street theatre. The efficient staff greets you quickly, notes where you sit and prepares your coffee or tea while you head for the buffet. The orange juice can't be fresher--you squeeze oranges yourself with the juicer. One morning they offered bacon-wrapped sausages.

Bath: Most appreciated--the drop-down drying rack for laundry on the heated towel rack, having a separate shower stall from the tub so that we didn't have to do-si-do at night, the squeeze dispensers in tub and shower (no dropping little containers or fishing for lids under water)

Staff: most helpful and knowlegable, and kept an eye on comings and goings without being obvious. They even found a little vase for a lily one of the dinner restaurants gave me.

QUIBBLE
The porter gave us a good tour of our room and features, but it would have been helpful to have the window roller blinds demonstrated. We discovered them later when we tried the wall switch between the windows. Never figured out how to keep them shut until we got up in mornings (they automatically tilted horizontal at first light). I'm a morning person but my husband is not.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a floor if concerned about noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mmserpento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful & great review.

We are very pleased to have made your stay a memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#2 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 730 reviews
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#6 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#8 of 367 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,976 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#3 of 367 in Vienna
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotel.de, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing