We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb stay in a delightful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb stay in a delightful city”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We found that the comfort and service in Am Stephanplatz was first class. The staff were friendly, courteous and very helpful, and the rooms extremely well appointed. Breakfast was a treat, catering for all tastes - you can start with a glass of sparkling wine, continue with an extensive choice of fine food, finishing with a small piece of succulent cake. The location is unbeatable for access to the city centre, as you are right in it, opposite the magnificent Stephansdom. It is a little more expensive than hotels we normally stay at, but we were there with good friends to celebrate my wife's 60th birthday (which the management graciously acknowledged with a small gift), and I can say on behalf of us all that it was worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Robert A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Robbie,

thank you very much for your great and friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,099 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,626
    410
    49
    6
    8
See reviews for
417
1,032
156
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (469)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

This was our 2nd stay at hotel and loved it just as much as 1st. While the room we wanted was not available (room 702), hotel ensured we would have 1 of their 3 rooms with balcony facing Cathedral Stephansplatz. Lovely to sit on balcony, have a glass of wine with your special person, enjoy fantastic views of Church, square and people. Plus, hotel is in perfect location - just steps away from metro line 3.

Breakfast was very nice and plentiful. Special egg dishes on request, sparkling wine, fresh fruits, fresh squeezed juice, great view of Stephansplatz square, lattes, etc. Restaurant staff very friendly speaks numerous languages, quick to respond to request.

Hotel staff super. Always willing to provide assistance. They went out of their way to ensure we would have one of their 3 rooms with a roof top balcony.

Highly recommend Hotel Am Stephansplatz and would recommend staying in room 702 (their best suite) or one of their other 2 rooms with roof top balcony. IMO, room rates are very under-priced for a hotel of this quality at such a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Room with a roof top balcony (702, 703 or 704)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank FormerExpat2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Walter,

thank you very much for your wonderful and nice review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday again a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amity, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The location was fabulous. The view over the platz and the cathedral was worth every penny. We had Vienna friends who were envious of our view . The staff was wonderful. Overall the perfect way to experience Vienna. It is central to everything. The breakfast was excellent and best of all was the chocolate.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikki972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Vikki,

thank you very much for your wonderful and nice review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This hotel was a pleasure from start to finish. We were on the 6th floor looking at the most famous cathedral in Vienna and hearing the bells at close range. The service was terrific, the appointments in the room were excellent, and the breakfasts were to die for.

Room Tip: Try to get an upper floor room or else it could be a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N.M.J.O.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Recently I stayed with my husband at the Am Stephansplatz hotel in Vienna . The hotel could not have been any more central , and the staff were extremely professional and helpful . The room had all you needed . and was serviced every day . The breakfasts were great and were plentiful , and the dining room staff were friendly and helpful . We would look forward to staying here again .

Room Tip: Ask for a room wih a nice or interesting view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mystic212014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very pleased to have made your stay a memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Amazing hotel in the center of the city where everything is near to you, the metro station is just below the hotel, its in the touristic square where there are hundreds of restaurants and coffee shops and its an amazing shopping area. The staff are Friendly and helpful.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jawhar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The hotel located in Stephansplatz! No center than that! It is just steps walk from the metro.
The hotel is very clean and very pleasant, room are well organized and feel very specious.
The breakfast contained everything we wanted and the fun part is that you can squeeze your own fresh orange and carton juice from fresh fruits.
The hotel stuff was very helpful for every question and need we had,
The only downside of this hotel is "Location" :-( The hotel is few steps from San Stephan church, so the church bells wake up us at 7:00am every morning. So if you are from those that like to sleep late and sound do annoy you - please take it into consideration.
We definitely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid noise ask for room looking to the internal yard. But street view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Kadan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your nice review.

We are very happy to have made your stay a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,305 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing