We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the centre of town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Hotel staff were extremely helpful and kind in everyday. Sabrina at desk is a delight. Room clean and spacious. Couldn't have asked for more. Breakfast adequate. Close to shopping district and a wonderful view of Stefansdom and a joy to hear the bells in the morning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Vivienne I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear Vivienne,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very happy to have made your holiday a special one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,130)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Am Stephansplatz
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 2,130 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in June 2014, having previously stayed here in 2012. Quite often, a second visit to a hotel, based on expectations from a good first visit turn to disappointment. However, we were not disappointed and the hotel more than lived up to our high expectations. The location is second to none, right in the centre of the city, the rooms are modern and comfortable and the triple glazed windows keep out all noise and weather. The breakfast is great, with the restaurant on the first floor offering amazing views of the passing parade in Stephansplatz and the cathedral. The reception staff are extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the cathedral and the square. That means they will be noisy and you will have to...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gerryhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great and friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday again a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We were very happy with our stay at this hotel. We’ve traveled extensively through Europe, and were pleased with the quality of the rooms (modern and spacious for the price). We were lucky to still have a partial view of the cathedral on the 5th floor even though we booked their most economical room category. This bit of luck definitely colored our experience!

The room had plenty of space and the bathroom was quite large - everything very modern. We spent quite a bit of time in their restaurant which has an incredible view of the square and cathedral – breakfasts and before-dinner drinks with this view are a must!

The check-in process was also the easiest ever – we arrived after a long day of traveling from Seattle, and they already had all the paperwork and key cards ready for us. It took like than 5 minutes – what a great first impression. Was also incredibly easy to travel with our large bags via the subway to the train station for our next destination.

All in all, this was a great place to stay at a reasonable price. You’re directly next to the underground, many restaurants, and of course the cathedral is right across the plaza.

Room Tip: Book a non-cathedral view but request a higher floor. Chances are that you'll still get a partia...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeathrTravlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful and friendly review.

We are very happy to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Your hotel needs are very comfortably met at the Hotel am Stephansplatz(hereafter HAT)!

The staff was very helpful with confirmations and checkins for air travel and printed bding passes for our family. The surrounding area was undoubtably the ritziest shopping area in town and the hotel was only walking distance to the majority of the local attractions. Breakfasts were also very nice.

I did have an issue with their policy to shorten our stay once we arrived. In other places one is able to adjust the length of stay if changes are made 24 hrs in advance. Once we arrived we could not shorten our stay from 4 days to 3, despite asking the first evening. Hmmmph.

Over all a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: ask for catrhedral view.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank jktred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special one!
Please be sure that we will discuss your mentioned, construcitve criticism within our next management meeting.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Highly recommend this hotel!! Great location! Clean, comfortable and spacious rooms! Friendly staff with good service! Nice breakfast! right in the middle of stephanplatz, facing the cathedral. Next to main metro station with two major lines. Next to shopping streets and many cafes and restaurants.

Room Tip: nice to have a room facing the cathedral
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank talia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great and friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

One of the best hotels I have stayed and I have stayed in many. Great service and a location that is unbelievably close to the church. Excellent breakfast with two types of fresh juicers.Large baths and rooms. Very comfortable and modern. Fast internet. Good coffee. Can pay for your taxi with room charges.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kkhill87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great and friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

This hotel was located literally right next to the underground station and the St. Stephen's cathedral. Many of the rooms have a direct (and very close up) view or side view of the cathedral. Staff was helpful, breakfast was excellent. There was also a bar menu for light food at other times of day. The room had about the best air conditioning I have found in Europe. It was effective and very adjustable, as well as being quiet. The beds were very comfortable. The room was pretty large. Bathroom was huge and had a big bathtub. There was good storage available in the room.

Our room (602) did have one small glitch. It had blinds which were external to the windows, and each morning when (I think) the wind would increase, an updraft would cause the blinds to become horizontal and the room would flood with light at around 6:30 to 7 AM, requiring us to get up to manually press the button to shut them again. This would only be a problem on our floor and the one above it. The lower floors seemed to have regular internal curtains. I think that this problem could be easily solved by either putting blinds inside the windows, or just getting rid of the blinds and putting in dark curtains.

Anyway, this was a small problem and the hotel is definitely recommended.

Room Tip: To avoid the problem with the blinds, choose a room on a lower floor (5 or below).
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kazoo246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your fiendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

Please be sure we will discuss your constructive criticism within our next mangement meeting.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,091 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,478 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,717 reviews
Mariahilf
Small Luxury Hotel Das Tyrol
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £176 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), MyHotelShop, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing