We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Best Experience in a Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stephensplatz is in an awesome location. Very centralized. This is one of the best hotels I've EVER stayed at. I have been to many. The staff is AMAZING. Food is out of this world. Service is impeccable. If you are staying in Vienna this is the place to stay!! If you arrive by the local subway train. As you exit the Stephensplatz stop, the hotel is right there in your face. Just walk around the corner to the front door. I can make this a book with many details so to keep short. If you are thinking about staying here, JUST DO IT! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the St Stephens Cathedral on the 6th floor. It was perfect. Can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DougyFresh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear guests,

thank you very much for your wonderful review!

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a memorable one!
Please be sure that we will forward your comments to our team.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

797 - 803 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just checked out of the Hotel Am Stephansplatz after a three night stay and loved every minute! We received a free room upgrade upon arrive to a 7th floor room with balcony overlooking Stephansplatz. It was a superb room with an even better view. The bed were extremely comfortable with great pillows and linens. Big bathroom with a great shower too. We had breakfast included in our stay each morning that was really wonderful. Huge assortment of hot and cold items (great cheeses!) and really tasty coffee. Great view from the restaurant as well! The staff at the hotel was incredibly helpful. As it was our first time in Vienna and we speak no German, they helped us make dinner reservations before arrival and arranged for transportation from the airport upon arrival and to the train station upon checkout. The car that picked us up at the airport was very high quality with a very professional driver. Met us at the arrivals with our name on a sign. Great after a long flight and lots of jet lag! The best thing about the hotel is the location. We only needed the subway once during our stay (to get to Schönbrunn palace) and were able to walk anywhere within the ring in less than 10 minutes. Despite the busy location, we found the hotel to be nice and quiet on the inside. The hotel is surrounded by great pedestrian areas with lots of shopping and dining options. Really is the most central place you could stay! If we visit Vienna again we won't even bother looking into other hotels. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

we thank you for sharing your impressions with us and other travellers.

We are very glad you enjoyed your holidays with us and that we could make your stay a comfortable one. Please be sure that we will forward your comments to our team.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a double deluxe room and it was amazing! Perfect location, directly in front of the underground and right in the centre of town. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a terrace overlooking a side street and St. Stephen's Cathedral. The bathroom was clean with plenty of space. We had no issue with noise, despite being located in the main square. The staff were exceptional - very friendly and helpful. We arrived early in the morning and whilst our room was not ready, they allowed us to take a shower in their sauna room as we had arrived by night train and desperately needed to freshen up. They had also booked opera tickets for us in advance and we had excellent seats. The breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of hot and cold foods and great Viennese coffee made to order. (The coffee lady was a bit unfriendly, but we didn't let that bother us.) Overall we thought the hotel was well worth the money. We highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very spacious with a terrace overlooking St. Stephen's Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Farrell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review!

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Can't say enough good things about the staff here. They were quick to offer directions. Brought up a pot of hot water for tea. And saved the day when we left behind an adapter in our room once we checked out ---they provided us with an alternate so we could charge our phones before heading to the airport.
The room itself was tidy but tiny. Amazing bath and shower tho to make up for the lack of space. As far as location: right smack in the middle of the square, but jammed with tourists and loud at night. On the good side, it faces out onto a pleasant little street with a great restaurant next door. Still I would choose to stay in a quieter and quainter location next time in vienna.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesBriG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your constructive review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Hotel Am Stephansplatz during our first trip to Vienna mid June. The location is superb, the rooms are modern and impeccably clean, the breakfasts delicious, the view of St. Stephan's is incredible and considering all this, the rates are reasonable. What sets this hotel apart however, is the kind, caring and efficient staff. No matter what we asked of them, everyone helped us with a smile. In fact, the bellman spent half an hour with my husband trying to fit our party of six and our suitcases into our rental mini van. He seemed genuinely concerned for our safety. (Please tell him we're ok!). This is a great hotel and we would definitely stay here again when we return to beautiful Vienna.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zuska2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review!

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a memorable one!
Please be sure that we will forward your comments to our team and of course also to our bellboy.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My wife and I have stayed at Hotel am Stephansplatz on two occasions: one week last
summer and June 29 through June 5 of this year. After many years of international travel,
I have to say that Hotel am Stephansplatz is the best hotel we have ever stayed in. The
staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful. The rooms are clean, inviting, modern and very
well-appointed. And, of course, the location of the hotel could not be better. Again this
year we chose a room overlooking St. Stephan's Cathedral. This is a truly tremendous
view. Also of note is the fact that the Stephansplatz U-Bahn station is only a short walk
from the hotel, making it very easy to travel via subway to virtually any area in Vienna.
The cost of staying at Hotel am Stephansplatz is very reasonable. The breakfasts are
simply superb. I cannot recommend any hotel higher than Hotel am Stephansplatz!

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking St. Stephan's Cathedral. The windows are double insulated so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GreenlandFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very happy to have made your holiday again a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Great hotel, great staff, great room, great location in Vienna Old Town. Easy to get to and from airport via CAT and U3 underground. Many shops and sidewalk cafes. Try Huth for great food. Walk to almost all attractions or take the U underground. Take a day trip by bus and boat to Melk Abby. Take in a Morzart concert.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arcatec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very happy to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,109 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,514 reviews
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#9 of 359 in Vienna
938 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#5 of 359 in Vienna
1,741 reviews
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#2 of 359 in Vienna
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £165 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna’s most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen’s cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna’s public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MyHotelShop, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing