We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in the heart of Vienna”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Ranked #11 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
North Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in the heart of Vienna”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is a very well run hotel, in the very heart of Vienna. The room was clean and well appointed. The bathroom was modern and spacious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was comprehensive and of good quality. The internet was also of good quality and FREE. (Large hotel chains, please take note.) The whole experience shows how much better it is to stay in a hotel not associated with bland International groups. I would recommend this establishment to anyone, and I would certainly stay here again should the occasion arise.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing the Cathedral. The double glazing is quite sufficient to deaden the noise of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Happy-but-choosy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great and friendly review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,618
    409
    49
    6
    8
See reviews for
412
1,028
156
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (468)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the place. The location is outstanding for a visit to Vienna. We were in residence for 7 days and would gladly return. I truly enjoyed looking out on Stepensplatz and Stephensdom every day. I recommend you upgrade your room to get the view. The location is central to everything in Vienna. The key triangle is between Stepansdom, the Opera House, and the Hofburg (Michaelsplatz) - that is the sweet spot imho. Another major highlight was the breakfast! A full and varied buffet breakfast is included everyday - again looking right out on Stephansplatz. The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful in making reservations at local restaurants and activities - but not overly fussy and intrusive. Room was comfortable. Bathroom was large and updated. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrade to look out on Stephansplatz.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank David-on-the-Road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your wonderful review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed two night at the hotel with a view directly across from St. Stephan's Cathedral. The plaza was very busy, especially at night, but the soundproofed windows were very effective.
Breakfasts were very good with a machine to squeeze fresh fruit for juice. The lady at the front desk was exceptionally helpful with all our requests and needs. We would definitely stay here
again

Room Tip: Rooms facing the plaza and church are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Roaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review.

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a special and memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, FL
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

The hotel is directly across the plaza from the cathedral--the best possible location for sightseeing as much of what you want to see and do (and where you will want to shop and eat) is nearby, and the subway is just a few steps away with multiple lines to take you most places in the city. The room was quite nice with a view of the cathedral, a programmable safe and comfortable beds. The large (included) breakfast spread (also with a cathedral view) was the best we saw on our entire recent trip (don't miss the Austrian pancakes and plum sauce) with a do-it yourself juicer. The staff was extremely nice and professional. All things considered, I don't see how a visitor could find a better place to stay in Vienna.

Room Tip: High floor, cathedral view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taxatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great and friendly feedback.

We are very happy you enjoyed your holidays with us and that we could make your stay a comfortable one.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wylie, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stephensplatz is in an awesome location. Very centralized. This is one of the best hotels I've EVER stayed at. I have been to many. The staff is AMAZING. Food is out of this world. Service is impeccable. If you are staying in Vienna this is the place to stay!! If you arrive by the local subway train. As you exit the Stephensplatz stop, the hotel is right there in your face. Just walk around the corner to the front door. I can make this a book with many details so to keep short. If you are thinking about staying here, JUST DO IT! You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We had a room with a view of the St Stephens Cathedral on the 6th floor. It was perfect. Can't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank DougyFresh9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear guests,

thank you very much for your wonderful review!

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a memorable one!
Please be sure that we will forward your comments to our team.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watertown, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We just checked out of the Hotel Am Stephansplatz after a three night stay and loved every minute! We received a free room upgrade upon arrive to a 7th floor room with balcony overlooking Stephansplatz. It was a superb room with an even better view. The bed were extremely comfortable with great pillows and linens. Big bathroom with a great shower too. We had breakfast included in our stay each morning that was really wonderful. Huge assortment of hot and cold items (great cheeses!) and really tasty coffee. Great view from the restaurant as well! The staff at the hotel was incredibly helpful. As it was our first time in Vienna and we speak no German, they helped us make dinner reservations before arrival and arranged for transportation from the airport upon arrival and to the train station upon checkout. The car that picked us up at the airport was very high quality with a very professional driver. Met us at the arrivals with our name on a sign. Great after a long flight and lots of jet lag! The best thing about the hotel is the location. We only needed the subway once during our stay (to get to Schönbrunn palace) and were able to walk anywhere within the ring in less than 10 minutes. Despite the busy location, we found the hotel to be nice and quiet on the inside. The hotel is surrounded by great pedestrian areas with lots of shopping and dining options. Really is the most central place you could stay! If we visit Vienna again we won't even bother looking into other hotels. We will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pamela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

we thank you for sharing your impressions with us and other travellers.

We are very glad you enjoyed your holidays with us and that we could make your stay a comfortable one. Please be sure that we will forward your comments to our team.

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in a double deluxe room and it was amazing! Perfect location, directly in front of the underground and right in the centre of town. Our room was spacious and comfortable with a terrace overlooking a side street and St. Stephen's Cathedral. The bathroom was clean with plenty of space. We had no issue with noise, despite being located in the main square. The staff were exceptional - very friendly and helpful. We arrived early in the morning and whilst our room was not ready, they allowed us to take a shower in their sauna room as we had arrived by night train and desperately needed to freshen up. They had also booked opera tickets for us in advance and we had excellent seats. The breakfast was excellent with a wide selection of hot and cold foods and great Viennese coffee made to order. (The coffee lady was a bit unfriendly, but we didn't let that bother us.) Overall we thought the hotel was well worth the money. We highly recommend this hotel and we would definitely choose to stay again.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very spacious with a terrace overlooking St. Stephen's Cathedral.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farrell99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MsHofbauer, Manager at Hotel Am Stephansplatz, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear guest,

thank you very much for your great review!

We are very pleased to have made your holiday a memorable one!

We thank you for your kind recommendation and are looking forward to welcoming you back at Vienna's most central.

With best regards,
Your team HOTEL AM STEPHANSPLATZ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Old University Quarter
Hollmann Beletage
Hollmann Beletage
#5 of 361 in Vienna
1,076 reviews
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 361 in Vienna
1,444 reviews
Inner City
The Guesthouse Vienna
The Guesthouse Vienna
#8 of 361 in Vienna
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Wieden
Best Western Premier Kaiserhof Wien
Neubau
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
Hotel Altstadt Vienna
#9 of 361 in Vienna
2,300 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Sacher Wien
Hotel Sacher Wien
#4 of 361 in Vienna
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Am Stephansplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Am Stephansplatz

Property: Hotel Am Stephansplatz
Address: Stephansplatz 9 | 1010 Vienna, Vienna 1010, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Inner City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Vienna
#4 Business Hotel in Vienna
#9 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
#11 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Am Stephansplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel am Stephansplatz - Vienna's most central! Whether you are staying at our privately owned 4-star Boutique hotel for business or leisure, our absolutely central location and personalized service will make you feel at home at the Hotel am Stephansplatz and enthuse you immediately. Right opposite the famous St. Stephen's cathedral and just minutes away from all major sights in the city centre, the Hotel am Stephansplatz offers the ideal location to discover beautiful Vienna. Also all popular shopping streets and areas such as Kaerntner Strasse, Graben and Kohlmarkt can be reached easily on foot. Furthermore the hotel offers a perfect link to Vienna's public transportation system: the underground lines U1 and U3 as well as local bus lines 1A and 2A stop right on the doorstep of the hotel. After a long day full of sightseeing, shopping or busy meetings, you can not only relax in our Sauna-Spa-Sports area on level 2 of the hotel but also with coffee and cake or a fancy cocktail at our Café Bar Aragall, named after the famous opera singer Giacomo Aragall. Enjoy yourself and watch the hustle and bustle of the city from this unique place. We are looking forward to welcoming you soon! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Am Stephansplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Am Stephansplatz Hotel
Am Stephansplatz Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing