We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Bellevue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bellevue Hotel
Ranked #192 of 362 Hotels in Vienna
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

Made booking on Expedia, arrived in the morning from Budapest and was promptly checked-in. We stayed two nights, rooms were clean, and really, there was nothing to complain about.

Service was decent, room was good as well. TV is old and only had a few channels, but we weren't travelling to Vienna to watch TV. Shower was a little weird without a door at the end of the shower, so water splashed everywhere.

Location is decent, but note that it is not in the city centre. Easy access to transit, a couple blocks from the nearest subway station. From the subway, can access the city centre and other popular attractions very quickly. There is a Billa grocery store and McDonalds nearby if you are in a pinch.

Would stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Bellevue Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback.
According to the three points only you assigned to your comment I was prepared for a quite bad review, however was positively surprised when I read your feedback.
Hope to welcome you soon again to the hotel Belelvue,
I remain with best regards
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    261
    157
    40
    33
See reviews for
73
266
28
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
45 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Great location, good breakfast, clean and comfortable. Good deal for the price. The front desk staff is rude , except for a woman ( unfortunately don't know his name), she speaks spanish ( she lived in Mexico) and has a very customer service oriented personality. She made the difference. The breakfast was good, the rooms were OK, clean and spacious. There is a metro station close to the hotel and the best part of the town is one station away. I would stay in this hotel again !

Room Tip: Is a big hotel...some rooms are a loooong walk from the elevator. If you have walking issues ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHV H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Bellevue Hotel, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Dear Guest,

It is good to hear, that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thank you for the feedback. Only with your comments we can improve our service.

Wishing you all the best and looking very much forward to welcome you again in our hotel Bellevue, we remain,
with kind regards from Vienna
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Location - not far away from the city centre (travelled by car, didn't have any troubles with parking opposite the hotel).
Staff - the reception staff wasn't really helpful or smiling, the waiters were polite and cheerful.
Rooms - old fashioned - this is the style of the hotel, which I do admire, clean with spacious bathroom.
Food - delicious, very good variety of dishes (including fresh fruit and vegetables).

General impression - recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alono4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

The hotel is in a run down district with unhelpful rude front of house staff. The bathrooms have mould and the equipment in the rooms are falling apart. No soap or shampoo in bathroom
No kettle or coffee in room. How can it ever have received 4 stars? We took a fire escape and landed in the dirty dusty back of house. Avoid at all cost!

Room Tip: Dont go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Bellevue Hotel, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback concerning your stay at the HOTEL BELLEVUE. I am very sorry that we did not meet with your expectations. Especially your comments about the staff and the cleanliness is very disppointing and I will immediately take care of the matter.
Concerning soap or shampoo I have to inform you, that, due to the fact that we are part of "environment hotels " we offer liquid soap and shampoo in dispensers only. Tea and coffee making facilities - that's certainly a good idea.

Wishing you all the best for 2014, I remain with best regards,
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, England
Level Contributor
95 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

The location was excellent. Right next to the D train line. The rooms were clean & good for the money. What really let it down was the service. The main person running the front desk was awful, very unhelpful & unfriendly. This would make me unlikely to return, as other hotels will care more for you custom.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vmnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

From airport to city center with train, an easy walk over to U-bahn and then 3-5 minutes to Friedensbrücke. From there another 4-5 minutes pleasant walk on a wide sidewalk to Hotel Bellevue, next to Franz Josef Railway Station. But, also next to it, Viennese streetcar passing the hotel with a direct line to the famous Grinzing / "Heurigen", etc. I discovered that the location of the hotel is absolutely fantastic due to the easy access to the whole of Wien by public transport.

The hotel has a rather discreet outside architecture, in line with its surroundings. That may very well be the reason why I was so extremely pleasantly surprised when, for the first time, I stepped inside the hotel, with a small restaurant/bar on right side and the lobby to the left. It was like I was thrown more than 100 years back in time with its beautiful furniture, the high ceiling a.o. My first thought was actually; the hotel must be the definition of the “Le fin de siècle”-expression. (learning afterwards that Bellevue actually was built to serve the World Exhibition 1873 I Wien). And just the same feeling of well-being I had when entering my room in 2nd floor. Large, well equipped, modern but at the same time "old". The large nice white, clean and shining bathroom, however, was of a modern style. Exactly the way I want it to be. Just the same as the free wi-fi that is offered in every room. Highly appreciated! Working on the PC, I still had the the nice feeling of mind drifting back more than a century in time when observing details ( the nhigh celing, long curtains etc) in the room.

A few words of advice; take some extra time at the breakfast table in the morning. It’s worth it, especially if you enjoy really “gooood” tasting fresh baked bread in the morning… and coffee with “heisse Milch”.. aah!

Like Arnold Schwarzenegger says; “I’ll be back”!

However, unlike Arnold, in my case only for pleasure!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oystein S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Stayed in twin share as part of a contiki group. Room was very spacious. Great air con. Great bathroom. Amazing breakfast. Good location only a 7 euro taxi ride from nightlife area. Nice staff. Wifi was absolute rubbish though. Lucky I was on a tour and didn't really need to research things because it was near impossible to stay connected.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Eliseaashour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Bellevue Hotel, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear guest,

You made my day. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our HOTEL BELLEVUE
and I really do hope to welcome you soon again. Wifi should work then without any problems
Yours sincerely,
Ingrid Zingrsoch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
#122 of 362 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Boltzmann
Hotel Boltzmann
#198 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mozart
#328 of 362 in Vienna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#225 of 362 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#58 of 362 in Vienna
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellevue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellevue Hotel

Property: Bellevue Hotel
Address: Althanstrasse 5, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bellevue Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family Hotel, located near Franz Joseph station, convenient to West Bahnhof station; 3 km to West Train Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bellevue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellevue Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing