We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable,we felt like we were home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlanta Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Atlanta Hotel
Ranked #231 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Chicoutimi
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“comfortable,we felt like we were home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2009

We went ther with 8 other people last month and it was a great place to stay.The staff was very helpful and friendly (they even reserved at restos for us) the rooms are very big for European hotels the ceilings are very high close from the tram and the sub, the shooters pub downstairs is great everything was fine...the only negative thing we have to say is that it was a little noisy because of the streets and trams but with windows closed it's probabluy ok.We would definitely go back at this hotel

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peter_pan73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    110
    73
    19
    20
See reviews for
54
81
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2009

Hotel staff was so helpful and kind, rooms in a lovely restored victorian building. Delightful breakfast and setting. Location was righton the tram line and just 2 stops from town center.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m55076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
athens
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

I and my husband stayed at this hotel at the period of christmas.
The first time we see the hotel we liked it.
It is very nice outside. The room we stayed was a sofita. It was very big,very hot,clean, a typical room with nothing bad and nothing specially.The place for breakfast was very nice and the menu breakfast good enough.The people at the reception were very helpfull and kind. They had also a lot of maps and cards for taxi , restorants,opera e.t.c.
The location of the hotel is not so central, this is a little problem but there is a tram station outside , only you have to change one or two trams,metro to go at some points of interest.
we had vienna card so we didn't had extra cost.
I recommend vienna card, many benefits.

  • Liked — the room tye sofita
  • Disliked — the location
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank galatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2008

We stayed at the Atlanta for 5 days in April 2006- wrote this review after reading some of the negative ones on site as I was considering re-booking. It's old, big rooms, lots of character, good location. Breakfast was fine although occasionally very busy, staff helpful. It's not a modern american style hotel- and that's a plus for me..

  • Stayed April 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JSMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2008

I was wary after reading some reviews on the Atlanta and it was warranted. August is hot in Vienna and the rooms have no air conditioning, so sleeping with the windows open was our only option- unless the three of us wanted to be baked in our own juices. Unfortunately the trams run right outside the hotel - which is convenient for getting to the hotel but makes for a very disturbed sleep. Also there is a bar located just underneath the front of the hotel which disgorges noisy patrons late at night.
Although we asked specifically for a quiet room when making the reservation, and again upon arrival, apparently there are no triple rooms at the back of the hotel so we had no option but to stay in our room for 3 noisy nights.
The hotel is in a building that was once grand but is now tired and smoke stained. The bathroom was in need of renovation and the breakfast was hit-and-miss depending on the morning. If you're after a smokers haven look no further - had to walk through a smoking lounge every morning to get to the breakfast room which was enough to make me loose my appetite.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jax_mom28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashua, NH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2008

After staying here and there on business in the 9th district of Vienna- I can honestly say this is hands-down the worst hotel I encountered in that region of the city. The breakfast alone is enough to make one want to run away, and the few photos of nice-looking spaces are just that- the one or two places sort of passing off as decent old-Vienna style, with the rooms cramped, the furniture and style of furnishing old (but not in the nice antique sense) simply not updated since the 1980's, that is very uncomfortable. There is no sense of service in the entire place, and the internet capabilities of lugging a "bucket full of modem" (those who have stayed here will appreciate what that means) into the room for exhorbitant prices, and an internet service that is not reliable. I wouldn't recommend this place to my worst enemy.

  • Liked — Leaving the hotel
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Olefirowicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, NSW
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2007

The Atlanta was conveniently located just 2 tram stops from Schottentor, and plenty of trams to choose from. Getting around in Vienna was no problem by trams and U-Bahn. My room was on the top floor, with a quirky old fashioned cage lift rising through the centre of the spiral staircase (which only went to the 4th floor), then a long flight of steep stairs to the 5th floor (unfortunately). Room was nice and quiet, with an excellent bathroom and very good bed. Breakfast room was very nice, just off a beautiful piano lounge, and with a reasonable variety of foods, but no hot choices. Good value for money.

  • Liked — CONVENIENT LOCATION TO CITY CENTRE
  • Disliked — Stairs from 4th to 5th floor
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Wombat_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Boltzmann
Hotel Boltzmann
#195 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
Hotel & Palais Strudlhof
#123 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
Hotel Am Schottenpoint
#294 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Alservorstadt
Hotel Regina
Hotel Regina
#102 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Alservorstadt
Hotel Pension Baron am Schottentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlanta Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlanta Hotel

Property: Atlanta Hotel
Address: Waehringer Strasse 33-35, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#148 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Atlanta Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Vienna ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Atlanta Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlanta Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing