We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hotel !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Ranked #154 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We choose this hotel for the very good quality price ratio. We had at the price of a double room a suite with bedroom and living room and my father instead of a single room he had a studio suitable for 2 persons. It is the best of both worlds in low season. You can have a coffee in the morning before breakfast, courtesy of a very good coffee machine and also a big breakfast that included sparkling wine, if you can drink at that hour :))
The suites are big and we didn't use the living as a sleeping room so I can't comment about the quality of the sofa beds, but for us it was perfect.
The reception staff was helpful with any information, the location of the hotel is perfect, right next to the City Hall and with a metro at 3 minutes.
Thank you for everything, it was perfect!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Crina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 346 reviews

Reviewed 28 October 2011

Can't believe the previous reviews. This is an old hotel (clearly seen from the carpet alone). We booked for 7 nights through an Interval International exchange, expecting at least a 4-star calibre. Upon arriving in the evening, we were led to our room down the hall on the first floor. A 10 meter kitchenette and sofabed with an old tv was what we first saw. We had to get to our room by going down a staircase of about 10 steps. I didn't even set foot in the room. Although it looked clean, it was small and creepy, as was the bathroom. It felt like the servants quarters! Fortunately, after stepping out for dinner, my husband and I saw the brand new Hotel Fleming - a brand new 5 star to the left of this sorry hotel. We moved within the hour, as even our requests to see a better room were turned down by unprofessional staff. There was only one receptionist at the lobby, before and after our dinner, and both were not sympathetic to our concerns about the room. The Fleming saved our Vienna trip! It was brand new, clean and had good service. Stay there instead, make good use of your money and forget the Cordial Theaterhotel Wien.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank welltraveledAsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Just returned from a trip to Europe and in Vienna we stayed at the Cordial Theatre Hotel.
the location is perfect for exploring the city on foot. no need to grab the subway as you can everywhere within 20 minutes.
Our room had a small kitchinette and if you wantt o make use of that they charge 3euros per day to unlock the cupboard with pots and pans. we didn't find that necessary as there is a grocery store across the street and we just made fresh sandwiches daily for breakfast and grabbed the rest of the meals while out.

the staff is curteous and friendly and the rooms are kept clean.
the hotel comes with a hairdryer, however not strong.

our room overlooked Josefstrasse, and it was extremly loud at night and early morning with traffic and people having lound conversations. that is the only negative comment. i would ask for a room facing the interiour courtyard. oh, and the mattresses are quite uncomfortable...the concept of a queen bed does not exist, so it's two singles together in a queen frame.

other than that, don;t hesitate to book if the price is right and are more interested in exploring Vienna rather than sit in your room :)
a 5 min walk to Ratshaus and the Parliament, 20 min to Stephansdom and Hofburg.

enjoy Vienna...you'll fall in love with it!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pickyoneToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We found this hotel to be ideally situated in Vienna - the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was very nice, very quiet and clean. The breakfast room was georgeous and the food excellent. Next visit we would try to get a room facing the street. This is one of the nicer places we have stayed at over the many years we have travelled.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brsperth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Cordial Theaterhotel is centrally located, and has loads of supermarkets and restaurants on its doorstep. We loved the location, which is just a short walk away from Rathaus. We had a courtyard room, which was lovely and quiet.

The staff were very pleasant and helpful, and the room itself was spotless. Bathroom was a good size, and although the bedroom is a little cramped, it has everything you need including a hotplate, fridge, TV and hairdryer. The bed was a little too firm for my liking, and they only give you 1 pillow, but we slept very well in spite of this (walking around Vienna tires you out!).

We did not eat the hotel breakfast, which is on the pricey side, but found a cosy cafe a short walk away from the hotel which made amazing food at really good prices - under EUR 6 for a breakfast and EUR 10-ish for a main meal, both of which were substantial and delicious. I can't remember the name of the cafe but if you come out of the hotel, turn left and walk down to the intersection of Josefstadterstrasse and Landesgerichtestrasse. Turn left and there's a cafe with a yellow coffee pot sign and yellow umbrellas - that's the one! It's quite old-fashioned but you won't regret stopping there.

If you're looking for some good, wholesome Austrian fare, I'd highly recommend Gasthaus Spatzennest, which is a 10min walk from the hotel. Their goulash is fantastic and the Wiener schnitzel equally tasty. Again, excellent value for money and the service was great.

If you're lucky enough to be visiting Vienna in Sep-Oct, I highly recommend a visit to the Roncalli circus, which is based at Rathauspark - the talent in this circus will amaze you and really should be seen. We went to the matinee and my goodness, did we get our money's worth! 2 hours of high calibre entertainment, you won't regret it.

To summarise our experience of the hotel - I fully intend to stay at this hotel again, and would recommend it to anyone reading this. It may not be the ultimate in luxury but it's well located, comfortable and the staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a courtyard room, they're very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank flothree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed at Cordial Theatrehotel Wien from August 26-29, 2011 and we arrived pretty early from the airport, close to 8am, although the check in time was later, the person at the check in - Ms Sylvia was very courteous and already had our room ready for us.. She also gave us the city map and was very helpful in marking out what all we could do through the day..

The room was a beautiful double storeyed Garden room, which we loved. Extremely comfortable and equipped with a kitchenette for a fee of EURO 3 a day, which tol my mind should have been included in the room tariff, but was a very small amount. Hotel had WIFI as well. The breakfast was one of the best we had on our 17 day Europe trip!!

Most of it, it was a 4 minute walk to Tram 2 which takes you to the centre of Vienna and a 6 minute walk to Rathaus U2 station, which links you to everything. In fact, we arrived at Vienna airport, took a regular train (not the CAT, as it is way more expensive) to Praterstein station and then took the U2 line to Rathaus and the walk was only 6 minutes to the hotel.

All in all, it was an extremenly comfortable and great stay at Cordial Thetare Hotel and I would like to specifically mention Sylvia's name as she was very courteous to us.. We would defintiely recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Vienna!!

Room Tip: Garden room was ours.. Away from the main road, no sound whatsoever..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank MerryTrouper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We spent four nights at the Cordial theater and loved every minute of it. It is near the Parliament and most of the attractions. The room was not exactly a room but an apartment with a kitchenette. It didn't face the street and was extremely quiet. May be the only downside was that the Internet was not free. There was even an umbrella!
The service was great, and the breakfast fantastic, with various dishes including the Sacher cake!
Overall we had a great time and hope to return some day.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mir929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Josefstadt
Hotel Zipser
Hotel Zipser
#138 of 359 in Vienna
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Josefstadt
Hotel Graf Stadion
Hotel Graf Stadion
#100 of 359 in Vienna
419 reviews
Neubau
K+K Hotel Maria Theresia
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Theaterhotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Theaterhotel Wien

Address: Josefstaedter Strasse 22, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £76 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Theaterhotel Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordial Theatre Hotel Vienna is a stylish, comfortable 4-star hotel situated practically in the centre of the city. Right next door you'll find the famous Theater in der Josefstadt, the oldest theatre in Vienna. The hotel's central location lets you walk to the Old Town to see the Stephansdom and the stately buildings of the Ringstrasse in just a few minutes. The CORDIAL Theatre Hotel Vienna has 54 comfortable studios and suites, each equipped with a flat-screen TV, telephone, radio and minibar. Some have a kitchenette. Elegance and cosiness has been skilfully combined. For your health and wellbeing, we also offer massages and cosmetic treatments on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with seekda GmbH, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cordial Theaterhotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Vienna
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing