We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vienna hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien
Ranked #145 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We checked in yesterday after our train ride from Salzburg and it was fairly easy to find on the tram. This hotel is very pretty and an old historical building close to the ring. Very nice room and comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good and they had a wide variety of choices to eat. Nice!

1  Thank stuckinthedesert
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

You can walk to all the main Viennese attractions, cathedral museums etc in about 15 mins from this hotel but also the No 2 Tram passes the door and the U2 underground is minutes away at the end of the road. At the same time this is a real residential area with 2 supermarkets virtually next door and some excellent local restaurants. The English speaking receptionists are exceptionally helpful in making bookings and conjured up a taxi in minutes when a thunderstorm broke. Our room had bedroom, bathroom, sitting room and kitchenette with minibar and nespresso machine.English tea bags were provided on request. Wifi, nominally chargeable, was provided free. Only the breakfast is to be avoided, expensive and better alternatives available all around

Room Tip: We changed hotels at the last minute and think we got a superior room cheap because there was nothin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldAnglian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Stayed here over New Year 2014. Very close to centre - 300m - and excellent for the festivities.
Very helpful staff; rooms not modern but clean and very comfortable. Next to a theatre and decor reflects this.
Handy for all shops, with supermarkets within 100m for all supplies. We were upgraded and had a kitchenette.
In house restaurant looked good but not used.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 208JEH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Stayed here in May 2013 during a multi-city European vacation. Our room was very clean (Vienna is VERY clean), comfortable and well-appointed. Location is within easy walk to old Vienna and it is convenient to the trolley line. We were traveling during low season, so rates were very good even for Vienna where tourists are always in abundance. Staff was courteous and provided excellent dining recommendations.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JudyAnn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We stayed here in a suite during a businesstrip. There are a lot of reasons I do not think this hotel deserve the four stars:

- The design is really ugly and outdated. If I payed full price (which we didn't) and expected a luxurious stay in a nice 4-star hotel I would be very disappointed. It may have been ok at some point in the 70s, but the style and very obvious wear and tear of the interior is disappointing for the kind of prices I have seen that they charge here.

- Not one single room in the whole hotel has a shower without a bathtub. For people with just a slight bodily issue, like dizzyness, it is hard to keep hygiene ok. We stayed for 4 days and showered only once, because it was just too dangerous for us.

- There are hardly any sockets for charging your phone/ipad etc. One in the hallway, but none in the bedroom. And since all electricity goes out when you leave the room, your iPad will not be charged when you get back.

- WIFI is a disaster and also expensive. You are lucky if you are able to get online at all, and only one of the guests can be online at a time. The internet keeps falling out, and is very, very slow when it works. We talked to the staff about it and they kind of shrugged and said "this is normal here". So don't expect to be able to to business online from this hotel.

- Checkout is already at 11 on the day of departure.

- And last, what really kicked my nerve was the constant playing of Wiener Walzes in the public areas of the hotel.

But the staff were really nice, the room was clean, it was even cleaned on sunday. If I was the owner of this hotel, I'd do some serious renovations and stay in business.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MalinK502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We had the Johann Strauss suite on the 2nd floor, amazing value and large. Beds comfortable, air conditioning, fridge, flat screen TV. Arrived after midnight in the rain, the staff were fantastic and could not do enough to help. Location is 5 min walk from the Ring and on Tram 2 route. Maid service was brilliant, they tidied things that I did not realise were not tidy! The feel of the hotel is very friendly and totally customer focused. I would use again without hesitation. Did not use the restaurant but did not hear any complaints.

Room Tip: Get a suite or get upgraded if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Great hotel and great staff who were always very accommodating. True the hotel is a bit outdated but this adds to its charm. Use of internet and cooking stove is against payment. Room had 2 a/cs and was always clean. All in all a very pleasant trip.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank malteser1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Josefstadt
Fleming's Selection Hotel Wien-City
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
25hours Hotel at MuseumsQuartier
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Mariahilf
Hotel ibis Wien Mariahilf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cordial Theaterhotel Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cordial Theaterhotel Wien

Address: Josefstaedter Strasse 22, Vienna 1080, Austria
Phone Number:
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Josefstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £59 - £167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cordial Theaterhotel Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cordial Theatre Hotel Vienna is a stylish, comfortable 4-star hotel situated practically in the centre of the city. Right next door you'll find the famous Theater in der Josefstadt, the oldest theatre in Vienna. The hotel's central location lets you walk to the Old Town to see the Stephansdom and the stately buildings of the Ringstrasse in just a few minutes. The CORDIAL Theatre Hotel Vienna has 54 comfortable studios and suites, each equipped with a flat-screen TV, telephone, radio and minibar. Some have a kitchenette. Elegance and cosiness has been skilfully combined. For your health and wellbeing, we also offer massages and cosmetic treatments on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Cordial Theaterhotel Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Vienna
Cordial Theaterhotel Wien Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing