We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for the category”
Review of Kavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kavalier Hotel
Ranked #269 of 360 Hotels in Vienna
Gatineau
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the category”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March 2013. The hotel is located a bit far from the city center. The free high speed internet in the lobby (30 minutes per day) was very appreciated. The room were large when compared to European standards. There was a bath and a shower. The food was very good. We had 2 dinner and 2 breakfast. The breakfast buffet variety was very good and the coffee excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyder1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Kavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your positive review. Just a short comment - WiFi can even be used free of charge in the lobby longer than 30 minutes. Hopefully this information will be usefull for our future guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I remain with best regards
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    126
    120
    52
    30
See reviews for
67
125
35
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Although not in the centre of town this is a good standard hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. When we arrived there was some confusion about the online booking and the receptionist believed that payment had not been made in advance. This was quickly resolved without problems and the receptionist was very accommodating. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor but there was little train or road noise- all in all we had a quiet, restful night. The first floor is non smoking but people clearly smoked from our room as evidenced by the cigarette ends on the gravel outide our window. There was also a faint odour of cigarettes in the room.

Breakfast was a buffet and food was good. The restaurant staff were extremely busy on our first day as everyone seemed to take breakfast at the same time. The ladies who replenished the buffet and served drinks were wonderful. Although clearly rushed off their feet they managed a cheery smile.

This is a good standard hotel and i would consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Kavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I have loved to read your positive comments. Especially the ones about the helpful and service-minded attitude of our staff was a pleasure to read and I have already shared your comments with them.
Thank you and best regards,
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is a good hotel if you want to get the higher standards but not to pay high value. Stayed here for two nights. The problem is location that is not so close to the center, you need to go to the tram or subway, the tram is near the hotel and the subway is about 15min of walk.
This was a problem when we stayed out late.

If you want to walk around hotel you will find nothing because this is a living disctrict no good for a tourst, you need to go to the center.

For a hotel I have no complain, everything as it says.

Room Tip: Try to get the room not at the street side, because of the noise. You will hear every car that pass.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Very friendly staff, good value for money and lovely food. Breakfast included, and we ate 3 evenings in the hotel.
Location: about 30 mins from Stephansplatz. Tram 52 from Westbahnhof stops virtually outside the door (would have been good to know this beforehand!). Our room backed onto a railway line so there was some noise, but rooms at the front would not hear that. Overall v.good value - a result!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as the hotel backs onto a railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RogerOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, for Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Kavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I highly appreciated to read all about it.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon
and I remain with the best wishes for a successful 2013,
sincerely yours
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is located little far from the center(the metro is 15 minutes by walk and then 15 additional minutes to the center),the pictures and the reviews are kind of distorted
Several staff members are rude and not helping
The "free" internet is available only in lobby
Bottom line-not recommended what so ever!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, for Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Kavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen the HOTEL KAVALIER for your stay in our beautiful city.
I am really very sorry that the stay in our hotel was not what you have expected and I can promise that I have talked to our staff and meanwhile the problem is solved. At the same time I do as well apologize and hope, that you will give us a second chance to convince you of the improvements achieved.
You are right, the location is not in the city center but close to the Palace of Schönbrunn and the Zoo, which is also much appreciated by many of our guest.
Wishing you all the best for 2013,
I remain with kind regards
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunedin nz
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012 via mobile

This hotel is quite a way out of the main centre of Vennia and would have the rudest staff we have ever come across at a hotel. They did not want to help with any request you might have. Asked for directions to the town centre, begrudgingly gave us a map, but with the wrong directions. Internet was a joke as you had to ask for a login for 30 mins free and it was so slow that by the time you had managed to log on your time had run out. We asked for our beds to be put together as this was supposed to be have done before we arrived ( they had a cabinet between them that had to be unscrewed) waited until 10.30 pm and still not done. Was told that it was to bad as only one guy running the whole hotel and it was not gong to happen. We would have been ok with this if they had been up front we arrived and apologized for the single beds. Apparently this hotel does not have any double beds is the entire hotel . This hotel is far from the four stars it pretends to be.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FamilyDunedinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Abano Terme, Italy
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

I live in hotel because of my job. Kavalier is one of the worst ever visited, they sy 4 stars but it should be 1 star. Hotel is far away from the center (ok, I knew this before), the service is horrible. the reception is always packed of people and the receptionists are very rude and slow (all of them). NO ROOM SERVICE, I asked for a restaurant and they send me 15 mins away, lately I discovered a very nice local restaurant 1 minute walk away. Furniture is old, the keys wont work, the sauna is always closed and cold ( I asked for a sauna at 12,00 for 13,00 I went down and sauna wasnt ready until 14,00) Internet in the room is the most expensive ever (€10) and with a small limit of Upload/Download. I had to work and I reached the limit after 2 hours OMG. NO MORE

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pietro t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Hotel Lucia
#56 of 360 in Vienna
569 reviews
Hillinger
#321 of 360 in Vienna
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
Arcotel Wimberger Hotel
#152 of 360 in Vienna
765 reviews
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#197 of 360 in Vienna
300 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Prinz Eugen
Hotel Prinz Eugen
#139 of 360 in Vienna
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kavalier Hotel

Property: Kavalier Hotel
Address: Linzer Strasse 165, Vienna 1140, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#155 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalier Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing