We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Insult to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien
Ranked #268 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have been on coach holidays for over forty years but never experienced anything like this hotel.
The meals were a disgace.
First course one night was some lettuce on a plate.How they had the nerve to serve it was beyond all in our party.
Main courses included fish that had so many bones it was inedible and another was cold pasta.
The atitude of those serving was off hand, rude and could not wait to take the plates off the table to get us all out. If they do not want groups there they should not book them.
Travelling individually you may get treated differently, but if in a group do not take a trip that includes this hotel.
Also location is very poor.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank countryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (384)
There are newer reviews for Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 384 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March 2013. The hotel is located a bit far from the city center. The free high speed internet in the lobby (30 minutes per day) was very appreciated. The room were large when compared to European standards. There was a bath and a shower. The food was very good. We had 2 dinner and 2 breakfast. The breakfast buffet variety was very good and the coffee excellent.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Spyder1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your positive review. Just a short comment - WiFi can even be used free of charge in the lobby longer than 30 minutes. Hopefully this information will be usefull for our future guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I remain with best regards
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Although not in the centre of town this is a good standard hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. When we arrived there was some confusion about the online booking and the receptionist believed that payment had not been made in advance. This was quickly resolved without problems and the receptionist was very accommodating. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor but there was little train or road noise- all in all we had a quiet, restful night. The first floor is non smoking but people clearly smoked from our room as evidenced by the cigarette ends on the gravel outide our window. There was also a faint odour of cigarettes in the room.

Breakfast was a buffet and food was good. The restaurant staff were extremely busy on our first day as everyone seemed to take breakfast at the same time. The ladies who replenished the buffet and served drinks were wonderful. Although clearly rushed off their feet they managed a cheery smile.

This is a good standard hotel and i would consider staying again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JDbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Guest,

I have loved to read your positive comments. Especially the ones about the helpful and service-minded attitude of our staff was a pleasure to read and I have already shared your comments with them.
Thank you and best regards,
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This is a good hotel if you want to get the higher standards but not to pay high value. Stayed here for two nights. The problem is location that is not so close to the center, you need to go to the tram or subway, the tram is near the hotel and the subway is about 15min of walk.
This was a problem when we stayed out late.

If you want to walk around hotel you will find nothing because this is a living disctrict no good for a tourst, you need to go to the center.

For a hotel I have no complain, everything as it says.

Room Tip: Try to get the room not at the street side, because of the noise. You will hear every car that pass.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Very friendly staff, good value for money and lovely food. Breakfast included, and we ate 3 evenings in the hotel.
Location: about 30 mins from Stephansplatz. Tram 52 from Westbahnhof stops virtually outside the door (would have been good to know this beforehand!). Our room backed onto a railway line so there was some noise, but rooms at the front would not hear that. Overall v.good value - a result!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front as the hotel backs onto a railway line.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogerOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, for Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive comments. I highly appreciated to read all about it.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon
and I remain with the best wishes for a successful 2013,
sincerely yours
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This hotel is located little far from the center(the metro is 15 minutes by walk and then 15 additional minutes to the center),the pictures and the reviews are kind of distorted
Several staff members are rude and not helping
The "free" internet is available only in lobby
Bottom line-not recommended what so ever!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alex s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, for Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen the HOTEL KAVALIER for your stay in our beautiful city.
I am really very sorry that the stay in our hotel was not what you have expected and I can promise that I have talked to our staff and meanwhile the problem is solved. At the same time I do as well apologize and hope, that you will give us a second chance to convince you of the improvements achieved.
You are right, the location is not in the city center but close to the Palace of Schönbrunn and the Zoo, which is also much appreciated by many of our guest.
Wishing you all the best for 2013,
I remain with kind regards
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

This hotel is quite a way out of the main centre of Vennia and would have the rudest staff we have ever come across at a hotel. They did not want to help with any request you might have. Asked for directions to the town centre, begrudgingly gave us a map, but with the wrong directions. Internet was a joke as you had to ask for a login for 30 mins free and it was so slow that by the time you had managed to log on your time had run out. We asked for our beds to be put together as this was supposed to be have done before we arrived ( they had a cabinet between them that had to be unscrewed) waited until 10.30 pm and still not done. Was told that it was to bad as only one guy running the whole hotel and it was not gong to happen. We would have been ok with this if they had been up front we arrived and apologized for the single beds. Apparently this hotel does not have any double beds is the entire hotel . This hotel is far from the four stars it pretends to be.

Stayed: September 2012
1  Thank FamilyDunedinnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Dobling
Ibis Styles Wien City
Ibis Styles Wien City
#55 of 361 in Vienna
951 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#48 of 361 in Vienna
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arion Cityhotel Vienna
#197 of 361 in Vienna
317 reviews
Hillinger
#329 of 361 in Vienna
89 reviews
ARCOTEL Donauzentrum
#234 of 361 in Vienna
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien

Address: Linzer Strasse 165, Vienna 1140, Austria (Formerly Kavalier Hotel)
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#157 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £55 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Novum Hotel Kavalier in Vienna offers a perfect accommodation in a quiet location in the green outskirts of Vienna, not only for business travelers. Viennese sights such as the Schonbrunn Palace and the famous Wiener Tierpark are within easy reach. All our rooms are equipped with bath or shower and WC as well as air conditioning, a workplace and satellite TV. Guests can relax in the sauna or at the hotel's bar, where also small snacks are available. For meetings or events, the hotel offers three meeting rooms and guests are free to use the WiFi in the entire hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novum Hotel Kavalier Wien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalier Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing