We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonably satisfied.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kavalier Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kavalier Hotel
Ranked #256 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Reasonably satisfied.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

The Kavalier Hotel is located a few kilometres from central Vienna.I arrived after a long coach journey from Salzburg.At check in I was allocated a room on the 3rd floor.The room was large with two single beds,an old fashioned box TV and a safety deposit box.Unfortunately,there was no Coffee/Tea making facility.
The En-Suite bathroom was a good size with a Bath/Shower and a good supply of clean towels.
I needed to get some clothes ironed and there is a services area on the -1 floor where there is an Iron and board,there is also a Sauna in the area as well.You have to obtain a swipe key card from reception for access to the services area.
There is railway lines to the rear of the hotel but the trains posed no noise problems for me.
Breakfast buffet was in the restaurant on the ground floor where a good choice of food was available.
My two problems with the Kavalier hotel were the lack of any reasonable restaurants/cafes or bars nearby and it's location.I stayed at the hotel for two nights and was reasonably satisfied.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peregrinus5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    119
    115
    51
    26
See reviews for
61
122
34
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Stayed here for 3 awful nights on route from Prague to Frankfurt, I have stayed in many hotels in many parts of the world, but never one like this. Understaffed and very rude staff, for a 4* I would expect a kettle at least in room, nothing, I asked if I could hire one (which I was prepared to pay for) a curt no was the response. food was something else, everything was inedible. Bad area out of town. 4* I would say 2* and that is being generous. Our party included some vegetarians they were told to sit together away from non vegetarians, Barbaric. be warned do not use this hotel

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vienna hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

Two nights experience in this standard hotel that was located on a quiet residential area with trams/street car passed by. It was not close yet not too far from the Palace of Schonbrunn. A city map and direction was given by the reception desk on the first night so we had a little adventure by taking the tram No.52 (2.20 euro) to the subway station and tried to make a transfer there to go to the city center, but the strong wind and heavy rain changed our plan and we ended up exploring the neighborhood of the subway, did some indoor window shopping, and managed to find a restaurant for dinner before we found our way to get on the right tram to return to the hotel.

The window of our room faced the street and we heard the trams, but not too bad. The weather was cool so we closed the window by the time we went to bed and noise was not a major issue. Everything in the room was old fashion yet well kept and clean. I liked the space saving desk-top which was designed fit for work. The super old TV with failing sound system was the biggest disappointment. The other unforgettable item in the room was the ageing pillow that you felt the clusters of cotton…The bathroom was spacious, clean but dated.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber201083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights & chose the hotel as our son's school tour group were staying here. But it's too far out of town, in an average area. Internet access was only in the lobby with an antiquated log in for 30 min system ( based around bits of paper- get with 2013). Staff were minimally helpful but room was comfortable good bed & even a bath. Think hard before you commit to being so far from the action!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ceal0909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

I have been on coach holidays for over forty years but never experienced anything like this hotel.
The meals were a disgace.
First course one night was some lettuce on a plate.How they had the nerve to serve it was beyond all in our party.
Main courses included fish that had so many bones it was inedible and another was cold pasta.
The atitude of those serving was off hand, rude and could not wait to take the plates off the table to get us all out. If they do not want groups there they should not book them.
Travelling individually you may get treated differently, but if in a group do not take a trip that includes this hotel.
Also location is very poor.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank countryal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 2 nights in March 2013. The hotel is located a bit far from the city center. The free high speed internet in the lobby (30 minutes per day) was very appreciated. The room were large when compared to European standards. There was a bath and a shower. The food was very good. We had 2 dinner and 2 breakfast. The breakfast buffet variety was very good and the coffee excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spyder1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Kavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you so much for your positive review. Just a short comment - WiFi can even be used free of charge in the lobby longer than 30 minutes. Hopefully this information will be usefull for our future guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, I remain with best regards
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Although not in the centre of town this is a good standard hotel with clean and comfortable rooms. When we arrived there was some confusion about the online booking and the receptionist believed that payment had not been made in advance. This was quickly resolved without problems and the receptionist was very accommodating. Our room was at the front of the hotel on the first floor but there was little train or road noise- all in all we had a quiet, restful night. The first floor is non smoking but people clearly smoked from our room as evidenced by the cigarette ends on the gravel outide our window. There was also a faint odour of cigarettes in the room.

Breakfast was a buffet and food was good. The restaurant staff were extremely busy on our first day as everyone seemed to take breakfast at the same time. The ladies who replenished the buffet and served drinks were wonderful. Although clearly rushed off their feet they managed a cheery smile.

This is a good standard hotel and i would consider staying again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JDbluesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kraber, on behalf of Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager at Kavalier Hotel, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Guest,

I have loved to read your positive comments. Especially the ones about the helpful and service-minded attitude of our staff was a pleasure to read and I have already shared your comments with them.
Thank you and best regards,
Ingrid Zingrosch, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Hotel Exe Vienna
Hotel Exe Vienna
#222 of 367 in Vienna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 644 reviews
Hillinger
#328 of 367 in Vienna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Mozart
#330 of 367 in Vienna
3.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Hotel Lucia
#58 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Prinz Eugen
Hotel Prinz Eugen
#131 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kavalier Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kavalier Hotel

Property: Kavalier Hotel
Address: Linzer Strasse 165, Vienna 1140, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#153 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kavalier Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Kavalier Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kavalier Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing