We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location, tiny room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #105 of 367 Hotels in Vienna
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent location, tiny room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Hotel Regina is a beautiful building 10-20 minutes walking distance from downtown and even closer to some of the main museums; the staff is also very friendly. On the down side, the rooms are tiny, and if you plan to do any work or reading, there is no place that you can comfortably sit (the room had a very small, round coffee table that could barely fit my 11" laptop, and two uncomfortable chairs). Also, the curtains do not close properly, so your room will be pretty bright very early in the summer; if you are fighting jet lag, this will certainly not help. The internet connection is slow and not dependable; I often had to keep moving my laptop around the room. Breakfast is decent, but not great. It took me awhile to realize that the breakfast including a free specialty coffee.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sergio T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are really sorry to hear, that you did not like the room you were assigned to.
The Hotel Regina is the main building of the Kremslehner Hotels and has been established in a city palais of the Viennese Historism. All our rooms are individual and different in size and form, this is also what make them so special.
If we would have known that you wanted to change the room. we would have done so, unfortunately you did not come to reception to do so.

Regarding the breakfast buffet we are a little bit surprised. Usually we are always complimented for its large choice and we have a lot Viennese clients coming only for the breakfast.

We want to thank you also for mentioning the great location of the hotel and our friendly staff.

We hope to welcome you again, next time you visit Vienna.

Best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

739 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    212
    310
    123
    53
    41
See reviews for
149
228
55
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

We got conference room rates but ended up facing a wall with more windows. Room was small and the bathroom smaller with a tiny shower where the water from the shower changed from very hot to cold in a matter of seconds. This happened almost every morning We stayed four nights. The day before we left we returned in the evening to find that our room was not cleaned We had to complain and leave for dinner so they could take care of it. In all our 26 years of travels this is the first. Also new soap and nightly chocolate was left only on alternate nights. The soap was really tiny and with two people using it there was almost nothing left the next morning We shower at least once a day unlike some people we came into contact with. The reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and polite. Buffet breakfast was good with various
options but the same options every day. Very close to the U2 subway and many trams. Also the votive church is next door. Go to the nearby sipermarket on Universitad to find those fancy vienesse chocolates for half the price!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TSteve3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear that you did not like the room you were assigned to and that you had some technical problems with the water, … we checked our complaint book at reception, but could not find any information about this incident … we would have proposed you an alternative room, if you would have passed the information to the front office desk on that day.

We also apologize for the cleaning department. Normally all rooms are going to be cleaned until 2pm. Only if the client has put on the “do not disturb” sign to his door, the room will not be cleaned before the afternoon evening maids starts their shift.

Regarding the soap in the room, upon arrival each room is furnished with 1 hand-soap, 1 shampoo & body and 1 body lotion per person. On request we refill the cosmetic articles.

We would also like to thank you for mentioning the very professional and friendly staff in the whole hotel. And we are delighted to hear that you appreciated our breakfast buffet as well as the good location of the hotel with its perfect transport connection.

Thank you again for posting your review. We hope to welcome you again to prove our professionalism.

with best regards

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

Only complaint was the room temperature we were unable to regulate but the windows were easy to open an we got a great nights sleep.
The breakfast was great just wish it would have been a couple of degrees warmer so that we could have used the outdoor seating.
Help Front desk staff most helpful and willing to assist us with all our needs. Would love to visit again

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hotel Regina and that you would visit us again.

Best wishs from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester uk
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

great hotel, the staff cant be more helpful, especiially katrina on reception, gie ma a few different choices of rooms when i didnt like the first one, cant fault any of it, its not far from the centre of everything, right by the university, good choice for breakfast, and the restaurant served really good food again with lovely staff.

Room Tip: we had room 324, great room with a bath and shower, fab views, 323 was also good but we opted for th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elizabethford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to write a review after your stay in our Hotel Regina.

We are happy to hear that we could exceed your expectation, especially with the great location, our tasty breakfast buffet and our really very professional staff.

Please get back to us as soon as possible.

Sunny regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caesarea, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

It is an old hotel with history of 100 years.
our room was big and in a corner with big windows. but not all the rooms are like this. our friends got a very small and dark room which they refused to take and after checking several others finally agreed to one similar to ours.
the location is central and they have a good restaurant in which we had dinner.

Room Tip: first floor a corner room (number 117) or fourth floor (number 410).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthy93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that we could exceed you and your friends expectations. Our Hotel Regina has been established 1877 as a city palais and it is true that all our rooms are different in form and size which makes our Hotel as charming as special.
Anyhow all the rooms respond to the high standards of a 4 star Hotel.
We are happy to hear that after a room change we could respond to your friend´s need.

Thank you for mentioning our central location as well as our delicious Restaurant Roth. Looking forward to welcoming you soon again, please recommend us to your friends.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
126 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I stayed in the Regina for a business trip. The room was in the 6th floor, freshly renovated (all room are currently renewed). The size was ok. The room was very quite. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was also ok.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Affolterli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you spent some pleasant days at Hotel Regina and would be very happy to welcome cou soon again!

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
148 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

We stayed 3 nights as part of our tour and enjoyed the Regina. Our rooms were fine and it was easy to get to the Kunsthistorisches Museum. The staff were very helpful and we really liked the Roth Bar and Restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeDav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Guest!
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay at our Hotel Regina. We are delighted to hear that you were fully satisfied with our services and will pass on your kind comments to our staff also at the restaurant.
Hope to welcome you back soon again!
Your Kremslehner family and the Hotel Regina team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#124 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#96 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 740 reviews
Inner City
Graben Hotel
Graben Hotel
#71 of 367 in Vienna
4.0 of 5 bubbles 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Serviten Quarter
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Harmonie Vienna
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Property: Hotel Regina
Address: Rooseveltplatz 15 | 1090 Vienna, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#77 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#115 Business Hotel in Vienna
#121 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Southall Travel and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Vienna
Regina Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing