We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and outdated”
Review of Hotel Regina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Regina
Ranked #93 of 358 Hotels in Vienna
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I was rather disappointed with this hotel considering the amazing choice of hotels you can find in Vienna; both classical and modern.
The hotel has a great location but it is old, with a rather outdated furniture and strange smell in the corridors and rooms.
It is an average hotel.

Room Tip: Even if you travel solo, ask for a double room. I paid EUR 80,- for a tiny room which was probably a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbora_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your comment - we are very sorry to hear that you did not like our Hotel Regina. We want to point out, that the furniture and style of our Hotel are being chosen on purpose matching the historic style of the building. We are sorry that our art deco furniture seemed outdated - we clearly want to be different from these modern style Hotels that could be anywhere throughout the world, but that do not reflect the charm of Vienna.

Actually we updated the hotel in spring and all our rooms do have WIFI and AC - we are sorry that our investments were not visible to you.

Best regards your Kremslehner family and the Hotel Regina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (846)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 846 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff spoke English very patiently. Loaned me 3 umbrellas even thought there were only 2 of us. Bed low to ground and shower (no bath). This is efficiency style, not a room you want to spend a lot of time in - and we didn't.

There's so much to do in this city, you don't need to do anything but sleep in your room.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Hans G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Inhaber at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your comments about your recent stay at our Hotel Regina. We are glad that our staff proved helpful and that you enjoyed your stay with us. All out rooms are different in size according to the historic architecture of the building. If you would visit again we would be delighted to show you one of our bigger rooms.

Greetings your Kremslehner family and the Hotel Regina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

It is situated on Rooseveltplatz, just 5 minutes walk from St. Stephens cathedral. So its location is perfect. The staff is friendly, nice and very helpful. The food is excellent; as well as its variety. The rooms are clean, nice, with AS, LCD TV, etc. There are a lot of nice restaurants and shops near-by. So, if you plan a visit to Vienna, stay at Hotel Regina.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GRO_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear guest!

Thank you very much for your nice comments about your recent stay at our Hotel Regina. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and would be more than happy to welcome you soon again!

Your Kremslehner family and team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was the most unexpectedly toddler-friendly hotel we've ever stayed in! Our room was super spacious (including big bathroom with kid-friendly shower/tub) and (this is silly but my daughter loved it) there was a little kid bath kit, will alligator shaped soap and tiger bath mit, delivered along with the crib. Also great was the elegant but nicely casual restaurant right downstairs, with extra friendly staff. Plus, key element, a playground just across the driveway, adjacent to the Votive Church! This plus the "horsies!" everywhere made Vienna the perfect family destination.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
2  Thank LEP356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you so much for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We loved your review, and are delighted to hear, that we could exceed your expectations but could also impress your little daughter!

Please recommend us also to your friends and family! And thank you also for mentioning our professional customer service.

Looking forward to your soon return visit.

Best regards from Vienna.

Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I had a very pleasant stay at the Hotel Regina. There was a bit of construction at the time, but I hardly noticed. Due to the hour of my arriving flight, they were good enough to give me an early check in. The daily brunch was pretty decent. The desk staff was EXTREMELY helpful, even with odd requests like where to find lederhosen. I also enjoyed the bar staff a good bit.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D0cFr0g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Hotel Regina, especially our very friendly and helpful staff, the great breakfast buffet and our bar team…

Please recommend us also to your friends and family

Looking forward to your soon return visit.

Best regards
Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

this is my third visit to vienna but my first stay in this hotel. it is an ancient building, a generously welcoming place. i am not used to these kinds of hotels but i had to try something different. i stayed there for three nights and here is my assessment:

my room was relatively small and i had little space to move around
same thing for the shower, i could barely move my arms to reach out my back...
i had only one tiny soap that i had to use during my showers. they just didn't put a new one with every act of room service, same problem with the tiny bottle of shower gel and shampoo.
the minibar did not include snacks and thats really bad for people who need to eat a little something before getting to bed which is regrettable.

besides that the only tiny bottle of flat water available was a 3.60 euro evian of 33cl which was really expensive.

I have to mention that all stores are closed after 19h so make sure you buy some water and crackers.

the morning buffet was generous, enjoyed the fresh fruit salad.

the staff barely speak english so i sometimes had a hard time getting understood.

the price per night was 90 euros taxes included and i couldn't negociate a late check out. these people are strict.

overall the hotel was clean and staff was helpful. i extended my stay in the hotel only for the historic side of it otherwise for the same price you can stay in larger moder hotels.

Enjoy it.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
Thank yaztradamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2014

Dear Guest,

thank you for posting your detailled review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to hear, that we could not exceed your expectations.

For ecological reasons we funish the rooms with one soap (15g), one Shampoo & Hair and one Bodylotion (each 40g) per person. This are normal hotel sizes, and are configuered for a medial stay of of 2-4 nights. All of them are of course refilled on guest request.

Regarding the snacks in the room, unfortunately we had a lot of expired food, which we had to throw away, so that we decided to stop proposing them in the room. Our room service is glad to provide our hotel guests with small dishes and snacks from 6.30am-10.30pm.
Regarding the late check out, only when we are fully booked, we have to reject the clients request. We are very sorry if this was the case. Thank you for mentioning the great breakfast service as well as our friendly staff.

Best regards from Vienna.
Your Kremslehner Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights in this hotel through recommendation from my colleague. Love the location, close to Votive Church and just within walking distance to the city centre.
I got a small room with door that divide the bedroom with the foyer/bathroom. Funny, but I guess it's a Viennese thing to do :) I also found gas masks provided inside the dressing cabinet. Souvenir from the war times, I guess.
Interior of the hotel is quite traditional and very Austrian.
The staffs are all friendly and helpful, and the breakfast is good.
Overall I enjoy staying in this hotel, and would love to stay here again in the future.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank fitri d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilieKremslehner, Owner at Hotel Regina, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear guest!
Thank you for choosing our Hotel Regina and for making the effort to let us know about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the situation of our Hotel met your expectations. Regarding your metioning of gas masks in certain rooms - those are part of evacuation measures that we are obliged to provide for our guests in case of fire. We hope that you will come back soon to one of the Kremslehner Hotels. In the meantime we send our warm greetings from Vienna, your family Kremslehner and the Regina team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Serviten Quarter
The Harmonie Vienna
The Harmonie Vienna
#14 of 358 in Vienna
643 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Johann Strauss
Hotel Johann Strauss
#114 of 358 in Vienna
443 reviews
Inner City
Hotel Royal
Hotel Royal
#110 of 358 in Vienna
853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inner City
Austria Trend Hotel Rathauspark Wien
Josefstadt
Mercure Josefshof Wien am Rathaus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regina

Address: Rooseveltplatz 15 | 1090 Vienna, Vienna 1090, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Alservorstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in Vienna
#114 Business Hotel in Vienna
#120 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £78 - £207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regina 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Regina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Regina Vienna
Regina Hotel Vienna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing