We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, charming hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Art Hotel Vienna
Ranked #153 of 361 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 23 June 2010

We spent 2 nights at the Art Hotel during our Austria trip, and had a comfy stay, overall. The hotel is located 10 minutes from the main train station, and getting to it wasn't the easiest task, because of our luggage and the fact that we decided to take the tram instead of a taxi. And waiting for trams isnt the easiest thing to do while on vacation :-)

The hotel itself is charming in its own quirky way, and the rooms are comfy enough. The complimentary breakfast has a fairly decent spread of the regular fruits, cold cuts, cereals and breads. We used the complimentary internet in the lobby too.

There are a few eateries located abt 5 mins away (by walk) from the hotel, and the tram stations are close enough too, if you don't have any stroller luggage with you!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B0hemianRhaps0dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (376)
There are newer reviews for The Art Hotel Vienna
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2010

Nice hotel, basic but very good and clean rooms, free internet in a lobby and resonably priced wireless in the rooms. Very good buffet breakfast. You can buy Vienna Pass (Card) and public transport tickets in the hotel. City center is easly reachable by car or public transport.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mixailo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2009

We stayed at The Art Hotel for a couple of nights in early Oct.
No complaints... friendly manager at the front desk, helped us with info & city map.
The room was compact but clean & tidy, had a comfy bathroom with tub.
Location is okayish, in a by-lane off the main-road... a 10 min walk from the tram stop (Tram no. 6 & 18 from the main train station)
The breakfast buffet is nice, with lots of choice... :)
There was a computer with free internet access, which was really helpful. (near the reception)

The hotel was full when we were there, but didnt seem over-crowded at any time..
A safe bet, overall.

Regards,
Nrupal Choudhari
Mumbai, INDIA

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank nrupal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2009

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in oct. In general i found it good value for money as vienna is very expensive. Location you are about 5-10mins by bus to the center with the bus stop about a 2 min walk. There is a nice square nearby with a few resterants which are cheap and serve good food and a great sports bar too. The hotel is very clean with big rooms though the decor is bright (yellow and blue). The staff were extremly helpfull and the breakfast was fantastic. There is a small bar which is open 24hr. The only thing i will say and like other reviews i dont want to offend anyone but it is a gay friendly hotel which does not bother me but might other people.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank slugtongue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in October 2009. First of all I know there are remarks on here about the location, it's not in the centre but it dosn't pretend to be either and thats why it's cheaper. The area it's in is fine, typical city suburb with some nice little bars and cafe's and it literally is a 10min bus ride in to the centre (bus stop is a couple of minutes walk). You can buy day / several day passes from the hotel that get you around on all public transport and the system couldn't be easier to work! Also I've got to mention if you stay here and are eating out then you should get off the bus just before the centre at Naschmarkt, there is an entire street crammed with just about every kind of food you can think of... definately worth a look. Also a short metro ride in the opposite direction from the centre will get you to the Schoenbrunn Palace. We only noticed this late on so didn't get a chance to go inside but went for a walk around the vast garden / park, it's beautiful just wish we'd found out about it sooner!

The hotel itself is clean, staff are very helpful, good selection of buffet breakfast with a couple of hot options. There's a nice little bar area in reception aswell that is open 24hrs and there is a pc avliable with free internet access.

One point I will mention and I don't want to get shot down for this comment but I know some people would be quite uncomfortable with it. It's a very 'gay friendly' hotel. We didn't know this when we booked and it wasn't an issue for us, but there were alot of openly same sex couples staying there so if this is an issue for you it might be worth taking in to consideration.

Overall impressed with the hotel, staff and food would definately recommend it!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank duckegguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2009

This hotel is located just down the street from a few restaurants and provides wonderful access to the bus stop to take you and your group around the town. The staff there was very friendly and able to provide advice on places to visit. The hotel has a unique quality which is the fact that every piece of art you see at the hotel is for sale. The artwork is magnificent and had I known, i would have brought some more euros with me. The breakfast at the hotel in the morning is amazing with a great selection of foods. The rooms are comfortable with plenty of room and cozy beds. I recommend this place to anyone who wants to have a nice stay in Wien, Austria without having to pay ridiculous prices.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Madestill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2009

My wife and I stayed at the Art Hotel for four nights. We had gotten a very attractive internet rate and this was absolutely the best value of our 5 weeks in Europe. The room was very large on the 7th floor (actually a studio apartment). Well furnished and very comfortable.

Breakfast was quite good each morning (except they need to improve their coffee - was pretty poor machine coffee). The hotel had free internet access and the staff was very accommodating.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notycoon22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Ottakring
Boutique Hotel Donauwalzer
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Sissi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Lucia
#48 of 361 in Vienna
614 reviews
Leopoldstadt
MEININGER Hotel Wien Downtown Franz
Margareten
Ibis Wien City
Ibis Wien City
#112 of 361 in Vienna
897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Art Hotel Vienna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Art Hotel Vienna

Address: Brandmayergasse 7-9 | 1050 Vienna, Vienna 1050, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Margareten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#61 Business Hotel in Vienna
#135 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Price Range: £46 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Art Hotel Vienna 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Hotel Vienna is a modern, innovative hotel with very well trained and experienced operators. Our guests appreciate the very family and informal atmosphere and the attention of our team. We have both standard double or single rooms as well as family rooms, studios with kitchenette and fully equipped apartments. Throughout the house you can see that our hotel is dedicated to the painting. On the floors, rooms and public areas hang pictures of different art forms. From time to time, in the lobby, you can watch austrian students at their work and admire the creation of new works of art. We monthly change the pictures in the breakfast and conference room. Also our garage (with 8 parking sites) was elaborately decorated and can be used for a surcharge. Our 24-hour front desk also manages the on-site bar, can be consumed at the round-the-clock beverages. For the smokers among our guests in our hotel lounge invites a wine cellar. The rich breackfast buffet scores with a wide selection, selected tea specialties and excellent coffee machine. Convince yourself! We look forward to you glad to welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Art Hotel Vienna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Hotel Vienna
Vienna Art Hotel
Golden Tulip Vienna
Vienna Golden Tulip

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing