We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Papageno

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Papageno
Ranked #238 of 359 Hotels in Vienna
Reviewed 1 May 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Beatriz Maria C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (417)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

110 - 116 of 417 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Dora M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Really excellent value hotel very close to the centre. More like staying in normal apartment house than a hotel. Simple but spotless, and quite spacious rooms. The ones at the top are especially nice. I paid around €79 a night, which is really good value. Breakfast is fantastic.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank LondonOpenminded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Stayed there for two nigths at feb 2013. The reception was helpful and the room was big enough. The breakfast was quite poor but had almost everything what it shold have. The service at breakfast room was nice and that was the biggest plus in the whole hotel.

The room was a non smoking but somewhere near was somebody smoking and the smoke came in to the room. Not nice.

The cleaning of the corridors started very early and I woke up because of it.

Can recommend if you dont have high standards but are satisfied with good location and low prices.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank PauliM945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara W, Manager at Hotel Papageno, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Guest!

Thank you for your positive review and your reccomandation. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Papageno in the center of Vienna.

As you wrote we are a non-smoking hotel and our non-smoking policy stipulates a fine in case of smoking. We are very sorry to hear that oviously somebody did not stick to the rules.

Because of the breakfast we appreciate feedback in order to improve our offer. We usually get positive feedback on our vast breakfast offer. But specific suggestions are always welcome. If guests have particular whishes like gluten-free food or lactose-free milk we always try to fullfil them.

Looking forward to welcoming you another time at the Papageno!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

I like opera very much so I have recently started to go to the opera house (Staatsoper) and concert houses (Musikverein, Konzerthaus) in Vienna. I now have very good memories of my time there also because the hotel is comfortable, has very nice staff and is good value for money. It's just a couple of tram stops from the Opera and the concert houses. I'm going back in April for a lieder recital at Konzerthaus and I'll stay at Papageno.

I look forward to travelling to Vienna and staying at Papageno again.

Room Tip: They have very good double rooms/single use double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana-Mihaela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Klara W, Manager at Hotel Papageno, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2013

Dear Papageno-Guest,

thank you very much for your excellent review! It is a pleasure for us to know that the hotel Papageno is the chosen one you go to when you travel to Vienna. :-)
As you say, for music fans hotel Papageno is a really good place to stay. You can reach the most important music spots (Staatsoper, Musikverein, Konzerthaus, Theater an der Wien) within a few minutes walk.
It was because of opera in general and because of Mozart in particular where the hotels got its name from. My father and owner of hotel Papageno chose this name because he is a big fan of "The magic flute" from Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart. Just one street next to our hotel there has been the historical "Freihaustheater" where "The magic flute" was first performed in 1791.

Looking forward to welcoming you in April and thank you again for your feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed at the hotel 5 days around New Year's. The hotel was just walking distance (5-7 min) away from Karlsplatz and it was very convenient to reach different places of Vienna. The hotel looks a tiny bit old, but it doesn't bother at all - staff is friendly and everything is clean. Since our visit was at the time of New Years when the hotel was probably fully booked, the breakfast room was rather crowded, but it was compensated by nice choice of breakfast.
To sum it up - nice place to stay in Vienna.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marlis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

The hotel location is very convenient, just a few minutes to the Inner city. Also, you can always take a tram which stops just outside the hotel. The hotel was warm and clean. Our room had a small terrace with a great view on Vienna’s rooftops. The buffet breakfast had an amazing selection. Free tea, coffee, punsch and cake were served in the afternoon. The staff are extremely caring and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank demimcgovern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Vienna hotels
Mariahilf
Hotel Das Tyrol
Hotel Das Tyrol
#4 of 359 in Vienna
1,552 reviews
Wieden
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
Hotel Kaiserhof Wien
#3 of 359 in Vienna
1,924 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Hilton Vienna Danube Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Neubau
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
Hotel Sans Souci Wien
#1 of 359 in Vienna
1,586 reviews
Serviten Quarter
Hilton Vienna Plaza
Hilton Vienna Plaza
#46 of 359 in Vienna
1,450 reviews
Leopoldstadt
Austria Classic Hotel Wien
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papageno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papageno

Address: Wiedner Hauptstrasse 23-25, Vienna 1040, Austria
Region: Austria > Vienna Region > Vienna > Wieden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Romantic Hotel in Vienna
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Papageno 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Papageno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Top Hotel Vienna
Vienna Top Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing